Skip to main content
Pre-WorkoutPrimeval Labs

Primeval Labs Mega Pre Red Review: Prime Yourself for a Mega Workout

Primeval Labs Mega Pre Red

8.6

Profile

8.8/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

8.0/10

Mixability

8.3/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Energy
  • Effective
  • Value
  • Taste

Overview of Primeval Labs Mega Pre Red

Primeval Labs Mega Pre Red is a solid brand, and Mega Pre Red is a solid product. There is very little to complain about when it comes to the formula, and we love how it is straight forward. Every ingredient is dosed well, the flavor is good, and it just provides a solid boost in energy, endurance, and focus. 

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Primeval Labs Mega Pre Red on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pre-workout will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Strawberry Pineapple

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. We use the Official Shaker Cup of Fitness Informant, the Ice Shaker.

FIt Butters

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.8/10)

primeval labs mega pre redPrimeval Labs Mega Pre Red edition is part of the stimulant “Mega Pre” product lineup. It serves as the half-brother to the white, stim-free edition of Mega Pre, as does their “Black”
edition. The Red and Black editions contain similar profiles, however Black is slightly more powerful in the energy/stimulant category. Let’s take a look into this profile and see what we
are working with.

We start off with 6000mg of pure L-Citrulline. This ingredient is used to increase Arginine levels in the body, which in turn creates higher levels of Nitric Oxide and vasodilation. This is exactly what we want to achieve a good pump and improve blood flow. This is a great dose of L-Citrulline. Beta-Alanine is dosed at 3200mg, right on the money. We like to see this ingredient for its ability to decrease muscular fatigue and prolong exercise endurance.

Choline Bitartrate is typically used as a nootropic supplement, specifically for an increase in mental focus. We are getting 2000mg of this ingredient, which is a great dose. Primeval Labs
gives us another source of Choline in Alpha-GPC. However, between the two, Alpha-GPC has been shown to be the more effective source. We are getting 400mg of 50% Alpha-GPC, yielding 200mg of ingredient. We like to see this ingredient yielding at least 300mg of ingredient.

Next is L-Taurine at 2000mg, which is responsible for increasing cellular hydration and promoting blood flow. This is a good dose of Taurine. We get a pretty hefty dose of Caffeine
Anhydrous at 350mg. This is more than enough to put the average gym rat’s energy levels through the roof. Primeval has included another ingredient to help combat the post-workout crash that will accompany such high levels of Caffeine Anhydrous. Infinergy, aka Dicaffeine Malate, is included at 68mg. This ingredient is 74% caffeine by weight, meaning we are getting about 50mg of caffeine. Infinergy has a much longer half-life than Caffeine Anhydrous, which should help ward off a post-workout crash.

Finally, we have Toothed Clubmoss at 100mcg, which is standardized for 1% Huperzine A. This is an ingredient you typically find in preworkout supplements and also nootropic supplements for its ability to increase focus and possibly even memory. We like seeing this ingredient dosed between 50 to 200mcg, but we are only getting 1mcg of Huperzine A here.


Effectiveness

(9.0/10)

The energy component of Mega Pre Red is pretty solid for a formula that relies solely on
Caffeine. You are getting a few ingredients that facilitate and increase in focus, which are very
beneficial. The dose you are getting is more than enough, and should provide for a great boost
in energy. I also noticed a decent increase in mood as well. There is a slight post-workout crash,
but it is nothing that shouldn’t be expected from a high stim pre.

The pump of this product is not bad. The Citrulline helps facilitate that pump, but there could
be a few more ingredients included that would make this category much stronger. It would be a
wise idea to stack something like a nitrate-based pump product alongside Mega Pre Red.
The endurance and fatigue aspects are solid. We are getting efficacious dosages of several key
ingredients that help improve this category.

Overall, between the energy, focus and pump categories, Mega Pre Red is a solid pre workout
that gave me some great workouts during its trial run.


Taste

Strawberry Pineapple: (8.0/10)

This is a pretty unique flavor that we don’t see very often for preworkouts. It was a refreshing flavor and you can definitely taste the strawberry. I only tasted a hint of pineapple, which was fine because the blend made for a pretty good flavor.

It can be a little sweet tasting when mixed with the recommended amount of 6-8oz of water. This is a solid flavor, so give it a shot if you are in the market for Mega Pre Red.


Mixability

(8.0/10)

Mega Pre Red mixes great. There are minuscule amounts of residue that attach to the sides of the shaker, and that settle in the bottom but they are almost undetectable as you drink. Certain ingredients in this formula make it difficult to have everything dissolve completely. Primeval Labs did a pretty good job here.

We used the Official Shaker Cup of Fitness Informant, The Ice Shaker.

Check out the video above for a full mixability test.


Value

(9.0/10)

Mega Pre Red goes for $40 per tub. If you use the 2-scoop serving size, this gives you 20 servings and an average of $2 per serving. You can often times catch this product on sale, which increases the value even further. You are getting a pretty solid formula here, with almost everything being generously dosed.

If you are in the market for a high-stim pre, this one is definitely worth a shot. Online retailers such as A1 supplements offer prices and deals that make this preworkout very tempting to stock up on!.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

PRICE COMPARISON:

Amazon Logo

See Price on Amazon

PRICE COMPARISON:

Amazon Logo

Amazon

See Price on Amazon

Primeval Labs Mega Pre Red

8.6

Profile

8.8/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

8.0/10

Mixability

8.3/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Energy
  • Effective
  • Value
  • Taste
Arms Race Nutrition Harness Review: Harness the Power
Phantom Nutrition Conquer Review: Conquer your Workouts

Leave a Reply