BlackMarketLabsPre-Workout

BlackMarketLabs Tone Review: Targets Fat, Lacks Performance

BlackMarketLabs Tone

7.3

Profile

6.5/10

Effectiveness

6.3/10

Taste

8.5/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

6.3/10

Pros

  • Taste
  • Mixability
  • Fat Oxidation

Cons

  • Proprietary Blend
  • Lacks Pre-Workout Performance
  • Price

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 5%!

Overview of BlackMarketLabs Tone

BlackMarketLabs is known for their goal specific pre-workout supplements. They make them intuitive for individuals to select what they want in their pre-workout. They don't necessarily make an all inclusive pre-workout, which makes them different than most on the market.

BlackMarketLabs Tone is a fat oxidation specific pre-workout, and while we get that, we do lack in other areas of performance to be considering a true pre-workout. Many proprietary blends make up BlackMarketLabs Tone making it difficult to determine what kind of dosages we are getting of key ingredients, so it is hard with say with confidence that this product works.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed BlackMarketLabs Tone on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pre-workout will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Raspberry Lemonade.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(6.5/10)

BlackMarketLabs Tone Label

This pre-workout from Blackmarket Labs is very unique because of the fact that it is has been formulated to specifically appeal to the female athlete. Blackmarket Labs has included 3 blends in their formula: Energy and Focus Blend, Weight loss/Antioxidant Blend, and a Beauty/Fem Blend. They have chosen to include 4 patented ingredients in a supplement profile that contains a total of 23 active ingredients!

Blackmarket Labs has chosen to use proprietary blends in many of their products on the market today. We only know the exact dosages of a couple of ingredients, so we will have to use some reasoning and guessing to figure out some of the others. Now let’s get to work on breaking down these blends.

We start in the Energy and Focus Blend with a total of 2,761mg of ingredient. Beta-Alanine is listed first on this label. We do not know the dosage, but we know we are supposed to be getting at least 2g. It is possible that we are getting 2g here, but we can’t be positive. Beta-Alanine is infamous for the tingling sensation (paresthesia) you get on your way to the gym, but also has been shown to increase muscular endurance. The next ingredient is Theobromine, which is a vasodilator that should help add a pump aspect to this pre-workout. We like to see Theobromine dosed at 100mg at a minimum, we are definitely getting that here since it is listed before Caffeine. The first known dosage is from Caffeine Anhydrous, which is the energy powerhouse of this product. This could be quite a high dosage here for a female at 300mg, but effective nevertheless.

Following Caffeine (300mg), we have L-Theanine which is an ingredient that has a synergistic effect with caffeine to help prevent a jittery feeling as well as warding off stimulant crashes. We like to see this dosed around 100mg, which is probably close to the dosage we are getting here. Next is Bitter Orange Extract, which is known as Synephrine and has properties similar to that of Ephedrine. Research shows that this ingredient has much more of a benefit on fat oxidation than energy and focus, which makes us think it may need to be moved to the Weight Loss Blend and replaced by another ingredient that could give a better focus aspect to this pre-workout. We are probably getting a dosage around 100mg. Vitamin B12 is included in this blend as well, but is not a necessary component unless you are deficient.

Now we will take a look at the Weight Loss and Antioxidant Blend with a total of 3,800mg of ingredients. The first ingredient is CLA, which is a very well-known fat oxidizer. Studies have not shown too strong of evidence, but we know that we want at least 1g if we are going to receive any benefits. It is likely that we are getting that here. The next ingredient is L-Carnitine Tartrate which has been shown to have fat reducing effects when used at a minimum of 1g. It is possible we are getting a clinical dosage here.

Citrulline Malate is included in this blend, but not in the amount we would like to see. It is likely that we are only getting around 1g of ingredient here. The clinical dosage of Citrulline Malate when used pre-workout is 6g, which means this ingredient is under dosed. You will not receive the vasodilation benefits with this dose. The next ingredient is Choline Bitartrate which is thought to have an increase on mental energy and focus, as well as anaerobic capacity. We like to see this ingredient at minimum of 500mg, and it is not likely that we are getting that here. Eleutherococcus Senticosus has been shown to have a positive effect on fat oxidation during strenuous exercise. This has been demonstrated at doses around 300mg, and it is not likely Blackmarket Labs is giving us that dose here. Raspberry Ketones are used, but there is not too strong of evidence in their ability to increase fat loss. We typically feel that this is not a necessary component of a fat loss formula.

Green Coffee Bean is included in this formula for its ability to decrease fat mass and for its positive effects on general health. It has been shown to reduce blood pressure and fat mass at dosages around 500mg, much higher than what we are getting here. Green Tea extract has been shown to have a slight positive effect on fat oxidation, however the small dose in this formula will only provide a very minimal effect if any at all. Three berry extracts have been included as well: Pomegranate, Acai and Blueberry. All of these extracts are thought to have positive effects on several aspects of health. Lastly, Chromium Picolinate has been included for its thoughts on increasing fat oxidation. However, studies do not complement one another in providing reliable evidence.

