Pre-WorkoutWild West Nutrition

Wild West Nutrition Clyde Review

By March 30, 2018 January 5th, 2019 No Comments

Wild West Nutrition Clyde

5.9

Profile

6.5/10

Effectiveness

6.0/10

Taste

5.0/10

Mixability

8.0/10

Value

4.0/10

Pros

  • Effective
  • Great Value
  • Solid Profile

Cons

  • Taste
  • Mixability

Overview of Wild West Nutrition Clyde

Wild West Nutrition makes several different products in the sports nutrition market. Most, if not all, of those supplements would be touted from us as beginner supplements because of their lower than clinical recommended dosages. They are great at marketing, and use that to continue to get more people to try the brand.

Clyde is one of their several pre-workout supplements (they leverage the Bonnie and Clyde naming conventions). Clyde is the strongest of the pre-workout supplements designed more for fat loss in the pre-workout category. However, if you look at the overall profile in combination with servings and price tag, the value isn’t here to support this as a strong choice for a pre-workout supplement.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Wild West Nutrition Clyde on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Orange Monster Mango.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 12oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.

Ingredients Profile

(6.5/10)

Breaking down the ingredient deck/profile on pre-workouts is some of the most fun we have here at FI. A lot of companies will try to use a prop blend, or pack the deck with many ingredients to impress the consumer, but vastly under dose the majority of them. With that said, let’s dive into this label.

First, I am confused by how they setup their label, but nonetheless we’re not here to talk about that, but to talk about the ingredients and their dosages.

Two forms of Yohimbe are used at 2mg each for a total of 4mg. Yohimbe is used for burning fat. I have seen this as high as 40mg (various forms of Yohimbe), but I have seen it dosed as low as this. A lot of people have issues with this, so I don’t have a real issue with the lower dosage on Yohimbe.

Three different forms of caffeine are used. We get Caffeine Anhydrous dosed at 200mg, Caffeine Citrate at 25mg and Di-Caffeine Malate at 25mg for a total of 250mg. I like the 200mg of Caffeine A, but i would love to see Di-Caffeine Malate dosed higher. Caffeine A and Caffeine Citrate will give you that instant boost, per se, and Di-Caffeine Malate will come in and help you prolong your energy levels and help you avoid the crash.

Hordenine is used for fat burning. We get a dosing of 50mg. There is not sufficient evidence for optimal dosage, but we typically see this around 100mg.

Norvaline is used for pumps. It is dosed at 200mg. This is a good, solid dosage of Norvaline. Another pump ingredient is Agamatine Sulfate at 1,000mg. Another good dose of an ingredient.

For focus, Tyrosine is used at 1,500mg. This is one of the better doses of Tyrosine we see. In most pre-workouts, this is dosed at 1,000mg.

Beta Alanine, the tingly ingredient, is used at 2,000mg. The clinical dosage of Beta Alanine is 3.2g. We are under dosed here, but I know some people have issues with Beta Alanine.

Lastly, we get Betaine at 2,500mg. This is a good dosage of Betaine. Betaine can help improve endurance and strength outputs.

Overall, the ingredients used are dosed fairly decent. The issue we have, is that there really isn’t a good combinations of ingredients that contribute to the same function. Sure, energy has three forms of caffeine, but that’s essentially it. You could include Hordenine in that if you want. Pump has two ingredients but lacking L-Citrulline, which we’d love to see. Focus has one ingredient. Not a terrible pre-workout by any means, but also not one of the best.

Wild Wild West Nutrition Clyde Label

Effectiveness

(6/10)

As we mentioned in the profile section, there really wasn’t anything special about the ingredient deck that contributed to any one (we look primarily for three areas of a pre-workout: energy, pump and focus) category.

We did have OK energy from the Caffeine A, but felt the crash start to kick in about 30 minutes in. This is why we’d like to see more Di-Caffeine Malate.

Focus was good, not great, but good. Thankfully they used a higher-than-normal dosage of Tyrosine. I would like to have more cognitive enhancing ingredients to contribute to overall focus. Yes, I know caffeine helps, but we need more.

Pump is OK. It’s nice to have Norvaline and Agmatine Sulfate, but we really missed the used of Citrulline in this pre-workout. Now days people are using other pump ingredients like Glycerol Powder or Nitrosigine, so our pump with this was not as apparent as others we’ve used.

Overall, this product was OK, but not super effective. I feel if you’re a beginning user you may get more effectiveness out of Clyde.

Taste

Orange Mobster Mango: (5/10)

Orange and Mango? I was sold. However, the taste did not come in like I thought it would. It tasted a little like a citrus drink, but there was a weird after taste with it that I didn’t like. I also didn’t think it tasted exactly like mango with orange. It wasn’t that I couldn’t drink it, don’t get me wrong, but I have had some really tasty pre-workouts in my day!

Mixability

(8/10)

Use 8-10oz of water and this mixes fairly well. The serving size is less than 10g, so I have a rule that anything below 10g should be almost completely soluble in water. I had some particles floating and some residue at the bottom, but it was not overbearing.

Value

(4/10)

The everyday price tag on pre-workouts now is around $40. Most of the highly effective pre-workouts give you 20-servings for $40. Clyde is a so/so pre-workout that gives us 25-servings for $40. I think about some of the others on the market that are more effective that even retail for $30 for 30-servings. Had this product used more ingredients to contribute to the big 3 and been more effective, I could have seen a higher value, but I wouldn’t spend $40 for this.

  PRICE COMPARISON:

Wild West Nutrition Retribution Protein Powder Review
Wild West Nutrition Bounty Hunter Review

Leave a Reply