Skip to main content
5% NutritionProtein Powder

5% Nutrition Shake Time Review: No Whey It Tastes This Good

By January 15, 2021January 28th, 2021No Comments

5% Nutrition Shake Time

8.8

Profile

8.8/10

Effectiveness

8.8/10

Taste

8.5/10

Mixability

9.5/10

Value

8.3/10

Pros

  • Mixability
  • Taste

Cons

  • Not as bioavailable as whey

SAVE NOW: Use code INFORMANT to save 10%

Overview of 5% Nutrition Shake Time

5% Nutrition, specifically Rich Piana, has always believed in whole food nutrition, and supplements are supposed to supplement that. Hell, you can do a Google search and see Rich preach about this. This is why you see Real Carbs + Protein and now Shake Time.

Shake Time is a whey alternative to protein that doesn't take you to the plant-based side of the world. Shake Time is a great tasting protein powder featuring HydroBEEF, chicken and egg protein. While other "whole foods" based powders on the market may not have the amino acid profile we'd like to see (basically collagen) having HydroBEEF in a formula alleviates those concerns for us. If you cannot stomach whey, Shake Time would be a great option for your protein source.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed 5% Nutrition Shake Time protein powder on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at quality of protein used, amount and other ingredients involved in the making of this protein powder.

We then look at effectiveness. A high quality protein will be effective. This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out Chocolate.

Mixability refers to how well the protein powder mixes in 12oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of proteins available on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.8/10)

5% Nutrition shake Time label

We will start by saying that outside of food, our first preference for your protein source is a whey protein. However, we know there are a lot of people that cannot have whey due to digestive issues or an intolerance. With that said they are left with two options, plant-based or a non-whey alternative. Shake Time from 5% Nutrition is a non-dairy alternative that is not plant-based.

Shake Time is a protein powder that is derived from HydroBEEF, chicken protein and whole egg. A big question mark, especially with beef protein, is the amino acid profile. Is it just connective tissue, ie. collagen? If so, we know that collagen has benefits, but none directed towards muscle growth and repair. With that said, we are a confident in HydroBEEF as it comes from one of the most well-respected companies in Prinova. HydroBEEF is a beef protein isolate for protein powders made from Grass-fed EU origin cows. As an allergen-free, whole food protein source, HydroBEEF is ideal as a stand-alone protein source, or as a primary protein driver in meal replacements.

If you need a whey alternative, we would rather see HydroBEEF used than a non-branded form. We also get the chicken protein and whole egg – which we like the use of whole egg a lot.

Overall the bioavailability will not be as high as a whey protein, but you will still get a powder that provides a complete protein source.

Each serving you get:

Fat: 2.5g (also has MCTs)
Carbs: 2g
Protein: 26g

If you have issues with lactose or whey in general, but not ready to go vegan, Shake Time should be a product you look at as it is one of the better “whole foods” shakes on the market today.


Effectiveness

(9.0/10)

It is really hard to rate the effectiveness of a protein powder, as it is simply a convenient source of protein. Instead of eating a chicken breast multiple times a day, you can simply substitute one of them with a protein shake. 

One thing you can rate a protein powder by is by how it sits in your stomach.SuperHuman Protein is a Whey Isolate protein, which means that it is very easy to digest and is going to be easy on the stomach for the vast majority of people. We noticed no digestive issues, no gas or bloat, it is simply a great protein.


Taste

Chocolate: (8.5/10)

You’d think with ingredients like beef and chicken that the taste may not be good. That is the wrong assumption. Listen, beef based proteins have come a long way from when Carnivore first launched them back in the day. Shake Time’s chocolate flavor tastes like chocolate milk. There’s nothing “blow your socks” off with it, but it is a good tasting chocolate protein drink.


Mixability

(9.5/10)

This is where we were most pleasantly surprised. We know isolates mix extremely well. Concentrates do OK. But having an animal based protein like Shake Time we fully expected it to clump up. If you watch our mixability video above you will see that this mixes extremely smooth without any clumping at all. We were very surprised but very happy with it.


Value

(8.3/10)

The only reason value is lower than maybe you’d normally see is that the pricing on this is the same as a whey protein isolate. A WPI has a biological value of 104 while Shake Time doesn’t. Not that it is a bad thing, Shake Time was designed for those who wanted whole foods sources in their protein shake, and maybe they have issues with lactose or dairy but don’t want to go vegan. This is a solid option on the market when it comes to whole foods. In fact, we believe this to be the best whole foods option available as of this review. Using code INFORMANT can save you 10% as well making this a better value.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

25-Servings

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

5% Nutrition

$44.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

5% Nutrition

$44.99

250Servings

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

5% Nutrition

5% Nutrition
$44.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Alpha Lion

5% Nutrition Shake Time

8.8

Profile

8.8/10

Effectiveness

8.8/10

Taste

8.5/10

Mixability

9.5/10

Value

8.3/10

Pros

  • Mixability
  • Taste

Cons

  • Not as bioavailable as whey
5% Nutrition 5150 Review: High Energy, Great Tasting Pre-Workout
Alpha Lion SuperHuman Protein Review: A Great Tasting Protein Meant To Turn You Into A SuperHuman

Leave a Reply