Skip to main content
Arms Race NutritionPre-Workout

Arms Race Nutrition Harness Review: Harness the Power

Arms Race Nutrition Harness

8.8

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

8.7/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

8.5/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Taste
  • Effective
  • Value

Overview of Arms Race Nutrition Harness

Arms Race Nutrition is a newer brand in this space that released its first products in 2019. The brand stands behind fitness influencer Julian Smith, and the guys from Core Nutritionals Doug Miller and Kenton Engel. The brand stands behind the idea of “Old School Dedication” coupled with “Modern Science”.

Harness by Arms Race Nutrition contains a very solid profile that allows the product to really stand behind its name. This product contains a strong dose of energy that is “harnessed” very well by the focus aspect. Harness contains several patented ingredients and each of them are dosed very well. If you are looking for a well-balanced product that would be good for daily use, this one would be a solid choice.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Arms Race Harness on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pre-workout will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Lemon Rush

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. We use the Official Shaker Cup of Fitness Informant, the Ice Shaker.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.0/10)

arms race harness profile

Harness from Arms Race Nutrition is a high stim preworkout that packs a pretty heavy punch. It includes a well-rounded profile that incorporates all facets of a good pre, including energy, focus, pump and endurance ingredients. We will be using the 2-scoop option for the purpose of this review.

We start off with 5,000mg of L-Citrulline. This ingredient is a pump inducer, that works as a vasodilator. Citrulline increases Arginine levels in the body, which causes blood vessels your vessels to dilate therefore increasing blood flow. We like to see 3-5g of L-citrulline, and we are on the top end of that here. Beta-Alanine is used at the typical 3,200mg dose. This ingredient is used to increase workout endurance. This is a good dose we are getting here

L-Tyrosine is an amino acid that aids in mental focus. We often times see this product used in nootropic supplements and even preworkouts for this particular reason. We like to see at least 500mg in supplements, and we are getting a full 1g here. Another mental focus ingredient used in this formula is Citicoline. Studies have shown its ability to increase mental attentiveness and focus. Many studies show this ingredient effective at doses of at least 500mg, but we commonly see preworkouts dosed between 200-250mg. We are getting 250mg here.

Caffeine Anhydrous is used at 350mg, which is a solid dose for a high stim pre. This will definitely give you some quick energy and fuel you enough to get through a tough workout. With the Caffeine Anhydrous dose being so high, it could cause a crash soon after it has hit peak blood levels in your body. For this reason, Arms Race Nutrition has included ZumXR™ which is a timed-released Caffeine. This will help prevent the post workout crash. We are getting an additional 75mg of caffeine here for a total of 425mg.

We see a very unique patented ingredient with ViNitrox™. This is an ingredient comprised of a unique blend of apple and grape extracts. This ingredient is used to increase blood flow, reduce fatigue and improve endurance. One study using 500mg of ViNitrox™, shows a 13% increase in time until their personal fatigue barrier was met. This means that the more volume we can endure, the better pump we can achieve.

ElevATP™ is another branded ingredient we get with this product. It is a blend of ancient peat and apple polyphenols that has been clinically shown to increased endogenous levels of ATP. Increasing ATP levels leads to an increase in strength, power and overall performance. The recommended dosage is 150mg, which is exactly what we are getting here. Lastly, we are getting 200mcg of Huperzine A. This is an ingredient that can lead to an improvement in metal focus. We are getting a strong dose of Huperzine A here with Harness by Arms Race Nutrition.  


Effectiveness

(8.7/10)

Harness by Arms Race Nutrition has a very well-rounded formula. The guys at Arms Race did a great job of keeping a good balance between each aspect of this pre. We are getting a steep amount of Caffeine, along with several ingredients that improve mental focus and also pump/endurance.

The energy is pretty solid. While this profile keeps it pretty clean and only includes one true stimulant, it packs a punch. 350mg of Caffeine Anhydrous should be more than enough for the average gym-goer to push through a mentally and physically demanding workout. The time-released caffeine is very useful to keep some fuel for the back-end of the workout and also to help prevent the post workout crash.

The focus aspect was strong as well. We are getting 3 solid ingredients here that build the focus aspect, all of which are dosed generously. With the high dose of caffeine, this blend of focus ingredients will go a very long way in improving mental clarity.

The pump aspect was also pretty solid. The high dose caffeine can definitely cause some vasoconstriction, which is not what we want. We have some good ingredients in this formula that can work against the stims to promote blood flow. Ultimately, this product could always be stacked with a pump product to make for great blood flow. However, as a standalone product it can still get the job done.

The endurance component was great. We are getting some very innovative ingredients here with ViNitrox™ and ElevATP™ that both work to make this a strong aspect of this preworkout. We are also getting a strong dose of Beta-Alanine that just tops it off.

Overall, this product is dosed very nicely, and includes some productive and innovative ingredients. It isn’t a stim-overloaded profile, so if you want a good balanced pre then this one might be for you.


Taste

Lemon Rush: (9.0/10)

Let me start off by saying that this tastes more like actual lemonade than probably any supplement I have ever tried. It reminds me of Minute Maid lemonade, which is a very impressive flavor to replicate. Super refreshing and delicious. You will find that it is not overwhelmingly sweet like many other lemonade flavored supplements. Arms Race really nailed this flavor, major props to them.


Mixability

(8.5/10)

We go with the 2-scoop option for this preworkout, so it does have a slight impact on the mixability component. We come in at 14.4 total grams of ingredient for the 2-scoop option. When it is mixed in the recommended 12 oz of water, it mixes well. There is very little amount of undissolved solute and also some foam but the foam does not affect mixability. However, there is nothing that is detectable as you drink the preworkout. Harness is good to go on the mixability side of things.

We used the Official Shaker Cup of Fitness Informant, The Ice Shaker.

Check out the video above for a full mixability test.


Value

(9.0/10)

When looking at the value of this product, we must not only consider the price per serving but also the quality of the ingredients included in the product. Harness retails for $45 per unit, so when using the 2-scoop option we come in at just over $2 per serving. This product uses several high quality, patented ingredients that help validate this price tag. Many people will be able to get away with the 1 -scoop option, which is why Arms Race includes it on the ingredient label. When using the 1-scoop option, we come in a just over $1 per serving which is a great price for a preworkout of this caliber.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

PRICE COMPARISON:

Arms Race Nutrition Logo

$44.99

Arms Race Nutrition Harness

8.8

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

8.7/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

8.5/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Taste
  • Effective
  • Value
Granite Supplements Pre-Mium Review: A Pre We Expect From John Meadows
Primeval Labs Mega Pre Red Review: Prime Yourself for a Mega Workout

Leave a Reply