Alpha LionSleep Aids

Alpha Lion Alpha Dreams Review: No Phenibut? No Problem!

USN

Alpha Lion Alpha Dreams

8.4

Profile

8.3/10

Effectiveness

8.5/10

Taste

8.5/10

Mixability

8.5/10

Value

8.4/10

Pros

  • Effective
  • Taste
  • Mixability

Cons

  • Low GABA

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 15%

Overview of Alpha Lion Alpha Dreams

Alpha Lion is a company you will see more and more of. They are creating great products with solid dosages that work. They have funny flavor names and catchy marketing campaigns, but at the end of the day they are creating quality products for the consumer.

Alpha Dreams is the sleep aid from Alpha Lion that helps you fall to sleep quicker and stay asleep once you do. Alpha Lion is a bit of a risk taker, but decided to create Alpha Dreams without Phenibut, but relied on a 2mg dosage of Melatonin. Overall Alpha Dreams will help you fall to sleep but you won't wake up groggy or feeling tired. You will be ready to take on the day.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Alpha Lion Alpha Dreams on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the sleep aid supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective sleep-aid product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that sleep-aid will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Honey Badger & Tropical Terminator.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of sleep-aid products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.3/10)

Alpha Dreams label

Alpha Dreams uses ingredients other than Phenibut to get you to sleep faster and deeper. It also has a muscle recovery matrix to help your body repair when it is sleeping.

We start with 3g Glycine. Glycine is an amino acid that aids in muscle building. It is also used to help treat sleep problems. Glycine is a common ingredient used in sleep aids to help the supplement user get better quality of sleep. The dosages that have been studied that lead to better sleep and reduction in daytime fatigue is 3-5g.

L-Trytophan is used at 1g. Trytophan is the chemical released from the body after a big Thanksgiving dinner that makes you tired. Trytophan supports quality sleep. Tryptophan is converted to Niacin in the body, which promotes serotonin, a neurotransmitter that’s associated with sleep. This is a big dosage of Tryptophan.

Next we get a ZMA complex consisting of 150mg Zinc, 400mg Magnesium and 14.5mg Vitamin B6. ZMA has been shown to increase levels of IGF-1 and testosterone while sleeping. ZMA also aids in falling asleep. Most ZMA supplements include 450mg Magnesium, 30mg Zinc and 10mg Vitamin B6. We get quite a bit more Zinc with Alpha Dreams.

GABA is used at 350mg. GABA to help with HGH should be at 3g or more. To aid in falling asleep you can get by with less. GABA is an inhibitory neurotransmitter, it may reduce anxiety helping us fall asleep quicker. L-Glutamine is used at 2000mg (2g). This helps with gut health and digestive health, but does not have a lot of evidence around it for muscle recovery like it once did. It has potential to increase focus and anti-depressive features which may aid in falling asleep. Mucunua Pruriens Extract (standardized to 40% L-Dopa) is dosed at 175mg. Mucana Pruriens has been shown to increase L-DOPA levels. Increase in L-DOPA results in mood elevation. Typical dosages of Mucana Pruriens are 200mg-500mg per day.

Next we get 2mg of Melatonin. Melatonin helps achieve a deeper sleep. Melatonin is used in a lot of sleep aids from 1mg-5mg. Chamomile Flower is dosed at 75mg. This is used for its calming abilities. This is typically dosed between 400-1,600mg per day.

KSM-66 Ashwagandha is dosed at 200mg. This helps reduce stress and anxiety. On a per day basis you want 600mg but for sleep purposes the 200mg may be well enough to calm you before bed. L-Theanine is used at 200mg, a big dosage. This is the calming ingredient that allows you to relax.

Lastly, Alpha Dreams includes 50mg AstraGin to help with ingredient absorption.

Overall we have some good ingredients in Alpha Dreams. There are a couple ingredients that could use higher dosages, like GABA, but the majority are in-line with where they should be including Melatonin, ZMA, Theanine and Glycine.


Effectiveness

(8.5/10)

Alpha Dreams works well to help you fall asleep faster and stay asleep. The dosage of Melatonin at 2mg should work well for many people as well as the full gram of Trytophan. The additon of Theanine will help you relax to get into an environment of sleep. About 20-30 minutes after drinking Alpha Dreams you feel yourself getting very tired. If you are up 60-minutes post consumption you are literally fighting off sleep. There are not issues falling asleep with Alpha Dreams.

Staying asleep isn’t an issue either. With Phenibut based products, which will no longer exist, chances are you don’t get up much. With Alpha Dreams we didn’t experience a lot of mid-night wake ups (unless the bathroom called). If we had a stressful day that may have impacted it, but overall your sleep is deep and into REM.

The last part is you don’t wake up groggy. A lot of people reported with Phenibut based products that they woke up groggy. You wake up refreshed and ready to go with Alpha Dreams.

In terms of muscle recovery, a better dosage of GABA would contribute to more recovery, but quality sleep is #1 in terms of recovery.


Taste

Honey Badger: (8.8/10)
Tropical Terminator: (8.2/10)

We were able to try two flavors of Alpha Dreams. What we liked about Honey Badger is that is wasn’t “candy like.” What we mean by this is before bed sometimes you don’t want a fruity/candy flavored drink. This was more mellow with a nice lemon flavor followed by the subtle honey. It was really good, actually.

Tropical Terminator was your typical Hawaiian Fruit Punch flavor. It was good, and after several uses it really grows on you. This does taste good, don’t get us wrong, we just preferred the “non-fruity” flavor before bed. You can’t go wrong with either.


Mixability

(8.5/10)

Mixability was solid on Alpha Dreams. You get the deep rich color of the flavor you choose, but there is not a lot of sediment or particles floating in the water. We followed the directions of the label to ensure we gave it the best chance. You may have some settling at the bottom, but one more splash of water and you’re set to go.

See mixability video in which we used the Official Cup of Fitness Informant: The Ice Shaker.


Value

(8.4/10)

Alpha Dreams retails for $57, BUT it is a 30-serving unit. Many of the other sleep aids on the market are around $2/serving. Alpha Dreams comes in just below that. With coupon code INFORMANT you also save 15% making this more of a value. Yes, we’d like to see GABA higher overall, but this product still works in terms of an actual sleep aid. For less than $2 per serving, it is worth the investment.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Alpha Lion

$57.00

Save 15% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Alpha Lion

$57.00

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Alpha Lion

Alpha Lion

$57.00

Save 15% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Alpha Lion

Alpha Lion Alpha Dreams

8.4

Profile

8.3/10

Effectiveness

8.5/10

Taste

8.5/10

Mixability

8.5/10

Value

8.4/10

Pros

  • Effective
  • Taste
  • Mixability

Cons

  • Low GABA
Alpha Lion Jason Juice Coming October 18th
Alpha Lion Superhuman Supreme Available Now!

Leave a Reply