Skip to main content
GlaxonPre-Workout

Glaxon SpecimenYoYo Review: High Stimulant, Hard Hitting Pre-Workout

Glaxon Specimen YoYo

8.8

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.2/10

Taste

8.0/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Energy
  • Taste
  • Value

Cons

  • Yohimbine Side Effects

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 20%

Overview of Glaxon Specimen

Glaxon has definitely proven to be a hard hitting, successful and enjoyable brand ever since their beginning in 2019. We've had the pleasure of reviewing several of the products currently in Glaxon's arsenal and now thankfully we were able to get our hands on a tub of Specimen V2 Yo-Yo. 

Not only does Glaxon separate themselves from the competition with their progressive marketing that emits a type of awesomeness that is hard to compete but also they set themselves ahead of the curve with their complete formulas, and with Specimen V2 Yo-Yo we expect nothing less than this.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Glaxon Specimen YoYo on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pre-workout will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Cinco De Mango.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-16oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.0/10)

We start off Specimen’s loaded formula with Beta Alanine dosed at 3.2g. Beta Alanine is the ingredient those most lifters enjoy due to the tingly feeling you get when taken appropriately. Dosed at 3.2g we are gettinga solid dose of this ingredient. You will definitely feel this. 

Next we have Betaine Nitrate (NO3-T) dosed at 2g. Betaine Nitrate has been shown to assist with muscular endurance and pumps. The 2g dose is right where we ike to see this at so we’re good here.

Next we get Betaine Anhydrous dosed at 1.25g. Betaine Anhydrous is proven to boost not only overall muscular power and endurance but also assist with pumps in the gym. Betaine Anhydrous combined with the Betaine Nitrate creates a very solid synergy between the two ingredients.

Next we have a blend of Astrolyte Electrolytes dosed at 1g. We are always thrilled to see some sort of eletrolytes inside of pre workouts and thankfuly we get a good dose of those inside of Specimen.

Moving onto 1g of Taurine. Taurine plays a vital role in reducing fatigue and msucle damage. This will then lead to better more frequent performance in the gym. We have seen Taurine dosed effectively up to 3g but even with 1g we’re good with this amount.

Next we have L-Tryosine at 1g. L-Tryosine produces dopamine which improves cognitive function and better mood. Seeing nootropic ingredients placed in a pre formula is a no brainer here (no pun intended) as should more companies follow suit with this. And with the dosing being at 1g, you will notice a definite boost in mood and cognitive ability if you take the recommended two scoops of Specimen.

Next we see 400mg of Yerba Santa in the form of SantEnergy. Even without definitive clinical data to back up claims, Yerba Santa has been touted for ages for assisting the user with anti inflammatory benefits and cognitive support. We hope to see more research being done on this ingredient.

Next we have Caffeine Anhydrous at 400mg. This is on the higher end of dasges for this ingredient. And honestly, we’re thankful that we also get 100mg of L-Theanine to somewhat balance this out. Understandably so Caffeine Anhydrous is almost everyone’s favorite ingredient and you’re definitely getting a massive dose of it here.

Next at 300mg we see Cholinace. Cholinace is a fancy blend of VitaCholine, Alpha-GPC and Citocoline. Let us just say that we are a huge fan of this ingredient. The Cholinate really binds both the nootropics and caffiene together in such a wonderful marriage of ingredients that you’ll feel like you’re soaring above the clouds after taking two scoops.

Moving onto Halostachys Caspica dosed at 60mg. Not too much clinical data in known on this ingredient but it has been reported for many years now to have some energy boosting and thermogenic properties to it. We definitely look forward to see more clinical data in the future.

Next we have Rauwolfia Extract dosed at 3mg. Rauwolfia Extract is a source of Alpha-Yohimbine, which has fat loss benefits, as well as energy benefits. It is supposed to have less side effects than regular Yohimbine HCl.

Lastly we are getting 2mg of Yohimbe. Yohimbe is known for being a pretty powerful stimulant and fat loss agent. With that being said it also come’s with it’s own stack of possible side effects (varies from person to person). Some side effects nay include cold sweats, headache, stomach problems, rapid heartbeat. Sitting at 2mg we are getting a noticeable dose for a newcomer.


Effectiveness

(9.2/10)

Specimen Yo-Yo shines in two specific areas, nootropics and energy. With the massive dump of both type of ingredients you are in for a wild ride here. If high stims are not your thing then we would suggest taking one scoop to assess tolerance. If you go for the whopping two scoops, as we like to say here at FI, you’re gonna get a “kick” to the dick in a way. We used this product over the course of several weeks and without a doubt we didn’t have a single crappy lifting session (We wouldn’t suggest taking this before rigorous cardio, unless of course you want to shoot straight to the moon).

We do have to note, that the experience above was not for everyone, just the writer of this review. Some may be sensitive to the Yohimbine, as was one of our users, who instead opted for the regular Specimen. If you like the jitters and sold sweats during you workouts, this may be a good option for that, as we certainly experienced it. 


Taste

Cinco De Mango: (9.0/10)

Here at FI we were able to grab Yo-Yo in the Texas Red flavor. Texas Red comes extremely close to being somewhat of a “cola” flavor with a hint of cherry. Trust us, you will very much enjoy this flavor once it graces your taste buds. We’ve had some “soda” type flavors in the past from other dietary products but Glaxon nailed this flavor very well. Kudos to them!

We also had the Cinco De Mango flavor, which was a delight. It was not a simple mango, but kind of like a mango cocktail. They certainly know how to make a simple flavor interesting, that’s for sure.


Mixability

(9.0/10)

Specimen’s two scoop serving comes out to a total of 15g. With that being said it’s not too much to mix in 16oz of water. After mixing in our FI shaker cup we didn’t really notice any “floaties” but we did however have some residual foam at the top, which is completely acceptable. There were no chunks of powder to be seen, whcih is always an added bonus. Glaxon did a great job with this product in our opinion.


Value

(9.2/10)

You can get Specimen for $44.99 directly from the Glaxon website. If you use coupon code INFORMANT you get 20% off, which puts the cost per serving at $1.71. This is a solid deal, especially when you consider that many other comparable pre-workouts are typically at around the $2 mark.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

21-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

$44.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

$44.99

21-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Glaxon

$44.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Glaxon Specimen YoYo

8.8

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.2/10

Taste

8.0/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Energy
  • Taste
  • Value

Cons

  • Yohimbine Side Effects
Glaxon Specimen Review: Become A Specimen Yourself

Leave a Reply