Skip to main content
Blackstone LabsProtein Powder

Blackstone Labs 3-Whey Protein Review: An Average Protein

By January 27, 2019No Comments

Blackstone Labs 3 Whey

8.4

Profile

8.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

7.0/10

Pros

  • Taste
  • Mixability
  • 3 Sources of Whey

Cons

  • Value

Overview of Blackstone Labs 3 Whey

3-Whey may have a funny name, but it is far from the best protein powder on the market. While I wouldn’t mind buying it if the price was lowered, there are way too many options out there to pay $1.29 per serving. 

The flavor is good, the mixability is solid, and it will fill out your protein macros, but don’t fall for the 3 “wheys”. 3-Whey is as good as any WPC based protein out there, and if you really want a good blend, grab yourself a whey and casein blend.

Be sure to check out our list of top rated proteins here: Top Rated Protein Blends

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Blackstone Labs 3-Whey protein powder on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at quality of protein used, amount and other ingredients involved in the making of this protein powder.

We then look at effectiveness. A high quality protein will be effective. This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out Vanilla Peanut Butter.

Mixability refers to how well the protein powder mixes in 12oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of proteins available on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8/10)

Blackstone Labs 3 Whey LabelNow just going by the funny name of this protein, you can kind of guess what’s going to be in there. 3-Whey is just 3 different forms of whey protein. Now, not too much wrong with that, however there are somethings I have to call out.

To start, the whey blend is listed as “whey protein concentrate, whey protein isolate, whey protein hydrolysate”. These 3 different forms of whey have different speeds of digestion, however they are all known as being fast-digesting. Also, we do know that you should focus more on the amount of protein you eat per day, not how fast your protein source is.

Now what are the benefits of taking a whey isolate or hydrolysate vs a whey protein concentrate? Well isolate and hydrolysate both have little to no lactose, and the same goes for cholesterol. Usually when someone has issues digesting a whey concentrate, they go with a WPI or WPH as they are much easier on the stomach. Now that’s all nice and dandy, but 3-Whey negates any of those benefits by having WPC in there. So, either give us a straight WPI or straight WPC, combining the 2 doesn’t really make it better than just a WPC. They do say, “you’re only as strong as your weakest link”.

With all of that said, it isn’t a bad protein. I personally don’t see the cholesterol as an issue, and the 2 grams of sugar aren’t going to hurt me at all.

Per scoop, you get 2.5 grams of fat, 2 grams of carbohydrate (both being sugar), and 24 grams of protein.

It’s pretty standard for macros when you compare it to other WPC proteins. I honestly don’t like how the the amounts of whey are hidden in a blend. It’s not really special, and there shouldn’t be anything to hide.


Effectiveness

(9/10)

So you will read this on just about every protein powder review. You won’t notice much from a protein powder. It should be seen as a convenience food, and is there to help you fill out your daily protein goals.

One way to judge a protein powder is how well it digests. This will vary from person to person, but I personally did not have any problems digesting this and had no gas to speak of. So nothing to complain about on the effectiveness aspect really.


Taste

Vanilla Peanut Butter: (8/10)

The flavor we’re reviewing today is Vanilla Peanut Butter. Before I opened this, I was actually quite excited, as this is the only vanilla peanut butter flavor to my knowledge. As for taste, well it was certainly very enjoyable, but not something that completely blew me away like some other protein powders have.

It’s definitely a peanut butter flavor, but much sweeter than I’m used to. With that said, it’s quite enjoyable, and if you blend it with a frozen banana and almond milk, you won’t be disappointed.


Mixability

(9/10)

So the first time I used 3-Whey, there were several clumps in my shaker cup. However, every time after that, it mixed well and there were no clumps to speak of. So forgetting my first experience, it mixes very well and you shouldn’t have any problems.

Check out our full video for a mixability demo.


Value

(7/10)

You can get 3-Whey for $35 directly from their website. Most other websites are going to carry this at $40. A tub will give you 27 servings. So at roughly $1.29 per serving, it’s affordable, but there are much better options out there. You can literally find another very popular WPC/WPI blend with very similar macros at $0.79 per serving. So you’re really just paying for the name and brand here.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

2-LBS

PRICE COMPARISON:

A1Supplements Logo

$39.99

2-LBS

PRICE COMPARISON:

A1Supplements Logo

Blackstone Labs 3 Whey

8.4

Profile

8.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

7.0/10

Pros

  • Taste
  • Mixability
  • 3 Sources of Whey

Cons

  • Value
GHOST Whey Review: Quality and Fully Disclosed!
Olympus Labs Superior Protein Review: The Best Tasting Protein

Leave a Reply