Skip to main content
GlaxonPre-Workout

Glaxon Specimen Review: Become A Specimen Yourself

Glaxon Specimen

8.7

Profile

8.8/10

Effectiveness

8.9/10

Taste

8.0/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Energy
  • Taste
  • Value

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 20%

Overview of Glaxon Specimen

Glaxon Specimen seems to be a great choice for any workout. It will deliver you just the right amount of energy for those hard leg days, as well as just enough pumps to make those arm days fun. It simply does well in every category, and it is a perfect candidate for a "go-to" pre-workout.

Not only does it work well, but the flavors are good, even the Alien Pop which seems to be more of a "once in a while"n flavor. The mixability is good, and the value is more than fair. Specimen is certainly a pre-workout that you should have in your stack as it is always a good option, and it stack very well with some pump products (such as Plasm Caps).

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Glaxon Specimen on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pre-workout will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Alien Pop.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-16oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.8/10)

specimenv2The first ingredient in Specimen is Beta-Alanine, which is probably the most common ingredient in pre-workouts next to Citrulline. It may help with endurance, and next to Creatine, has a wealth of studies supporting it. At 3.2 grams, you are getting a clinical dose. One thing we have to mention is that it is a saturation ingredient, so you should still supplement with Beta-Alanine on your off days. So having a tub of pure Beta-Alanine sitting around is a good idea. Following this you get Betaine Nitrate (as NO3-T), which is going to hit you hard when it comes to pumps. Nitrates are some of the most effective ingredients for boosting pumps, and you are getting a solid dose here at 2 grams. Betaine Nitrate also has a higher yield of Nitrates than some other bonded Nitrates out there, so it is nice to see.

Following this comes Betaine Anhydrous, which is a common ingredient in pre-workouts. Betaine may be beneficial for power output, and has some solid research behind it. You get 1250mg in here, which isn’t bad, however you also get some Betaine from the aforementioned Betaine Nitrates, so you’re getting a solid dose. Next up comes Astrolyte, which is a trademarked electrolyte blend from Glaxon. Electrolytes are important for hydration, and are always a welcome addition. Electrolytes can help with pumps, prevent cramping, improve performance, etc.. We like the addition.

Tyrosine is up next and it is one of our favorite ingredients here on FI. Tyrosine is a precursor to Dopamine, as well as other catecholamines in the brain. It is commonly found in Nootropics and may help with focus under stressful situations. At 1 gram, you are getting a solid dose. Next up we have Taurine, which is common in many pre-workouts. It may help with blood flow and hydration, and many use it to prevent cramping. At 1 gram, you are getting a solid dose.

Yerba Santa Extract is up next, and it is a trademarked version called SantaEnergy Nu). It is a source of bioflavonoids, and caffeine-like effects on the body, in addition to antioxidant properties. Of course now we come to Caffeine Anhydrous, which is by far the most common ingredient in pre-workouts. We all know and love Caffeine, so we’ll just mention it. You get 300mg in Specimen, which is an average dose in pre-workouts these days. Caffeine is a very personal ingredient, so how well 300mg works will depend on your tolerance.

Following this comes Cholinace, another trademarked ingredient. This is a blend of 3 separate forms of Choline. Choline converts to Acetylcholine in the brain, which is a neurotransmitter. It is usually the first ingredient we recommend here for people looking to get some assistance with focus. You get 300mg in Specimen. 

Bitter Orange Extract is next and it is nice to see in here. This is a source of Synephrine, which is commonly used in fat burners. It acts as a very mild beta-agonist, and when combined with Caffeine can help with energy. You get 170mg at a 30% standardization in Specimen, which is a fine dose. Finally we have Theanine, which is used as an anxiolytic. At 100mg, it is dosed well. We have to mention that this is a hit or miss ingredient with many. You either like it in your pre-workout or you don’t because it may make you feel tired. 


Effectiveness

(8.9/10)

Specimen is simply a solid choice when it comes to pre-workouts. It is simply well-rounded and is great for any day. Push, Pull, Legs, Arms, Upper, Lower… it always seems like a solid option. With that said, you get everything you really want out of a pre. Nice pumps with the Betaine Nitrate, a boost in endurance and power output from the Betaine and Beta-Alanine… and don’t forget the energy! 

The energy from Specimen is stronger than you’d think, especially when you consider it has Theanine. It simply hits, and it hits just hard enough to where you’re very motivated during your workouts, however isn’t overpowering. Really it’s just a very well done pre-workout that provides a solid experience.

We have to mention that this delivers a strong pump and we highly suggest stacking it with Plasm Caps. The combo is awesome, however even on its own the pumps you get from a simple dose of Betaine Nitrate is amazing. No Citrulline needed in this one.


Taste

Alien Pop: (8.0/10)

So Glaxon actually has some awesome flavors, however we had the Alien Pop here on FI and we have to admit it wasn’t our favorite. Tastes similar to a Whiskey Sour flavor to us, and while once in a while it can be fun to drink, the other flavors are better for people who are going to be using this often.

With that said, the other flavors are amazing, so once we get those we will update this.


Mixability

(9.0/10)

Specimen mixes very well, and we don’t have much more to say. There is some sediment that floats around and there is quite a bit of foam, however neither really ruin the experience. Overall, nothing much to complain about.


Value

(9.0/10)

You can get Specimen for $44.99 directly from the Glaxon website. If you use coupon code INFORMANT you get 20% off, which puts the cost per serving at $1.71. This is a solid deal, especially when you consider that many other comparable pre-workouts are typically at around the $2 mark.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

21-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

$44.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

$44.99

21-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Glaxon

$44.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Glaxon Specimen

8.7

Profile

8.8/10

Effectiveness

8.9/10

Taste

8.0/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Energy
  • Taste
  • Value
Glaxon SpecimenYoYo Review: High Stimulant, Hard Hitting Pre-Workout
Glaxon Serenity V2: Sweet Sweet Serenity

Leave a Reply