Skip to main content
Pre-WorkoutUSN

USN 3XT Power Review: A Small Package Packs a Big Punch

By December 23, 2020January 5th, 2021No Comments

USN 3XT Power

8.6

Profile

8.2/10

Effectiveness

8.2/10

Taste

8.5/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Value
  • Taste
  • Mixability

Cons

  • Promoted Label Under Dosed (See Review)
  • Lacks Focus

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 20%

Overview of USN 3XT POWER

USN has been around for close to 20 years, but they are just starting to make a push and have a presence in the US. The rich blue color of their branding has their products jumping off the digital and retail store shelves.

USN 3XT Power is 30-serving pre-workout that gives adequate energy, a solid pump and focus. Although the label has it as a 30-serving, we would put this in the 20-serving class as you'd want about 1.5 servings to get full efficacious doses of key ingredients. Even at the increased serving size, you are still getting a solid value with their top line price point plus discount. If you are look for a tasty, effective pre-workout, USN 3XT Power is a solid choice.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed USN 3XT Power on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pre-workout will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Sour Candy Craze and Tropical Vibes.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.2/10)

USN 3XT Power Label

On the surface, USN 3XT Power appears that it could be under dosed based on the supplement facts panel. That would be correct. However, you do need to take into account what it would take to get to the efficacious doses of key ingredients and does that increase your cost per serving? This is something we dive into.

We start out at 4g Citrulline Malate. One thing we need to callout here is we are not sure if this is a typical 2:1 ratio or a 1:1 ratio between Citrulline and Malic Acid. Citrulline has been shown to increase blood flow to induce pumps. We want a minimum of 3-5g of Citrulline. With the label where it is at, we may be under what we are looking for here. An increase to a 1.5 scoop serving would give us 6g CM, which at either ratio would give us at least the minimum dosage of Citrulline at 3g.

Beta-Alanine, the ingredient that gives you the tingles, is dosed at 2g. We want this at a minimum of 3-3.2g. At the promoted 1 scoop serving we would be under, but at the suggested 1.5 scoop we would be at 3g, which is acceptable.

Nitrosigine is one of our favorite pump inducing ingredients on the planet. Nitrosigine promotes nitric oxide production which will increase pumps. We want this to be at the minimum of 750mg. We get 500mg per the promoted amount. At the 1.5 scoop we would get the 750mg we are looking for.

Tyrosine is a cognitive enhancing ingredient. It is dosed at 500mg. We would like to see this at 1g total, and even at the 1.5 scoop it gets us to 750mg, not terrible, but we’d like it a bit higher.

There are two forms of caffeine in USN 3XT Power, Caffeine Anhydrous and the patent Infinergy Di-Caffeine Malate. We get 250mg Caffeine Anhydrous and 50mg of Infinergy. This gives us a total of ~287g caffeine. This is solid. However, if we go to the 1.5 scoop then we are getting 430mg caffeine which is a bit on the the high side. This is the one downside to going higher, BUT we do have two forms of caffeine so it isn’t all hitting you at once. You would get 375g caffeine hitting you first before the additional 55g of Di-Caffeine Malate came into play.

L-Theanine, a powerful ingredient that can act as a sedative ingredient, but also can enhance mood, is used at 100mg. At the 1.5g scoop you would be at 150mg, which isn’t terrible considering you are getting more caffeine.

Astragin is used at 25mg to help with ingredient absorption.

If you want to see what this looks like as a 20-serving (1.5 scoop) here’s what the label would look like:

Citrulline Malate: 6,000mg
Beta-Alanine: 3,000mg
Nitrosigine: 750mg
L-Tyrosine: 750mg
Caffeine Anhydrous: 375mg
L-Theanine: 150mg
Infinergy Di-Caffeine Malate (yielding ~74% caffeine): 75mg
Astragin: 37.5mg

Overall, the profile uses proven ingredients; some of them just appear to be under dosed at the 30-serving. USN would be better off moving this label to a 40/20 serving to be more attractive to the educated consumer. Even at the 20-serving, this is still a value for a pre-workout at $34.99, but more on that later.


Effectiveness

(8.2/10)

If you go with our suggested 1.5 scoops (20-serving) then the effectiveness of this product is not bad. In terms of energy, you get a good rush of energy from the Caffeine Anhydrous kicking in. The nice part of this is you don’t get that crazy crash because on the backend you have Infinergy carrying you down to where you want to be without crashing.

Focus is OK. I would like to have more emphasis placed on focus, but we really only have Tyrosine, although Nitrosigine has been shown to enhance cognation as well. You could argue that Theanine calms you out, allowing you to focus more, but I have had pre-workouts with much better focus, but those also include more focus-forward ingredients.

Pump is actually good. If you are using our suggest serving size you get 6g Citrulline Malate and 750mg Nitrosigine. The pumps are noticeable as there is a nice complimentary factor of Citrulline Malate with Nitrosigine.

Endurance/Strength was OK. We don’t get a lot here outside of Beta-Alanine. There are no strength promoting ingredients like Betaine Anhydrous or Creatine. You essentially feed off the energy from the pre-workout to help contribute with your strength.

Overall, if used at our suggest dosage, you have an effective pre-workout. If you stick to the promoted 30-serving you may not get all the benefits you want, then again maybe you will.


Taste

Sour Candy Craze: (9.0/10)
Tropical Vibes: (8.3/10)

We tried two of the three flavors of 3XT Power. We preferred Sour Candy Crazy over the Tropical Vibes. Sour Candy Craze was really enjoyable. It was like you were drinking sour Skittles or a similar candy.

Tropical Vibes is their take on a “punch.” We get hints of Hawaiian Punch but overall, to us, it was just another punch. If that is your fancy I think you will like it. It is less sour than Sour Candy Craze


Mixability

(9.0/10)

On paper the dosage size is 10g, which mixes very well in 6oz of water. Per our entire review you see we are suggesting 1.5 scoops. We do this in 8oz of water and it still mixes very well. This would put the serving size at 15g which is actually less than some of the other 20-serving pre-workouts on the market today (yes, we know this is a 30-serving but we are going off what we believe is optimal). See the video above for our mixability test.


Value

(9.0/10)

Here is where we really need you to pay attention. The entire review we have been talking about increasing the serving size to 1.5 scoops, essentially making 3XT Power a 20-serving pre-workout. 3XT Power retails at $34.99 at the USN website, and at 30-servings we would be at $1.17 a serving. This is a crazy good deal, but per our review, we don’t believe the 30-serving panel is optimal. In our opinion this should be a 1.5 scoop serving making this a 20-serving unit for $34.99. Even at this increased serving size, the cost per serving is $1.75. This is still good. Other 20-serving pre-workouts on the market retail for $40-$55. With discount code INFORMANT that would knock the price down to $28 for 20-servings making the cost per serving at $1.40. This is a great deal.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

USN logo

$34.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

USN logo

$34.99

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

USN logo

USN

$34.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

USN logo

USN

$34.99

USN 3XT Power

8.6

Profile

8.2/10

Effectiveness

8.2/10

Taste

8.5/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Value
  • Taste
  • Mixability

Cons

  • Promoted Label Under Dosed (See Review)
  • Lacks Focus
USN To Launch Phedracut Black X
USN Launches New 3XT Power

Leave a Reply