Skip to main content
PerformixPre-Workout

Performix SST Pre Review: A Decent Pre With Great Flavoring

Performix SST Pre

7.9

Profile

7.4/10

Effectiveness

7.3/10

Taste

8.8/10

Mixability

8.5/10

Value

7.7/10

Pros

  • Taste
  • Energy
  • Hydration

Cons

  • Lacking Pump Ingredients
  • Some Ingredients Underdosed
  • Yohimbe may be a turn off for some

Overview of Performix SST Pre

Performix SST Pre is a pre-workout supplement from Performix, and is geared towards athletes with overall performance in mind.

With many pre-workouts on the market these days simply shoving as many pump ingredients as they can into a pre-workout, or seeing how they can get away with exotic stimulants before the FDA comes down on them, Performix has a pre-workout that is geared for the masses as opposed to just gym bros. It's a bit more versatile than many pre-workouts, however some ingredients may need a little tweaking for us to give it our full-approval.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Performix SST Pre on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pre-workout will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Blueberry Lemonade

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. We use the Official Shaker Cup of Fitness Informant, the Ice Shaker.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(7.4/10)

performix sst pre

Performix Pre SST starts off with Citrulline Malate at 3g. RIght off the bat, we have to mention that this is underdosed. While we can’t say it won’t give you some sort of extra blood flow, if you’re looking for a great pump, you may need to look elsewhere. Following this comes CarnoSyn® Beta-Alanine at 2g. This amount is fine, while of course the daily goal for beta-alanine should be 3.2g, it’s best taken in small separate doses.

Next up we have the “Molecular Hydrogen Matrix”, which is a blend of 4.316g. While hydrogen water for health/performance benefits has been subject to debate over recent years, this blend has some good to it. It starts off with 1 gram of ACLAR, which may aid in focus and at 1g, is dosed well. The rest of the blend is essentially a bunch of minerals/electrolytes/malic acid which may aid in performance. 

Finally we have the “Energy, Metabolism, and Focus Complex”. This is a blend of Caffeine (300mg), Lion’s Mane (250mg), Theanine (200mg), Vaso6 (150mg), Yohimbe Bark (40mg), and BioPerine® (5mg). The 300mg of Caffeine is on par with the majority of pre-workouts on the market. We’d like to see the Lion’s Mane, which has a wealth of benefits (including focus) upped another 250mg, however it’s nice to see it in here. The Vaso6, a pump ingredient, at 150mg is underdosed and we’d like to see it at 300mg here. 

The Yohimbe Bark at 40mg (8% Yohimbine) may be a turnoff for some people. While Yohimbe can provide energy and vasodilation, it can have some serious side effects, and this will differ depending on the user. We are fine with it, however a first time user may experience something different. It is dosed well in SST Pre.


Effectiveness

(7.3/10)

SST Pre was actually not a bad as far as performance and energy goes. However when you compare it to what else it out there, it is hard to compare it to some of the top ranked pre-workouts we have reviewed here on FI. The energy is solid overall, and the extra yohimbe may put some people over the edge, however there are certainly stronger ingredients out there. 

As far as pumps go, there isn’t too much to say as both the citrulline and Vaso6 are underdosed. However for the target audience of Performix, the slight increase in bloodflow may actually be perfect. The people at Performix tend to not be your average gym bros or bodybuilders, but rather a healthy mix of lifting and endurance. So really it’s probably optimal for people who are just looking for a pre-workout that will give them good energy and help with endurance/cramping as opposed to a pre-workout that will crack them out and give them pumps so intense they have to stop their set midway through.


Taste

Blueberry Lemonade: (8.8/10)

We had the Blueberry Lemonade and it was quite good. It’s a nice mixture of refreshing and sweet. While not the best tasting pre-workout on the market, it can hold its own against many and can easily be enjoyed.


Mixability

(8.5/10)

Overall it mixes quite well. There is some residue floating around, however it’s not too noticeable. 

We used the Official Shaker Cup of Fitness Informant, The Ice Shaker.

Check out the video above for a full mixability test.


Value

(7.7/10)

You can get Performix SST Pre for $44.99. This is not over the top, especially when the average pre-workout on the market these days is around $2 per serving. Of course, we have to take into account that some of the ingredients are underdosed. 

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

30 Servings

Enter your text here...

Price Comparison

$44.99

30 Servings

PRICE COMPARISON:

GNC

$44.99

Performix SST Pre

7.9

Profile

7.4/10

Effectiveness

7.3/10

Taste

8.8/10

Mixability

8.5/10

Value

7.7/10

Pros

  • Taste
  • Energy
  • Hydration

Cons

  • Lacking Pump Ingredients
  • Some Ingredients Underdosed
  • Yohimbe may be a turn off for some
Episode 57: Jeremy Potvin
Granite Supplements Pre-Mium Review: A Pre We Expect From John Meadows

Leave a Reply