Blackstone LabsPre-Workout

Blackstone Labs Dust X Review

By October 28, 2018 January 17th, 2019 No Comments

Blackstone Labs Dust X

7.5

Profile

7.0/10

Effectiveness

8.0/10

Taste

7.0/10

Mixability

8.0/10

Value

7.5/10

Pros

  • Good, Clean Energy
  • Solid Focus
  • Stims

Cons

  • Underdosed Pump Ingredients
  • Underdosed Strenth/Power Ingredients

Overview of Blackstone Labs Dust X

Blackstone Labs at one point in their hardcore history had the #1 sought out pre-workout on the market: Dust Extreme. In fact, it was rated pretty damn high here at FI prior to the courts calling DMAA into question, thus forcing PJ and team at BSL to pull the product from manufacturing.

Dust X is the second-coming of Dust Extreme featuring DMHA instead of DMAA. Although it does not hit as hard, it still provides a pretty solid pre-workout option for those looking for a higher octane pre-workout that has “other” ingredients to help contribute to the other pillars of the pre-workout.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Blackstone Labs Dust X on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Pineapple.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 12oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.

Ingredients Profile

(7/10)

The biggest difference between Blackstone Lab’s Dust X and Dust Extreme is the change from DMAA to DMHA. Oh, Dust X also lacks Noopept (one of our favorite ingredients), but government regulation and manufacturing decisions make it damn near impossible to manufacture products with these in it.

We first start out with 4g of Citrulline Malate 2:1. This means it is 2 parts Citrulline to 1 part Malic Acid. You want Citrulline to be at least 3g to 5g ideal. This means we are actually going to be getting less than 3g of Citrulline, which it not ideal. Anytime you get 2:1 on Citrulline Malate, you want at least 6g, preferably 8g. Citrulline Malate is for the pump and increases blood flow to your muscles.

Next, we get 2.5g Beta Alanine. Another ingredient slightly underdosed. Beta Alanine should be at 3.2g. Now this can vary from person to person, so we are seeing 2.5g common, but here at FI, we want the 3.2g clinically accepted dosage. Beta Alanine can help with endurance.

Agmatine Sulfate at 1g is an acceptable dosage. Agmatine Sulfate inhibits nitric oxide synthase enzymes – this allowing our body to regulate higher levels of NO. This helps with the overall pump as well.

L-Tyrosine at 1g is another fair dosage of an ingredient that helps contribute to memory and cognitive enhancement. This is the typical dosage we see. Dimethylaminoethanol (DMAE) reduces build-up of the age pigmentation that causes memory loss. We can see this dosed from 300-2,000mg per day to help with exercise, per WebMD. We get DMAE dosed at 750mg. This is another typical dosage. Phenylethylamine (PEA) releases what we call the “happy hormones” in the body. This will help with relaxation and focus. We are dosed at 500mg, and the typical dosage is 500mg to 1,000mg for exercise. We are in this range. The one area of concern with PEA is the short half life, meaning it wears of quickly.

For the energy portion of the pre-workout, we start with 350mg of Caffeine. This a lot. Simply put. We also combine that with 150mg of DMHA (2-amino). At 150mg DMHA, this is close to about 75mg of DMAA. This is a great combination that can provide really solid energy. Adding fuel to the energy fire is 75mg of Higenamine. This is a fat burning ingredient that produces energy in the body. We recommend 20-30mg 2-3x daily, meaning no less than 40mg but no more than 90mg. We are dosed correctly here.

Huperzine A is used at 300mcg. This is another cognitive enhancing ingredient at a great dosage.

Overall, the profile is decent. Energy and focus are the top 2 features of this pre-workout. It does lack on pump, endurance and strength output. For pump and endurance, a couple of the ingredients used are underdosed. The only two areas we fell are well rounded are the energy and the focus components.

Dust X Label

Effectiveness

(8/10)

The energy and the focus, as talked about previously in the profile section, are two great features that are effective in this pre-workout. I do like the energy of Dust X versus Dust Extreme as it is more smooth, and not such a jolt, crazy energy feeling you got from the DMAA infused Dust Extreme. I also respond better to DMHA. The energy was long lasting, and more euphoric thanks to the stims and DMHA combined with the caffeine.

I miss Noopept, but they did a good job of focusing on the focus component of Dust X. PEA is solid, but it wears off in the first 20-30 minutes as the half life isn’t long. Thankfully they added 300mcg of Huperzine-A, a great ingredient that works well for me. The combination of the stims with the cognitive enhancing ingredients really gets you focused on the task at-hand. It also helps keep you going since we are lacking endurance and power ingredients.

The one ares that is underwhelming is the pump. We would like to see more Citrulline, but we feel this is a way for BSL to encourage you to buy one of their pump supplements, like our highly rated Hype Extreme. With that said, I would still like to see Citrulline properly dosed, and thus you lack on pump. Same can be said with strength output and endurance. Beta-Alanine is borderline fine, but still underdosed per clinical studies. You don’t necessarily loss gas quickly, but you also do not have more than enough gas to keep going for longer periods of time.

Overall, this pre-workout does energy and focus well. Two areas that are musts, in my opinion.

Taste

Pineapple: (7.0/10)

If you’ve ever tried Blackstone Labs pineapple flavoring system in Dust Extreme or other products one thing is for certain: it is consistent. This tastes just like the other products with the same flavoring system. I like the flavor OK, it isn’t the best tasting flavor, but it is far from the worst. You can expect it to taste very similar to pineapple anything. It does mix well with other powders – not affecting taste too much.

Mixability

(8.0/10)

The serving size on Dust X is more in-line with what you’d expect from the pre-workout. It is just over 10g at 10.5g. We used 6oz of water, a quick couple shakes of a Blender Bottle and we were ready to drink. A little bit of residue was left on the inside of the cup, but nothing too concerning given what we’ve come to expect from the category.

Value

(7.5/10)

Value comes to people in different ways. For me, I look at number of servings, price tag and then what am I getting per serving. I am getting solid energy and focus, two must haves, but I am lacking pump and endurance. The price tag on this is $45 and it will get you 20-servings. A fully stacked pre-workout can be 20-servings for $50 – so this price is an acceptable price given we are getting 5 more servings for $5 less. Most people buy PWOs based on caffeine content alone, the deal with Dust X is you won’t want to double scoop due to that, so the 25-servings is correct. Given the dosages we rated accordingly.

FITNESS INFORMANT’S EXCLUSIVE “BLACKSTONE LABS DUST X” DEALS

 Save 5% on your entire order with coupon code INFORMANT

  PRICE COMPARISON:

Blackstone Labs Hype Review
Inspired Nutraceuticals 3MB3R Review

Leave a Reply