Skip to main content
Pre-Workout

Like A Pro Supplements Pump+Focus Review: High Quality, Low Stimulant Pre-Workout

Like A Pro Suppements Pump+Focus

8.7

Profile

9.1/10

Effectiveness

9.2/10

Taste

8.5/10

Mixability

8.0/10

Value

8.5/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Branded Ingredients

Cons

  • Sticker Price Shock
  • Energy

Overview of Like A Pro Supplements Pump+Focus

IFBB Pro Jeff Long went from stage to office to create Like A Pro Supplements. This is our first experience with the brand, but have heard nothing but good things. We had high expectations going into this.

Like A Pro Supplements Pump+Focus is a solid performer in the gym. You get great pump and focus (duh) with a moderate amount of energy. This is not for the stim junkie, but for someone looking to get the most out of their workout without overloading on stimulants and caffeine. If you're looking for something more than a stimulant free pre-workout but not willing to go to 300mg caffeine, then we highly suggest you look at Pump+Focus from Like A Pro Supplements.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Like A Pro Supplements Pump+Focus Pre-Workout on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pre-workout will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Pink Starburst.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-16oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.1/10)

Pump+Focus LableLet’s be honest, the market is saturated with high-stim pre-workouts. Like A Pro Supplements Pump+Focus is a nice change up from the norm as it focuses (pun intended) on areas that improve performance that does not revolve around caffeine. Keep in mind, stimulants are vaso constrictive, meaning too many of them can actual restrict blood flow.

Pump+Focus starts with 6g of Citrulline Malate at a 1:1 ratio. This means we are getting 3g pure Citrulline and 3g Malic Acid. On paper Citrulline Malate seems great, however the truth is there is not any ion bonded version of Citrulline Malate on the planet. They are essentially putting salt (Citrulline) and pepper (Malic Acid) in the same jar and shaking it up. We would like to see just pure Citrulline used, but with that said we are getting the minimum of 3g. Citrulline is the precursor to Arginine which improves nitric oxide levels in the body, thus improving blood flow.

GlycerSize is used next at 3g. This is a glycerol powder. Glycerol essentially turns the muscles into a sponge. Your muscle cells absorb the fluids giving you that pump look, but the real benefit comes in muscle recovery and repair.

Peak O2 is a blend of mushrooms that improve endurance and output. Studies have shown that supplementing with Peak O2, at 2g, can improve VO2 Max and muscular endurance. This is a great ingredient used at the recommended dosage of 2g.

L-Tyrosine is an amino acid that aids in cognitive improvement. We typically see this at 1g. We are getting 2g of Tyrosine in Pump+Focus which can improve memory and focus.

Agmatine Sulfate is a staple pump ingredient. This can aid in improving blood flow. It also can “trick” your body’s pain receptors so you are able to get another set or another rep. This allows more blood to flow into the muscle. We typically see this around 1g, at 1.5g we are getting a great dosage.

Vaso6 is a patent ingredient that improve nitric oxide levels in the body. We get the recommended dosage of 300mg per serving. This ingredient has a multitude of studies behind it showing its effectiveness.

L-Norvaline is the most controversial ingredient in this product. Proven to reduce blood pressure and increase blood flow, Norvaline has also been linked to cognitive decline. Now there are not a plethora of studies that show this, but there’s enough of a concern that many major supplement companies pulled it from their products. Jeff Long’s Like A Pro Supplements still uses it in Pump+Focus at 250mg.

Alpha GPC is one of the most effective cognitive improvement ingredients on the market. We want to see this at 600mg per serving. We get 600mg per serving of Alpha GPC in Pump+Focus. 

Caffeine Anhydrous is the most popular ingredient in the pre-workout category. As mentioned earlier, while many supplements are dosing well above 200mg per serving, Pump+Focus elected to go with 125mg per serving. This is the equivalent of two cups of coffee. By having a little caffeine it will help Alpha GPC work harder, but it is not too much that may start restricting blood flow.

The last ingredient used is Huperzine A at 200mcg. The typical dosing of this cognitive improving ingredient is 50-300mcg per serving.

The only thing missing from the profile we’d like to see is an ingredient absorption ingredient like AstraGin. Overall this is a solid pre-workout profile for that person looking for a little stim but not an overwhelming amount.


Effectiveness

(9.2/10)

If you are a stim junkie then you will thing that this may be ineffective for you. That may be true if you need 400mg caffeine to get you going. For everyone else, this is a great, effective supplement.

The two areas where it excels, you guessed it, pump and focus. That’s the goal of this pre-workout, hence the name. You will be zoned in during your gym session and ready to move the weights. As a result you will experience an increase in blood flow from the work and epic pumps.

With that said, it does lack “energy” as it is a lower stim product. That is be design, so hard to fault the product for that. You can determine if 125mg caffeine will be enough for you.

Endurance and output is actually decent. Peak O2 aids with that. The addition of Betaine and Beta Alanine may have aided in this category, but it is still sufficient for most.

Overall, this is a really good, effective pre-workout that will essentially guarantee you a pump and a mindset to move some weight.


Taste

Pink Starburst: (8.5/10)

Pink Starburst is exactly what you would think it is. They tried to nail that pink starburst flavor, but it does come up short. It is hard to match the flavoring of a major candy, especially with ingredients like Peak O2. With that said, Pink Starburst was still enjoyable. You do get that chalky aftertaste but that comes from the high amount of ingredients used in the product. This is definitely drinkable and not even remotely close to being bad, but it could still be better with some tweaks.


Mixability

(8.0/10)

When you’re dealing with almost a 22g serving size, mixability is going to suffer. If you watch the review you can see the mixability video. It appears there are particles and residue floating inside the water. This is true. Not all of the ingredients are going to dissolve quickly in a water solution. If you’re like me, we don’t mind as we drink our pre-workout quickly, but some people may not enjoy the grit and the particles getting stuck in their teeth.

With all that said, for as large as a serving as this is, it mixes pretty damn good.


Value

(8.5/10)

Honestly you could rate this close to a 10 out of 10, but a $60 price tag is a lot of shock for a lot of people. This is a 30-serving pre-workout. This means it is $2/serving, which is actually more reasonable than some of the 20/40 serving pre-workouts out on the market that retail for $45-$50. However, consumers don’t always love to do math. They see $59.99 and think “oh shit,” but again you need to do the math.

The norm now is moving to a 20/25 serving. It is a less up front price commitment and it allows the user to move on quickly after usage.

With all that said, at $2/serving (sorry no coupon code) this is still a great value.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

Like A Pro Suppements Pump+Focus

8.7

Profile

9.1/10

Effectiveness

9.2/10

Taste

8.5/10

Mixability

8.0/10

Value

8.5/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Branded Ingredients

Cons

  • Sticker Price Shock
  • Energy
Transparent Labs Bulk Review: A Loaded Formula With a Loaded Amount of Theanine
Glaxon Specimen YoYo Review: High Stimulant, Hard Hitting Pre-Workout

Leave a Reply