Pre-WorkoutTC Nutrition

TC Nutrition Batch 27 Review

By August 5, 2018 January 5th, 2019 No Comments

TC Nutrition Batch 27

8.1

Profile

7.5/10

Effectiveness

8.0/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

7.0/10

Pros

  • Taste
  • Mixability
  • Transparent Label

Cons

  • N/A

Overview of TC Nutrition Batch 27

Have you ever heard of TC Nutrition? Honestly, we hadn’t either until they reached out to us to check out their Batch 27 pre-workout powder. Why hadn’t we heard of them? Well, they are based in Canada and had to time their entry just right into the American (US) market.

Batch 27 is a stim based pre-workout featuring synephrine (bitter orange extract) and 325mg of total caffeine. Dosages vary from ingredient-to-ingredient, getting clinical dosages in some areas and lacking in other. Overall, this pre-workout is a safe choice that would provide decent energy and pump to get you through your workout.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed TC Nutrition Batch 27 on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Sour Batch.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 12oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.

Ingredients Profile

(7.5/10)

With any pre-workout, it is important that we are getting proven ingredients at verified clinical studied dosages. Now, with some ingredients, there are not any clinical studies BUT we can compare to the market and give you our best two cents. Let’s dive into TC Nutrition Batch 27 by category, meaning what each ingredient contributes too.

Pump

Batch 27 starts with 8g of Citrulline DL Malate (2:1). This ingredient is going to improve blood flow into your muscles providing you with a solid pump. The dosage for this type of Citrulline should be between 6-8g. We are at the top level, happy with this dosage. Agmatine Sulfate is used at 600mg, but should also be dosed at a minimum of 1g. This ingredient helps with your pump. It increases NO in your body. I would like to see a minimum of 1g of Agmatine Sulfate used. We also get 250mg of Theobromine . Studies show between 200mg and 400mg for dosage.  This dilates your blood vessels which increases your pump.

Strength and Endurance

Beta-Alanine, the “itchy” ingredient designed to help strength output and endurance is dosed at 3.5g. This is above the 3.2g clinically studied and suggested dosage; we’re good here. (NOTE: Just so we’re clear, more Beta-Alanine doesn’t make it a better pre-workout. Some people judge a pre-workout supplement by the tingly feeling they get, but that should not be the case.) Betaine is dosed at 1.6g. This should be dosed between 1.5 and 2.5g. I like the higher end at 2.5g but 1.6g falls within range. This ingredient is to help increase strength output. Creatine HCl is dosed at 1g. The effective dosage of Creatine HCl is 1-2g. I, personally, do not like creatine in my pre-workouts. I am a bigger fan of Creatine Monohydrate (which requires 5g). Creatine is a fairly inexpensive ingredient, by putting it in a pre-workout it is taking up space and most of the time you pay a premium for it. In this case, because it is dosed correctly we will say kudos.

Focus

L-Tyrosine, a focus/memory enhancing ingredient is dosed at 600mg. This should be dosed at a minimum of 1g. I like the use of this ingredient, but anything under 1g to me is a waste. Nice to have, but could use more. We get 100mg of Theanine, the mood relaxing ingredient. This is best taken with caffeine, which we get in this pre-workout. Dosages of 100-200mg are sufficient. Lastly, for focus, we get 120mcg of Huperzine A. This is a cognitive enhancing ingredient. Dosages can range from 50-200mcg.

Energy

There are two sources of caffeine in Batch 27. Caffeine Anhydrous is dosed at 275mg. This is the fast acting, hard hitting caffeine that can lead to a crash. To avoid the crash, Batch 27 uses 50mg of Caffeine Citrate. They also toss in 110mg of Synephrine aka Bitter Orange Extract. This is 30% so we are actually getting about 33mg of Synepherine. Recommended dosages is 30-60mg, so we’re in the ball park. L-Carnitine, an ingredient which transports fatty acids to be burned as energy, is used at 500mg. This is under dosed as well. At minimum in a pre-workout we’d see this at 1g. True L-Carnitine products are 1,500-3,000mg.

Overall, some ingredients are dosed nicely, while others are underwhelming. L-Carnitine, Tyrosine, Carnitine and Agmatine Sulfate are all under dosed. But on the flip side we get big doses of Citrulline DL Malate and Beta-Alanine. This profile is good, not great, but it’s not terrible either.

Batch 27 Pre-Workout Label

Effectiveness

(8/10)

Beta-Alanine can be one of those ingredients that can ruin a pre-workout. Seeing that Batch 27 had 3.5g mixed with 325mg of Caffeine and then the addition of Synepherine, we were worried that this could be one of those pres that trick you into thinking it is good. We didn’t get that scratch your face off feeling which was nice. We break it down by category:

Pump

Pump was good. We typically would use a pump product on top of our pre, and if you are big into that I would recommend you keep doing that. The pump is good, just not epic like it can be with a pump powder.

Strength & Endurance

Solid here. Fatigue set in when it should set it. What I mean by that is we were able to power through some intense workouts. Endurance was nice. One thing a good pre-workout should do is help with muscle fatigue. No major issues here.

Energy

The best part of this pre-workout. I like the use of two caffeine sources. Having ingredients like Theanine coupled with it helps too so you’re not just raging. Synepherine (Bitter Orange) also contributes nicely to the energy, This is where we get a bit of the intense-ness. This is a nice, intense, but euphoric energy.

Focus

We lack a bit here. If you look at the deck, there isn’t any one ingredient/focus ingredient that pops off outside of Huperzine A. Stims help with focus, but in terms of others we’ve had, this one isn’t a top pre-workout for focus.

Overall, this pre-workout is effective. It is a safer pre-workout meaning it isn’t tossing in a bunch of gray area stims, and with that you won’t get a crazy intense pre, but one that works and you reap the benefits of it. We would use this again.

Taste

Sour Batch: (9/10)

Sour Batch rhymes with Sour Patch! That’s exactly what this tastes like. It is very tart/sour, just FYI. This should be expected due to the name. If you are into the bodybuilding world you’ll like this since Sour Patch Kids are one of our favorite candies. I would say, for me, it was almost too sour, so just a word of caution for those who don’t want something too tart.

Mixability

(9/10)

For an 18g serving size, Batch 27 pre-workout mixes very well. It all varies on the amount of liquid you use I suppose, but we always mix ours in 6-8oz of water and a blender bottle. There is some residue at the bottom and floating, but some of these ingredients are not completely water soluble. Check out the video for a demonstration.

Value

(7/10)

Batch 27 can be a 20-serving or a 40-serving pre-workout. The issue with the 40-servings is you are going to be drastically under dosed. We reviewed everything above on 20-servings. That puts this pre-workout over $2 per serving. Based on what else is out on the market and their price point, this comes in higher and isn’t a better rated pre-workout. Is it worth $40+? Yes, but there are others that have been rated higher that retail for the same or less. If you can get this at a discount then it will make it more worth your money.

  PRICE COMPARISON:

Iron Brother Supplements Pre-Workout V2 Review
Jiant Supplements Mental Jiant Review

Leave a Reply