B.A.R. NutritionPre-Workout

B.A.R. Nutrition ENERGIZE Pre-Workout Review

By June 13, 2018 January 5th, 2019 No Comments

B.A.R. Nutrition ENERGIZE Pre-Workout

8

Profile

7.5/10

Effectiveness

8.5/10

Taste

7.0/10

Mixability

8.0/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Value
  • Energy
  • Pump

Cons

  • N/A

Overview of B.A.R. Nutrition ENERGIZE Pre-Workout

B.A.R. Nutrition is a new brand to us, and probably to many of you. They are in-market with two SKUs, a pre-workout and a BCAA. We were excited to work with them as we are always surprised by companies that we haven’t hear of.

B.A.R. Nutrition’s pre-workout is a good pre-workout with a nice mix of caffeine, stims and cognitive enhancing ingredients. It’s not too often you find pre-workouts with Noopept now days, but this one has it, along with other awesome nootropics. Overall, we liked the pre-workout B.A.R. has to offer, and we feel you will like it too.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed B.A.R. Nutrition ENERGIZE on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Peach Tea.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 12oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.

Ingredients Profile

(7.5/10)

B.A.R. Nutrition’s Pre-Workout uses many standard ingredients with proven results. It also incorporates other ingredients that are known, but not widely seen. Let’s dive into it.

Let’s look at the pump ingredients first. We first start with 6g of L-Citrulline Malate. This is the clinical dosage of this ingredient. This is a pump enhancing ingredient as it helps promote blood flow. Next, we get 1g of L-Arginine. This is a solid dosage of an ingredient that will influence and increase NO levels in the body. After that, we get 1g of Agmatine Sulfate. This increases the perception of pain, and inhibits NO eating enzymes in the body, allowing your nitric oxide levels to work for you. A selection and dosages of pump ingredients.

Then we get into strength and endurance. We start with 1.5g of Beta-Alanine. This is the “itchy” ingredient to most, but it actually serves a purpose. It is intended to improve endurance. The proper dosage of this should be 3.2g. We come in at 50% of that. B.A.R. tosses in 1g of Taurine. This is a sufficient dosage of the ingredient meant to improve overall strength output. We get Kre-Alkalyn creatine at 1g as well. Creatine helps with strength output. Creatine Monohydrate is typically dosed at 5g, while Kre-Alkalyn should be around 3g. We are a bit light here as well. Overall, the strength complex uses good ingredients, just a tad light on the dosages.

Let’s get into the energy boost next. Two versions of caffeine are used. Caffeine Anhydrous is dosed at 200mg. A good dosage in our opinion. Di-Caffeine Malate is dosed at 75mg. I like the use of two forms of caffeine as it gives you a nice long energy, versus a sudden rush and crash. B.A.R. will then toss in stimulants (we all love those). Synepherine is used at 50mg. This is a nice dosage of Synepherine as it should be dosed between 30-60mg. This is essentially like ephedra. It is a fat burning ingredient meant to improve energy. Lastly, 2mg of Yohimbine HCl is used. Another fat burning, energy producing ingredient. This is a good dosage of it. Anything higher can cause your heart to go crazy. Good energy complex. Not overly complicated, but solid.

Lastly, we get the focus area of the pre-workout. We start with 100mg of Alpha GPC. I love A-GPC. It is one of my favorite nootropics. However, I wish it was dosed more along the lines of 300mg. This will improve focus. Next we get 20mg of Noopept. Great dosage here. This was found in Dust Extreme and how I got to like it. It is a nootropic that will give you “laser like focus.” Lastly, Huperzine is used at 100mcg. This is a solid dosage of another cognitive enhancing ingredient.

B.A.R. tosses in 5mg of Coconut Powder as well, but this dosage is so insignificant it really isn’t needed.

Overall, a good profile. A couple areas in which I would like to see higher dosages but not too shabby.

Bar Nutrition Pre-Workout label

Effectiveness

(8.5/10)

We’ve taken a lot of pre-workouts in our day. Just check out this site. Effectiveness can range across the board, and it can differ from person to person.

The best part about this pre-workout was the sharp focus it gave us. I know that is because the mix of stims, caffeine, noopept, Huperzine and Alpha GPC. I love a good focus pre-workout. Noopept was loved in Dust Extreme, and you hardly find it on the market anymore. I would grade the focus a 10 out of 10 because we love noopept.

Energy was solid as well. I like it when we can do under 300mg of caffeine but still get an energy burst through the stims like we get in Synepherine and Y0himbe. I would give energy a nice 8-9. You get a good rush right away, and the 75mg of Dicaffeine Malate helps prolong that energy throughout your lift.

Pump was good. I do like other pump additives like Glycerol Powder, but this has what you need. You get Citrulline Malate, Agmatine Sulfate and L-Arginine to provide a good pump. You won’t necessarily need a pump agent on this baby. I give pump an 8.

Strength and endurance were decent. I didn’t find myself getting overly tired, and it was a good long lift session each time out. I would give this a 7.

Honestly, one of the better pre-workouts out there in terms of effectiveness. It hits on all five pillars. Kudos at B.A.R. for that!

Taste

Peach Tea: (7/10)

Peach Tea makes you think of summer afternoons in the country, right? Except you are about to go smash some heavy as weight in the gym. Country strong this could be called. This doesn’t taste exactly like tea, but it is still decent to the taste. We rate taste on how closely it matches the label and the overall taste, just a FYI. This is good, but not exactly peach tea to us.

Mixability

(8/10)

This is a healthy serving size when you think about the pre workouts on the market today. This is 15g. Depending on the water amount used it could affect mixability. We always choose to do ours in 6oz of water, or so, to get the best rating scale possible. This mixed really well with minimal floaties as we call them and residue going to the bottom. Check out the video for a demo!

Value

(9/10)

We have seen pre-workouts travel north of $2 a serving, and that’s not a bad thing if the pre justifies the price tag. B.A.R. is charging around $40 for this pre and it is 30-servings. This is an effective product that is priced correctly in our opinion. You are getting a quality pre-workout at a good price. If you like laser sharp focus and smooth energy in the gym, then spend a quality $40 bill on this quality pre-workout!

  PRICE COMPARISON:

Jiant Supplements Mental Jiant Review
B.A.R. Nutrition Defy BCAA+++ Review

Leave a Reply