Skip to main content
Pre-WorkoutTransparent Labs

Transparent Labs Bulk Review: A Loaded Formula With a Loaded Amount of Theanine

Transparent Labs Bulk

8.5

Profile

8.8/10

Effectiveness

8.4/10

Taste

7.4/10

Mixability

8.8/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Energy
  • Branded Ingredients
  • Noticeable Pumps
  • Focus

Cons

  • Theanine May Turn Some Off
  • BCAAs are unnecessary
  • Taste could be better

Use Coupon Code INFORMANT To Save 10%

Overview of Transparent Labs Bulk

Transparent Labs has been around for quite a few years now and are widely known for having clean, transparent dietary supplements. We were able to finally get our hands on a tub of their pre, BULK. 

BULK toutes itself as a great pre workout for those who are looking to bulk up and gain some size. It has quite an impressive profile as far as ergogenic go, and dosages are all solid, and one some even too much. BULK was used over the course of several weeks during heavy lifting days and by reading below you'll see what our conclusion on this product.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Transparent Labs Bulk on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pre-workout will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Blue Raspberry.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-16oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.8/10)

Starting off  we have 6g of Citrulline Malate 2:1. Citrulline Malate is L-Citrulline combined with Malic Acid. Citrulline Malate is effective as a performance enhancing ingredient because of its ability to increase blood flow and may also provide assistance with muscular growth and / or recovery. We are on point at 6 grams.

Next we get Beta Alanine dosed at 4g. Beta Alanine is the ingredient that gives you that itchy feeling. some hate it and others love it. Scientifically, Beta Alanine has been shown to assist the lifter with muscular endurance and also stave off muscular fatigue. With a dosage of 4 grams, we are right where we need to be on this.

Next we have 4g of vegan fermented BCAA 2:1:1. Now if you have your nutrition dialed in, most of the time you should not have to worry about getting enough BCAA’s but we always like to see them added to products just in case. The dosage could be a little higher but at this point we are just happy to see them as an added bonus.

Moving now to BetaPure Betain Anhydrous dosed at 2.5g. Betaine Anhydrous is an amino acid that is naturally occurring in several plant species. It serves to provide an increase in power output and may add to muscular work capacity. We are in the exact spot where it should be as far as dosing is concerned.

Next we have Taurine dosed at 1.3g. Taurine is an essential amino acid that creates a hydrated cellular environment which plays an important role in reducing fatigue and muscle damage leading to prolonged endurance, strength and power output. Recommended dosages start at 1g so we are happy with this. 

Next we see L-Tyrosine at 1g. L-Tyrosine is commonly used for nootropic reasons. It has been shown to increase focus during stressful situations. So taking it may result in better workouts, and perhaps even better performance at work or in your daily life. Set at 1g we are right on the money here.

Next we have L-Theanine dosed at 360mg.  It is known for relaxation and mood elevation without sedation. L-Theanine works very well along side ingredients like caffeine. It assists with making sure that you feel the effects of the caffeine without the possible overloading weight of a rising blood pressure during your workout. Also, we are good on the amount dosed here.

Neow we move on to 300mg of Alpha GPC. Alpha-GPC is a nootropic used to improve brain function, which leads to improved memory and increased mental focus. It’s also one of our favorite ingredients ever here at FI. Dosed at 300mg is completely acceptable. 

Next we have Caffeine Anhydrous at 180mg. This is on the lower end of dosages for this ingredient and some may shy away due to this. Here at FI we can appreciate the lower stimmed pre workouts, especially ones like BULK. It’s important to note too that you’re also getting a little more stims in the form of 30mg of Infinergy (DiCaffeine Malate) for that longer lasting focused feeling.

Next at 50mg we see Theobromine. Theobromine is more of a vasodilator than a stim per se. It has been shown to assist with the overall pump during a workout. With is being dosed at 50mg, we are perfectly fine with this.

Lastly is 25mg of Astragin. Astragin assists with the natural absorption of ingredients when ingested. Although it’s helpful to note that we are slightly underdosed here. Clinical data suggests that dosages should be begin at 50m


Effectiveness

(8.4/10)

BULK shines as a solid pre workout but also brings some even more solid ingredients to the table as well. During the course of using the product we did notice a slight elevation in energy levels,  and overall endurance which is a great upper hand to have at times. The pumps were nothing to write home about but they were indeed there during every single lift we completed. The level of sustained energy was just right, although sometimes felt like it could use more.

One thing we have to point out is that while the energy was good, the Theanine was certainly noticeable as well. It kind of takes away from the experience due to how much it mellows you out. It is at a huge dose, so if it were halved it would be more tolerable. There was a nice jump in focus with all of that said. The Alpha GPC and Tyrosine certainly do their part.


Taste

Blue Raspberry: (7.4/10)

Here at FI we can appreciate the fact that comanies use the cleanest of sweeteners, that being Stevia. Unfortunately though the blue raspberry was not that great. You can taste a hint of raspberry flavoring but it just fell short on the taste buds here. There are for sure much worse tasting products out there but this flavor of BULK just hit a little short of what we’d call “tasty”. Perhaps the other flavors could paint a different light and we just might give those a try sometime in the near future.


Mixability

(8.8/10)

BULK has a serving size of 22.9g which is pretty standard. That being said it had no issues mixing with the recommended water amount (8, 10oz). There were no clumps or excessive foam to be found. Overall we were pretty pleased with how BULK mixed.


Value

(9.0/10)

BULK is currently going for $49.00 which comes to about $1.63 per serving. This is a great price in our opinion for what you get with BULK. Almost every single ingredient is clinically dosed, the focus and pumps are good and you get a whole 30 day supply. Yes we wish the taste was better but as you and I know, taste sometimes doesn’t break a product, especially if it’s properly loaded up with good ingredients.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Transparent Labs

$49.00

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Transparent Labs

$49.00

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Transparent Labs

​Transparent Labs​

$49.00

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Transparent Labs

Transparent Labs Bulk

8.5

Profile

8.8/10

Effectiveness

8.4/10

Taste

7.4/10

Mixability

8.8/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Energy
  • Branded Ingredients
  • Noticeable Pumps
  • Focus

Cons

  • Theanine May Turn Some Off
  • BCAAs are unnecessary
  • Taste could be better
Transparent Labs STIM-FREE Review: A Well-Done Pre-Workout Without The Stimulants
Like A Pro Supplements Pump+Focus Review: High Quality, Low Stimulant Pre-Workout

Leave a Reply