Alpha LionAmino Acids

Alpha Lion Gain-O-Rade Review: Full Spectrum Aminos with Hydration

By November 7, 2019 No Comments

Alpha Lion Gain-O-Rade

9.3

Profile

10.0/10

Effectiveness

10.0/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

8.3/10

Value

9.2/10

Pros

  • Full Spectrum Amino Acid
  • 6g BCAA/4g EAA
  • Taste
  • Effectiveness
  • Value

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 15%

Overview of Alpha Lion Gain-O-Rade

Alpha Lion was a brand nominated in 2019 for Breakout Brand of the Year. The brand had a huge year with new product launches, reformulations and an increase in distribution. One of the products they reformulated was Gain-O-Rade.

Gain-O-Rade from Alpha Lion is a full spectrum amino acid product containing 10g of amino acids. It also contains a hydration complex which helps improve your overall intra-workout experience. Gain-O-Rade tastes great and has a high amount of EAAs that you don't typically find in an amino product. If you want something containing a lot of EAAs and tastes good, Gain-O-Rade from Alpha Lion can play that part in your life. 

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Alpha Lion Gain-O-Rade on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in this amino acid supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective amino acid product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that amino product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Leg Day Limeade.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in the amount of water specified by the label. We use the Official Shaker Cup of Fitness Informant, The Ice Shaker.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of BCAA/EAA products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(10.0/10)Gain-O-Rade Label

No fancy gimicks with Gain-O-Rade from Alpha Lion. They do not claim to give you 8g EAAs while filling most of that with BCAAs. You actually get a full spectrum amino acid profile with Gain-O-Rade.

We start with your traditional BCAAs. We get 6g 2:1:1 BCAAs per 2-scoops. The 2:1:1 ratio seems to be the most widely accepted ratio of BCAAs we see on the market. When companies start doing 10:1:1 they are banking more on profit since Leucine is the cheapest of the BCAAs.

We get a full 4g of the other six EAAs. While a lot of companies maybe give you up to 2g, we get double that here and it includes all six of the other EAAs. Regarding the ratio of EAAs, there is not one accepted ratio on the market. They are still working on what that is, even though there are companies who claim they have perfected it. They haven’t.

Finally we get an electrolyte and hydration complex. Per 2-scoops we are getting 2g Taurine. Taurine helps regulate electrolytes in the body. Raw Coconut Powder is dosed at a full gram versus the typical 500mg we see on the market. This will help with hydration. Calcium Potassium Phosphate Citrate is an electrolyte used at 500mg. AqauMin is used at 250mg which is trace minerals designed for improved hydration.

Alpha Lion also uses Astragin for absorption.

Overall this is one of the better full spectrum amino acid products on the market with big dosages of BCAA and EAA. It is nice to see electrolytes and other hydrating ingredients in this as well. 


Effectiveness

(10.0/10)

This is a solid amino acid product. It has adequate BCAAs and EAAs for muscle recovery. Unlike a pre-workout you don’t “feel” this working. The only proof that it does work really comes in the form of a feeling you DON’T get…that being delayed onset muscle soreness. With an adequate dosage of BCAA/EAA you should help improve recovery time and reduce muscle soreness. This will vary from user to user based on training level, but overall you should get a reduction in DOMS.

The other area of this is the hydration complex. We loved this intra-workout because it really did aid in hydration with the Taurine, electrolytes and the Coconut Water Powder. These amounts were some of the highest we’ve seen.

Overall this will be a direct extension of the profile. 


Taste

Leg Day Limeade: (9.0/10)

We don’t get a lot of lime flavored supplements. We get a lot of Cherry Limeade now, but not just straight lime. Alpha Lion describes this as a “sour lime popsicle.” We would say they nailed that description. It is really good. If you like lime you will really like this. It really is as if a lime popsicle melted and you are drinking the melted popsicle. It has a little tartness to it, but overall it isn’t too sour; just enough to make your lips pucker a little bit.


Mixability

(8.3/10)

A double scoop ends up being 16g, which is a lot to dissolve in water. Amino acids by nature are not soluable in water, so you can expect some residue in the shaker cup, and even some on top of the liquid. Do not be alarmed by this, it happens with just about ever amino on the market. You may have to use an extra water rinse to get the rest out, but it is not the end of the world. 

Check out our mixability video above featuring the Official Cup of Fitness Informant: Ice Shaker Cup.


Value

(9.2/10)

Technically this is about $1 per serving if you go off of the 42-serving unit. That would still give you 5g of a full spectrum amino acid profile and decent hydration. We can’t complain on that. At $1 per serving we typically look for at least 5g BCAA/EAA which is what we’d get. At the double scoop it is almost $2 per serving, but you are getting 10g BCAA/EAA and a massive hydration complex. With coupon code INFORMANT you can save 15% which is going to make this an even better value. Considering this is superior to the competitive set, this is a solid value for this product. 

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

42/21 SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Alpha Lion

$39.95

Save 15% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Alpha Lion

$39.95

Suppz Logo

$39.99

42/21 SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Alpha Lion

Alpha Lion

$39.95

Save 15% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Alpha Lion

GHOST

$39.95


Suppz Logo

Suppz

$39.99

Alpha Lion Gain-O-Rade

9.3

Profile

10.0/10

Effectiveness

10.0/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

8.3/10

Value

9.2/10

Pros

  • Full Spectrum Amino Acid
  • 6g BCAA/4g EAA
  • Taste
  • Effectiveness
  • Value
Alpha Lion Lemonardo Da Vinci Superhuman Available Now

Leave a Reply