Amino AcidsMuscle RecoveryNutraBio

NutraBio BCAA 5000 Review: Straight-Forward Affordable BCAA

By November 9, 2017 April 3rd, 2019 No Comments

NutraBio BCAA 5000

9.2

Profile

10.0/10

Effectiveness

10.0/10

Taste

8.0/10

Mixability

8.0/10

Value

10.0/10

Pros

  • Fermented BCAAs
  • Effective
  • Value

Cons

  • N/A

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 10%!

Overview of NutraBio BCAA 5000

NutraBio has quickly become one of our most popular brands on FitnessInformant.com. The company is built around transparency and honesty. So much so that they created their own website: CheckMySupps.com to ensure the quality of the product. This is something we absolutely love!

NutraBio’s BCAA 5000 is a straight forward branched chain amino acid product that comes without gimmicks. You’re not paying extra for under doses of an electrolyte complex or dried coconut powder. You get 5g of BCAA per serving at a great value. We recommend BCAA 5000 to anyone looking to supplement their workouts with amino acids.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed NutraBio BCAA 5000 on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the amount of aminos used, as well as the kind of aminos, the ratio and other ingredients involved in the making of this BCAA powder.

We then look at effectiveness. A high BCAA product will be effective. This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Passion Fruit, Lemon Lime and Dragon Fruit Candy.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 12oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of BCAA products on the market; both with and without caffeine.


Ingredients Profile

(10/10)

BCAA 5000 label

BCAA 5000 from NutraBio is a very simple product. You are getting 5g of fermented 2:1:1 ratio BCAAs per serving. The 2:1:1 ratio has been scientifically proven to be the ideal ratio post-workout. The serving size is 6.19g which means that 1.19g are coming from sources other than BCAAs. In true NutraBio fashion, they disclose this on their label. The best part about these BCAAs is that they do not come from bird feathers and human hair. WHAT?! That’s right. Many of the BCAAs on the market are derived from those sources. BCAA 5000 is derived from a vegetable source. The label even states that they are naturally fermented and vegan. If you want more information on amino acids check out our article on the differences in amino acids here.


Effectiveness

(10/10)

Proper effectiveness of BCAA supplementation revolves around several things. One would be your intensity of training. The other would be your body weight. I recommend around 5g of 2:1:1 ratio BCAA per 50lb of bodyweight. I weigh around 200lbs so I go with about 20g of BCAA per day (4-scoops). Per a study posted on BodyBuilding.com, you want to consume .44g per 1kg of body weight. Depending on your diet (if you eat a lot of meat) you may not need as much. Long-story short, if you consume enough BCAA for your bodyweight they should help speed up recovery and increase the speed of protein synthesis. BCAA 5000 gives you 5g per scoop which equates to being very effective.


Taste

Dragon Fruit Candy: (9.0/10)
Passion Fruit: (8.0/10)
Lemon Lime: (8.0/10)

We tried passion fruit and lemon lime. One thing to keep in mind with fermented amino acids is that the taste is going to suffer because of the sourcing and many of these company refuse to put artificial flavors, or at least a lot of artificial flavors in their BCAA product to maintain the integrity of the product. NutraBio falls into the category. They include some flavoring (400mg) to make it drinkable but they don’t compromise the integrity of the product. Because of that the taste is less than perfect, but still something you can drink easily.

However, Dragon Fruit Candy is a new flavor from NutraBio and they nailed it. This is their best flavor in the lineup. It masks the vegan aminos nicely with no issues with taste.

 

Mixability

(8.0/10)

Mixability of BCAA 5000 did suffer just a little bit on my end. I used both a Blender Bottle and a Cyclone Cup. Both had issues getting it to fully dissolve. Sometimes you would get a drink with that “powder” feel to it yet. All-in-all it was not the best mixing BCAA powder I have had, but with a little patience and a couple extra shakes it’s not an issue.


Value

(10/10)

Besides the profile of BCAA 5000, this is where this product EXCELS! There are so many BCAA powders on the market today with a variety of gimmicks (additives, different ratios, etc). BCAA 5000 is a 2:1:1 ratio fermented BCAA product that gives you 64-servings for less than $30. That is less than $.50 per 5g of 2:1:1 ratio FERMENTED BCAAs. I can look past any mixability or taste issues with the product (albeit they aren’t even that bad!) and invest in my health with a high quality product at a very good price. Oh, don’t let us forget that you can save an additional 10% with coupon code INFORMANT.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

60-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

NutraBio logo

$29.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

NutraBio logo

$29.99

Suppz Logo

$29.99

$31.49

60-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

NutraBio logo

NutraBio

$29.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

NutraBio logo

NutraBio

$29.99


Suppz Logo

Suppz

$29.99


$31.49

NutraBio BCAA 5000

9.2

Profile

10.0/10

Effectiveness

10.0/10

Taste

8.0/10

Mixability

8.0/10

Value

10.0/10

Pros

  • Fermented BCAAs
  • Effective
  • Value

Cons

  • N/A
NutraBio Classic Whey Review: A Transparent Quality Protein Powder
NutraBio Super Carb Review: High Quality Carb Supplement

Leave a Reply