Skip to main content
5% NutritionPre-Workout

5% Nutrition 5150 Review: High Energy, Great Tasting Pre-Workout

By January 15, 2021No Comments

5% Nutrition 5150

8.8

Profile

8.3/10

Effectiveness

8.5/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

9.1/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Energy
  • Taste
  • Various forms of caffeine
  • Value

Cons

  • Lacking pump ingredients
  • Lacking strength/power ingredients

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 10%

Overview of 5% Nutrition 5150

Life after Rich Piana is not that much different for 5% Nutrition. The brand continues to develop marketing concepts and product formulations around the ideas of Rich Piana. That isn't a bad thing.

5% Nutrition's 5150 is their highest stimulant pre-workout in their series and you feel it. A combination of 400mg caffeine plus other stims like Synephrine and Cocoa Alkaloids, 5150 is bound to smack you in the face. The nice thing about 5150 is you don't experience a crazy crash like you would with many high stim pre-workouts. If you're looking for a pre-workout that will kick you in the ass, 5150 is an option that is going to do just that.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed 5% Nutrition 5150 on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pre-workout will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Tropical Rage.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.3/10)

5% Nutrition 5150 label

5% Nutrition’s 5150 is a pre-workout designed for those with an emphasis on energy. There are several other ingredients that aid in focus and endurance, but you will mostly find a formulation designed around increasing your energy levels in the gym. 5150 is a combination of an open label and a stimulant blend.

We start with 4g of L-Citrulline, a precursor to Arginine in your body which improve nitric oxide levels and thus blood flow. You want to see this between 3-5g. We get 3g of Beta-Alanine. Beta-Alanine is more than just the “tingles” ingredient. It can actually prolong muscular endurance by buffering lactic acid. You want to see this above 3g with the clinical dosage at 3.2g. L-Taurine, known for its electrolyte regulation feature, is dosed at a solid 2g.

There are several ingredients used that aid in focus. We start with 750mg N-Acetyl-L-Tyrosine or NALT. This is a good dosage of NALT that can improve focus in the gym. 5150 also contains 200mg Alpha-GPC at 50%. We are unsure if the yield is 200mg or 100mg of active A-GPC. We would like to see a minimum of 300mg, but if this is 200mg you will reap a benefit from it. Choline Bitartrate is used at 500mg. This aids in focus. We typically want to see this at 1g, but if it is used with 200mg of Alpha-GPC you may get a good focus impact.

Next we get into the stimulants. Cocoa Alkaloid Extract aka Cocobuterol is used at 80mg. We’ve seen this ingredient used more often in combination with caffeine to give you more energy. Cocobuterol, which is cocoa extract, is a natural source of Theobromine. We can see this as high as 100mg. Lastly, before the stim blend, we get 45mg of Synephrine HCl. This is a synthetic form of Synephrine which can increase fat loss and energy levels. We see this around the 50mg often.

The sitm blend is 513mg of several ingredients. We know we get a total of 400mg of Caffeine from Caffeine Anhydrous, Di-Caffeine Malate and Green Tea. We also get Theobromine, which you can read above what that does. Yerba Mate Exrtact can increase energy levels as it contains caffeine. Guarana Seed Extract is also used which is seen in a lot of energy drinks. Guarana is a climbing plant native to the Amazon whose seeds contain approximately four times the amount of caffeine found in coffee beans. However a lot of science is lacking. Rauvolfia Canescens aka Alpha-Yohimbine is used which is the strongest form of Yohimbine that may not sit well with many, so proceed with caution. Green Coffee Bean is included as well as Gotu Kola Extract, most commonly known as a cognitive enhancing supplement.

Overall as you can see there is a lot of stim components in this formula. Energy-wise it is loaded. Focus-wise it is better than some. Regarding pump, endurance, strength and power output ingredients the formula is begging for more, but they are not promoting a well-rounded pre, but a stim crazy pre. On that note this formula is solid as it gets for stims. If that is what you’re looking for then this is right up your alley.


Effectiveness

(8.5/10)

We need to look at this pre-workout for what it is: energy. This is what 5% Nutrition is promoting the pre-workout as. We can tell you from our experience this is no joke. The energy is big and it is longstanding. We didn’t get a crazy crash from it either. You do get wired up, but not jittery (unless you have an issue with Alpha-Yohimbine then you might). Honestly this is some of the best energy we’ve gotten from a supplement that doesn’t use DMHA.

Focus was good, honestly. Even though there is not any over-the-top ingredients here, the 750mg NALT with the Alpha-GPC, Choline and the little bit of Gotu Kola, combined with the stims, you are pretty dialed in. We had some of our better workouts focus-wise with 5150.

Regarding pump, it is essentially non-existent. The Citrulline helps, but you should use a pump supplement with this if you want to get fuller pumps. Stims counteract blood flow as they are restrictive so it is a bit of give and take. If you want to get high stim, you may sacrifice the pump.

Our endurance, strength and power output run on stims here. You don’t get any unique ingredients like PeakO2 or elevATP to aid in this, you are using the stims to push through. This works for most and it really isn’t a terrible thing. We had long workouts living off the energy.

Overall, this is an effective pre-workout that will get you going. We are not going to recommend a 400mg Caffeine product daily, but if you want that kick in the ass you’re damn sure going to get it.


Taste

Tropical Rage: (9.0/10)

This is the type of flavor I like. I love mango/orange/tropical flavors. 5% Nutrition 5150 Tropical Rage is solid. It is not overly one “fruit” flavor but it is so different than anything I have had that it was really enjoyable. We also had the Blue Ice but did not try it.


Mixability

(9.1/10)

The serving size is 13.1g. This is lower than some of the pre-workouts on the market but it bodes well for mixability. Watch the video above to see a demonstration. You will see minimal foam and particles in the liquid. The color changes with the powder but that doesn’t impact the mixability at all. Overall, a great mixing pre-workout.


Value

(9.0/10)

You cannot complain about a pre-workout with 30-servings for $39. This is just over a $1 a serving when today’s going rate is almost $2/serving. With code INFORMANT you save an additional 10%. This brings the price point to just over $35, not a bad deal if you are looking for a pre-workout that is designed to focus on energy. 

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

5% Nutrition

$38.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

5% Nutrition

$38.99

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

5% Nutrition

5% Nutrition

$38.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

5% Nutrition

5% Nutrition 5150

8.8

Profile

8.3/10

Effectiveness

8.5/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

9.1/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Energy
  • Taste
  • Various forms of caffeine
  • Value

Cons

  • Lacking pump ingredients
  • Lacking strength/power ingredients
5% Nutrition: Life After Rich
5% Nutrition Shake Time Review: No Whey It Tastes This Good
FIt Butters

Leave a Reply