GhostPump Supplements

Ghost Pump Review

By November 23, 2018 January 17th, 2019 No Comments

Ghost Pump

8.9

Profile

9.5/10

Effectiveness

9.5/10

Taste

8.5/10

Mixability

8.0/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Value

Cons

  • N/A

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 20%!

Overview of Ghost Pump

If the supplement industry were a high school, the Ghost team would be the popular kids lunch table. You know you want to be a part of it.

Ghost Pump is in a league of its own as far as pump supplements go. While Ghost has changed the game when it comes to marketing. They don’t let that get in the way of making a fully transparent and well-dosed product. It utilizes great ingredients such as Arginine Nitrate and L-Citrulline, as well as some not so common, yet effective, ingredients such as Norvaline and Pine Bark. Ghost Pump is well-dosed, and there is almost nothing you can complain about.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Sign up for our SUPPLEMENT DEALS notifications today. Don’t miss out on the BIGGEST DEALS on FI approved supplements!

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Ghost Pump on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pump supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pump produce will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Lemon-Lime.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 12oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pump products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.5/10)

Ghost Pump LabelAt first glance, you’ll notice that the profile is transparent. You won’t find any “SUPER PUMP ENHANCEMENT MATRIX” proprietary blend on here. It’s always nice to see a transparent label!

Ghost Pump starts with 4 grams of Vegan Fermented L-Citrulline. L-Citrulline is then converted into arginine once it enters the bloodstream. A clinical dose of L-Citrulline is 3-5 grams, so you get more than enough in here.

Next up we have Arginine Nitrate (NO3-T®) at 2.5 grams. Nitrate based products are some of the most effective vasodilators on the out there, and with a 2.5 gram dosage, there is little excuse to not get a pump with this product.

Vitamin C has been added to Ghost Pump at 250 mg per serving. While there are many benefits to vitamin c, it shines here as it prevents your body from becoming used to the nitrates. Sometimes, the little things show you that a company has done their homework.

Now comes the Taurine at 2 grams. Taurine is one of the more proven ingredients out there. While there are many benefits to supplementing with taurine, cellular volumization seems to be what Ghost was going for in this formula. However, be aware that taurine can also aid in performance and blood sugar regulation.

GlycerPump comes in with at 1.5 grams. This is a trademarked form of glycerol monostearate. Glycerol monostearate is a very popular cell volumizer. You find it in many pump products these days, and for good reason, GlycerPump is supposed to be a more stable form of glycerol monostearate, which means you’ll get less clumping. Another good note, this is dosed at 1.5 grams per serving. You see products with more these days, up to 5 grams in some products, but 1.5 is enough to provide benefits. Another thing to note is that GlycerPump is 65% glycerol powder. You see some forms give you much less than that, around 10% or so.

Norvaline is next on the list. Norvaline is an arginase inhibitor. Arginase is an enzyme that breaks down arginine in the bloodstream. More arginine in the blood, the bigger and better the pumps. An effective dose of norvaline is 100-300mg. Ghost Pump gives us 300mg, so no complaints here!

Next up, we have Pine Bark extract. This is actually a very underrated ingredient. You certainly don’t see it very often in pump products. There are human studies confirming pine bark to be a vasodilator. Ghost uses an extract which has been standardized for 95% Proanthocyanidins, which is the beneficial component in pine bark. Here we get a dose of 200mg.

Last but not least, we have Astragin®. This ingredient is known to increase the uptake of aminos and glucose. Here we get 50mg, which is the recommended daily dose. No complaints here.


Effectiveness

(9.5/10)

Well, here is the most important part of this review. Does Ghost Pump deliver on its claims? Well, in short… YES. With a profile as well rounded as this, there was no way Ghost Pump was not going to deliver the goods. One thing to note is that the pumps were very consistent. There has not been one workout while using this where I haven’t had to back off of an exercise at some point during my workout because the pumps were getting too intense.

My response to NO3-T® is unmatched by any other ingredient out there, and having that paired with citrulline and GlycerPump made this product that much more enjoyable.

As far as vascularity goes, you should notice an increase there, however, that can vary depending on your body fat percentage and other factors.


Taste

Lemon Lime: (8.5/10)

Now here is where Ghost sets themselves apart from other companies. Unlike other companies who just make knock-off flavors from well established candy companies. Ghost has actually worked with candy companies to have them help with the flavoring. As of now, Pump comes in 2 flavors. Lemon-Lime and Warheads® Sour Watermelon. I decided to run with the lemon-lime, as I have personally never been a huge fan of watermelon flavored supplements.

Lemon-Lime is enjoyable, and while the GMS gives it a slight chalky texture, it is still easy to drink. I wouldn’t say it wowed me, however it was smooth and did not leave any odd aftertaste. If I had this flavor with ice on a hot sunny day, it would be pretty refreshing. I’ve heard some people say you can compare this to lemon-lime Gatorade. I agree with these people.


Mixability

(8/10)

Ghost Pump mixes quite well. While glycerol monostearate usually doesn’t mix very well, there was very little grit in my shaker cup. There is quite a bit of foaming when you use the recommended 12 oz of water, very comparable to a BCAA supplement with a higher L-Leucine content.

There is no noticeable sediment and nothing gets stuck in your throat while drinking it. Only knock on the mixability is the excess foam. If you use more water, around 20 oz, there is much less foam.


Value

(9/10)

Ghost Pump can only be found in GNC and on the Ghost website. It is listed at $36.99. There are plenty of coupon codes from various fitness personalities (Maxx Chewning and Christian Guzman come to mind), so really you are able to get this for $29.

At 20 servings, this comes out to $1.48 a serving. This is a fair price for what you are getting, and if you need an energy boost, simply add some caffeine (pills/coffee/energy drink).

Ghost Pump is priced fairly, especially when you consider the quality of ingredients and the dosages they are in.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

20-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

$36.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

$36.99

20-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

GHOST

$36.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

GHOST

$36.99

Ghost Pump

8.9

Profile

9.5/10

Effectiveness

9.5/10

Taste

8.5/10

Mixability

8.0/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Value

Cons

  • N/A
MPA Supps CelluVOL Review
Purus Labs NOXygen Liquicaps Review

Leave a Reply