Alpha LionPump Supplements

Alpha Lion Komodo Pump Review: Flavorful and Full of Pumps

By February 9, 2020 No Comments

Alpha Lion Komodo Pump

8.9

Profile

8.9/10

Effectiveness

8.8/10

Taste

9.3/10

Mixability

8.3/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Great Focus
  • Full Pumps
  • Taste

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 15%!

Overview of Alpha Lion Komodo Pump

Alpha Lion was a company that we originally thought was all smoke and mirrors with clever marketing. However, we were dead wrong. Alpha Lion has solid formulations that benefit the consumer in every aspect of their fitness journey. The brand recently reformulated a plethora of products to make them more readily available to more people.

Alpha Lion Komodo Pump is a really nice non-stimulant pump and pre-workout formula that does not feature exogenous nitrates. We get four branded ingredients, all used at acceptable dosages and complimentary ingredients that will lead to solid pumps and focus. Alpha Lion also has their flavors on-point. If you want a non-stimulant pump powder that you can combine with your stim based pre, or if you just want a non-stimulant option before the gym, Alpha Lion Komodo Pump is a great choice.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Alpha Lion Komodo Pump on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pump supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pump produce will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Peach Rings and Mango Veiniac.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in directed amount of water. We use the Official Shaker Cup of Fitness Informant, the Ice Shaker, for the test.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pump products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.9/10)

Komodo Pump label

Alpha Lion Komodo Pump is, what the brand refers too, a “savage non stim pump inducer.” When we look at the profile of pump products we have to put the emphasis on pump inducing ingredients. Ingredients that contribute to strength/power/focus have to come secondary. With that said, there are several solid ingredients used in Komodo Pump that contribute to the overall pump.

We start with one of the most popular pump ingredients in Citrulline Malate at 8g. The one thing the brand doesn’t specify is the ration used. We traditionally see this at 2:1, but sometimes have seen it as 1:1. At either ratio, this is dosed correctly to help improve blood flow. The next ingredient that is going to contribute to pump is 3g of GlycerPump (GlycerSize) Glycerol. This is a great dosage of GlycerPump. GlycerPump essentially will turn the muscle into a sponge to absorb the fluids to help produce the pump, but also to aid in the repair process. The last ingredient used that would contribute to the pump is S7. S7 has been shown to increase nitric oxide by up to 230%. An increase in NO will help increase blood flow and the pump. S7 is dosed at 150mg, which is 3x the 50mg that FutureCeuticals did their studies on.

The secondary ingredients we get in Komodo Pump will aid in endurance and focus. We get Beta-Alanine at 3.5g. This is above the standard 3.2g. This will aid in muscular endurance. The longer you can rep out, the more blood flow you can get going. Three focus ingredients are used in Lion’s Mane at 750mg, AlphaSize Alpha-GPC at 300mg and Huperzine A at 300mcg. Lion’s Mane is a mushroom gaining popularity for the impact it has on cognitive enhancement. We typically see it at 500mg. Alpha-GPC is one of our favorite nootropic ingredients. We like to see this dosed at 600mg @ 50% which would yield 300mg. We are unsure if we are getting 300mg yielded or 300mg before the 50% yield (which would then be 150mg Alpha-GPC). Huperzine A is effective in doses as low as 50mcg. AstraGin is used at 50mg to aid in ingredient uptake and absorption.

Overall, this is a good pump product with an extra emphasis on focus. We are big fans of that here at FI. This is one of the more solid pump formulas on the market.


Effectiveness

(8.8/10)

When we dive into the effectiveness of the pump product Alpha Lion Komodo Pump, we put the emphasis on the pump, then give credit to the secondary impact the product has. Does this work? Absolutely. The Citrulline Malate, GlycerPump and S7 all work in unison to provide a solid increase in nitric oxide, blood flow and muscle retention. Collectively they will provide fuller pumps. Is it the most effective pump formula we’ve ever used? No, but it is still damn good. You can tell the difference between using the formula and going without. An increase in pump isn’t only aesthetically pleasing, it is good for muscle recovery.

The big area outside of pump you will see a positive impact is in focus improvement. We love the use of Lion’s Mane at 750mg. This is a solid dosage, and research has shown that this unique mushroom will aid in improved focus. We mentioned earlier that we love Alpha-GPC as well. You can tell when you’re using this versus when you don’t. Your mental clarity is better and your drive is improved. A product focused (pun intended) on pump and focus is our ideal jam.


Taste

Peach Pumps: (9.5/10)
Mango Veiniac: (9.2/10)

Alpha Lion redid their flavors once upon a time to improve them, and they knocked it out of the park. We got to try both Peach Pumps and Mango Veniac. These two flavors are right in our wheelhouse.

For Peach Pumps, if you’ve ever had the Peach Rings candy…it tastes really similar. It’s honestly one of the best tasting peach supplements we’ve tasted. There is a slight “tartness” to it, but it adds to the experience.

Mango Veiniac is another one that is on the money for the mango flavor. We preferred Peach Pumps slightly only because we don’t get to experience many peach flavored supplements.

If you like mango or peach you will like this. A lot.


Mixability

(8.3/10)

First off, Alpha Lion Komodo Pump will clump in container. The 3g GlycerPump has a tendency of clumping. This does not mean the product is bad at all. It is supposed to. With that said, some of the clumps, at times, have a harder time breaking apart during the mixability test. You may get small clumps within the shaken up formula, but nothing too crazy. If you do a good job with the mixing process, this won’t be an issue. Overall, you may get some particles but it isn’t enough to make you resent the mix.

We did the mixability test in the Official Shaker Cup of Fitness Informant the Ice Shaker Cup


Value

(9.0/10)

If you look at the ingredient profile of Alpha Lion Komodo Pump you feel good. It is dosed correctly. It also works really well. On top of that, you have great tasting options. This is one of the better pump formulas on the market today. It comes as a 21-serving unit and retails for $43. That is just around $2/serving. This isn’t bad at all for a product that can also double as a stand alone non-stimulant pre-workout. With the code INFORMANT you also knock off 15% making this product $36.54, averaging $1.74 per serving. This is worth the price of admission.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

21-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Alpha Lion

$43.99

Save 15% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Alpha Lion

$43.99

21-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Alpha Lion

​Alpha Lion

$43.99

Save 15% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Alpha Lion

Alpha Lion Komodo Pump

8.9

Profile

8.9/10

Effectiveness

8.8/10

Taste

9.3/10

Mixability

8.3/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Great Focus
  • Full Pumps
  • Taste
Alpha Lion Brining 3rd Flavor to Gain-O-Rade in Tropic Thunder
InnovaPharm NovaPump Neuro Review: Focus and Full Pumps

Leave a Reply