The final blend is the Beauty and Fem Blend containing 309mg of ingredient. This blend contains 5 different ingredients that should have a positive impact on beauty health: Biotin, BioPerine, Vitamin B6, Vitamin B1, and Folic Acid. This blend is an “accessory” to this pre-workout. We believe that Blackmarket Labs has included this blend to make this product more marketable towards females, and to give them the extra edge over their competitors in that particular market space.

While this profile does contain many ingredients, too few of them are dosed properly per what we can figure out in the proprietary blend. This formula seems to be based around fat loss and not so much around workout performance, which is the goal specific BlackMarketLabs goes for. Some females may be attracted to the Beauty and Fem blend found in this product, and in that case this product might be a viable option to consider.

Overall, we’d like to see BML get rid of the massive prop blends because it is hard to determine proper dosages based on the current layout.


Effectiveness

(6.3/10)

Tone by Blackmarket Labs is going to follow suit here in its effectiveness. Since it is lacking in the ingredient profile, it also lacks here in the effectiveness category as an efficient preworkout supplement. The profile is largely built around fat burning and antioxidant ingredients.

Energy was pretty decent; however, this is the only category I was okay with. With 300mg of caffeine, most people will have plenty of energy. I had an increase in energy for sure, however it just was not a very focused flow of energy. I would almost always feel a severe crash about 2 hours after I drank this preworkout.

The Focus aspect was lacking. There should be at least 1 focus ingredient included since this blend is titled “Energy and Focus Blend”. Bitter Orange Extract doesn’t really have a great focus aspect, so the addition of an ingredient such as Eria Jarensis, Dynamine or Alpha GPC would be great.

The pump aspect was poor as well. We are getting 2 pump ingredients: Theobromine and Citrulline Malate, with Citrulline being severely under dosed. With the overall goal of this preworkout being structured towards fat loss and energy, it is still a preworkout and not a fat burner. To be considered a good preworkout, I believe it needs to have a full spectrum of properly dosed ingredients. If we had 6g of Citrulline Malate here, I feel it would be sufficient given the goals of this pre.

The Strength/Power/Endurance aspect was nothing to write home about. The primary ingredient fueling this category was Carnosynâ (beta-alanine), and we can’t even tell if we are getting the proper dose here. Choline Bitartrate does add some endurance benefits, but we are almost certain that we are not getting the clinical dosage (500mg) of that dosage either.

Overall this is pre-workout is lacking in almost all categories. It does provide some fat-burning advantages if that is your goal. But for this to be marketed as a full pre-workout, we think it should be dosed as such, including a fuller spectrum of ingredients.


Taste

Raspberry Lemonade: (8.5/10)

If you are worried about the taste of your pre-workout, this one will not let you down. Blackmarket Labs always has great tasting products, at least from all the flavors I have tried. It definitely tastes exactly like it is supposed to, with a lot of raspberry and a little less lemonade. Can be a little sweet tasting, but refreshing for sure.


Mixability

(9.0/10)

This pre mixes well, as do many Blackmarket Lab products. It drinks very smooth and there is absolutely no gritty texture that is detectable as your drinking. Very solid.

See the video above for a full mixability test.


Value

(6.3/10)

This pre-workout is priced at $50. This is definitely pricey for the ingredient profile we are getting here. While it does contain several antioxidants and vitamins, it is lacking some of the most important aspects of a fully dosed pre-workout. I would like to see this price lower to make it a more competitive option for someone who is looking for this type of supplement.

Overall, you want to look at what you really want from a pre-workout. I want the focus, energy and pump ingredients to go along with fat burning matrix since this product is advertised as a 2 in 1 pre-workout supplement. I would also like to know the amount of each ingredient I am receiving, especially if many of them are not clinically dosed. Even so, this product will have its fitting place in the right person’s supplement arsenal.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Suppz Logo

$49.99

Save 5% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Suppz Logo

$49.99

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Suppz Logo

Suppz

$49.99

Save 5% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Suppz Logo

Suppz

$49.99

BlackMarketLabs Tone

7.3

Profile

6.5/10

Effectiveness

6.3/10

Taste

8.5/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

6.3/10

Pros

  • Taste
  • Mixability
  • Fat Oxidation

Cons

  • Proprietary Blend
  • Lacks Pre-Workout Performance
  • Price
Performax Labs HyperMax Extreme Rocket Bomb Flavor Review: Nailed The American Classic!
BlackMarketLabs & American Metabolix New Pre-Workout Coming In June [FULL Label Release]

Leave a Reply