Skip to main content
Amino AcidsGHOST

Ghost Amino V2 Review: Authentic Flavor and Impressive Profile

Ghost Amino V2

9.1

Profile

9.2/10

Effectiveness

9.2/10

Taste

9.3/10

Mixability

8.7/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Authentic Flavor
  • Effective
  • Value

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 20%!

Overview of Ghost Amino V2

Ghost Amino V2 is certainly one of the better amino products on the market. Not only does it have impressive doses of EAAs, it somehow masks the taste of those aminos better than any other product out there. 

Add everything above to a solid hydration complex, as well as a fair value, there is little to complain about in Ghost Amino V2.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Ghost Amino V2 on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pre-workout will be.

FIt Butters

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Welch's Grape Juice

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. We use the Official Shaker Cup of Fitness Informant, the Ice Shaker.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.2/10)

ghost amino v2 profile

Amino V2 is Ghost’s EAA product that was released earlier in 2019. Amino V2 is a 40/20 servings product, and we will be reviewing the product based off of 2 scoops. The product consists of 4 separate blends, and we will break them down separately.

Ghost® EAA

2 scoops of Amino V2 gives you 5.5 grams of EAAs, and we’ll break down the amounts here:

L-Threonine- 1700mg

L-Phenylalanine- 1700mg

L-Lysine- 1500mg

L-Methionine- 375mg

L-Histidine- 125mg

L-Tryptophan- 100mg

Many brands out there will simply put all of the EAAs at the same amount and simply call it an EAA formula, and usually at much lower amounts. Ghost Amino V2, gives you a boatload of EAAs, well above its competition. We won’t go into every amino, however we want to point out a few things.

L-Lysine is dosed at 1.5 grams. Lysine has been shown to be an anti-inflammatory, and has other benefits as well. 

It also has one of the highest doses of Methionine we’ve seen in any EAA product. Now Methionine is known for its awful taste, which is why you usually won’t see it higher than 100mg is any product, and is usually the last EAA listed in other products. Well, Ghost found a way to mask Methionine so good you won’t even know it’s in Amino V2. 

Ghost® BCAA

We have to mention that BCAAs are also considered EAAs, however some people tend to separate them. BCAAs have been studied and shown to boost muscle protein synthesis, and aid in recovery. The three BCAAs are Leucine, Isoleucine, and Valine.

Leucine especially, has been shown to be potentially beneficial for performance and recovery. We get 3 grams of it in Amino V2, which is a solid dose. 

Ghost® Hydration

Since many people drink their aminos intra-workout, having a hydration blend is nice to see in Amino V2. The hydration blend consists of Taurine at 2 grams, Raw Coconut powder at 1 gram, and Aquamin™ at 500mg. 

Taurine is known for its performance benefits as well as hydration benefits, and seeing it at 2 grams in Amino V2 is great.

What’s interesting is the Aquamin™. Aquamin™ is an all natural, marine sourced multi mineral derived from red algae. Over the course of its life, the algae accumulates minerals. This helps replenish any minerals you may excrete while exercising, which makes Aquamin™ great to take during your workouts. Aquamin™ has a wealth of studies showing it to be beneficial for bone health, and it also has research showing it to be beneficial as an antioxidant as well. 

 Ghost® Absorption

The last ingredient in Amino V2 is AstraGin®. AstraGin is an ingredient that is used to increase absorption. At 50mg, it is dosed well. 

Overall, the profile is certainly top notch when you compare it to the competition. While many other EAA formulas simply have a regular dose of BCAAs and the rest of the EAAs at 100mg or less, Ghost simply gives you a lot more, and it also provides some performance ingredients such as Taurine and Aquamin™ at solid doses.   


Effectiveness

(9.2/10)

Amino products are quite difficult to rate based off of effectiveness. They may aid in recovery from your workouts, which is great, but there is a lot more to recovery than aminos that come into play. With that said, our user experienced less DOMS while using Amino V2, and with the awesome taste, it certainly helped him drink more water during his workouts. 

What our user liked most about Amino V2, were the hydration benefits. He noticed less cramping and better performance as a result, which is all you can really ask for our of an intra-workout product.  


Taste

Welch’s Grape Juice: (9.3/10)

We had the Welch’s Grape Juice flavor, and it was very enjoyable. If there is one thing that Ghost is known for, it is authenticity with their flavors. Due to this being a flavor collab with Welch’s Grape Juice, the flavor is SPOT on. The only real difference between this and real Welch’s Grape Juice, is the “syrupy” like texture/flavor of the real juice. However the flavor is as close as it gets to the real stuff without the sugar.

We did mention the Methionine being hard to mask as it is known for its terrible taste. Well, no issue here at all. Seriously, we’re VERY impressed with how well Ghost was able to mask this amino acid (as well as the others).

Now with all of that said, this really comes down to if you like grape flavored products. Grape is one of those flavors you either like or you don’t, and our user is one of those who loves grape


Mixability

(8.7/10)

Due to this being an amino product, you can expect some foaming while mixing it. Other than some foam, and a little bit of residue on the sides on occasion, there is little to complain about here. Also, if you simply wait 10-15 minutes after mixing, the foam settles and you’ll forget it ever did foam up.

If you don’t use enough water with 2 scoops, you may experience issues and unmixed clumps, however that’s an easy fix…simply add more water if you use more than 1 scoop.

We used the Official Shaker Cup of Fitness Informant, The Ice Shaker.

Check out the video above for a full mixability test.


Value

(9.0/10)

You can buy Ghost Amino V2 directly from the Ghost website for $39.99. If you use coupon code “INFORMANT”, you get 20% off, bringing this down to $32. For 20 servings, this is a fair deal, especially since you’re getting more than simple BCAAs with EAAs sprinkled in. You’re getting EAAs are solid doses, a high dose of Leucine, as well as a solid hydration complex. 

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

40/20-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

$39.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

GHOST

$39.99

40/20-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

GHOST

$39.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

GHOST

$39.99

Ghost Amino V2

9.1

Profile

9.2/10

Effectiveness

9.2/10

Taste

9.3/10

Mixability

8.7/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Authentic Flavor
  • Effective
  • Value
GHOST Gamer Confirmed with Flavors and Main Ingredients
GHOST Launches Banana Pancake Batter Vegan Protein

Leave a Reply