5% NutritionProtein Powder

5% Nutrition Real Carbs+Protein Review: Real Food for Real Gains

By February 9, 2020 No Comments

5% Nutrition Real Carbs+Protein

8.9

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

8.8/10

Mixability

8.5/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Non-Dairy Based
  • Real Food Sources
  • Taste
  • Value

Cons

  • Limited Flavors

Use coupon code INFORMANT and save 10% off!

Overview of 5% Nutrition Real Carbs+Protein

5% Nutrition is alive and well, even after the passing of Rich Piana in 2017. The brand is still making quality products for the more "hardcore" user, but are starting to look at a broader audience on the brand,

5% Nutrition Real Carbs+Protein is a solid meal replacement formula using foods like oats, sweet potato, beef, chicken, eggs and chickpea to give consumers real gains from real food. In terms of meal replacements, this is one of the best on the market that doesn't rely on cheap carbs and mediocre protein to give the consumer a nutritious solution to their diet. If you value what you put in your body, 5% Nutrition Real Carbs+Protein is a solid choice.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed 5% Nutrition Real Carbs+Protein on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at quality of protein used, amount and other ingredients involved in the making of this protein powder.

We then look at effectiveness. A high quality protein will be effective. This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out Blueberry Cobbler.

Mixability refers to how well the protein powder mixes in the directed amount of water. We use the shaker bottle test. We used the official shaker cup of Fitness Informant, the Ice Shaker Cup.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of proteins available on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.0/10)5% Nutrition Real Carbs+Protein Label

When it comes to meal replacement shakes on the market today, a lot of them are smoke and mirrors. They may use an underwhelming protein powder or a cheap carbohydrate. There are a handful that do it right, and 5% Nutrition Real Carbs+Protein is one we can get behind.

Let’s first look at the macros, then we will get into the protein and carb sources used in 5% Nutrition Real Carbs+Protein.

Macros:

Calories: 250
Fats: 7g
Carbs: 30g
Protein: 20g

The carbs vary from flavor, but the one we tried was at 30g.

Let’s dive into the carb sources. Instead of using cheap maltodextrin or dextrose, 5% Nutrition uses whole grain oats, rice powder and sweet potato powder. These are three REAL foods that are quality carb sources in terms of digestion and GI. These are complex carbs that should not cause a spike in insulin.

5% Nutrition uses several protein sources to make up the 20g protein. We start with HydroBEEF Beef Protein Isolate. This is not as bioavailable as a whey protein, but it is a non-dairy alternative a lot of people are looking for today. We also get protein from whole egg powder, which does have a bioavailability score of 100. We also get chickpea powder and chicken powder. We do not know the breakdown of each, but know that since beef leads the list that it is used in the highest amount.

Fats come from a coconut oil blend.

Overall, we like the label. We would like to know what is the breakdown of carb and protein sources, but on paper this is one of the better meal replacement powders.


Effectiveness

(9.0/10)

We do wish there was some whey used in this for bioavailability, but we understand that 5% Nutrition was going the non-dairy route with Real Carbs+Protein. Beef protein, especially HydroBEEF, is being used more and more as a dairy replacement. We can get on-board with this. What we do like is that this is a solid formula that will “fill” you up. It works great as a meal replacement, or as a supplement for extra calories in a bulking state.

You don’t have “gut rot” or any discomfort from the powder. You don’t get a sense of crash from an insulin spike you may get from cheaper meal replacements. 

What we really look for from a meal replacement is to curb your hunger, no crash from consumption and no discomfort. We had positive experiences with each.


Taste

Blueberry Cobbler: (8.8/10)

Blueberry Cobbler was a really tasty flavor. You get the strong taste of blueberry which is very enjoyable. It almost tastes like a blueberry muffin. You do get a slight off-taste with it, but nothing that is unbearable or disgusting. As we started this out, it is really tasty and enjoyable. If you’re a blueberry fan, you will like this a lot.


Mixability

(8.5/10)

We need to keep in-mind that this is not a whey protein isolate. This will not mix as well as a whey protein in general. With the mix of protein and carb sources, this will come out thicker with a slight grainy texture. This is OK. If you’ve ever had vegan protein you get the same. It still has great mouth feel. You shouldn’t get any clumps, it is just going to be thicket with a slight grainy texture. Overall, not too bad. 

See full mixability test on video above.

Mixability test was conducted uses the official shaker cup of Fitness Informant, the Ice Shaker Cup.


Value

(9.0/10)

5% Nutrition Real Carbs+Protein retails for $44 for 22 servings. This is $2 a serving. If you double up the serving you are getting 500 calories for less than $5…which is cheaper than that bad-for-you $5 footlong from Subway. Given the sources of carbs and protein, mixed with flavor and mixability, this is worth the price tag. With code INFORMANT you will get this for a flat $40 which brings it below $2/serving. This is something we can get behind.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

22-Servings

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

5% Nutrition

$43.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

5% Nutrition

$43.99

Amazon Logo

See Price on Amazon

22-Servings

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

5% Nutrition

5% Nutrition​

$43.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

5% Nutrition

Amazon Logo

Amazon

See Price on Amazon

5% Nutrition Real Carbs+Protein

8.9

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

8.8/10

Mixability

8.5/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Non-Dairy Based
  • Real Food Sources
  • Taste
  • Value

Cons

  • Limited Flavors
5% Nutrition Joint Defender Now Available In Capsule Form
Olympus Lyfestyle Promises Protein Review: Multiple Sources of Gains

Leave a Reply