Skip to main content
MuscleSportPre-Workout

MuscleSport Rhino Black V2 Review: A Worthy Successor

By September 28, 2020September 30th, 2020No Comments

MuscleSport Rhino Black V2

8.5

Profile

8.2/10

Effectiveness

8.5/10

Taste

9.5/10

Mixability

8.5/10

Value

7.8/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Pumps
  • Energy
  • Taste

Cons

  • Some Ingredients Low

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 20%

Overview of MuscleSport Rhino Black V2

The New York based sports nutrition company MuscleSport brings back their successful Rhino Black pre-workout but this time it's been given a colossal upgrade. And with their first version of the pre getting a solid FI rating of 8.6, we were wholeheartedly excited to get our hands on the V2.

Rhino BLACK V2 was used on training days for just under a period of 3 weeks with some pretty fulfilling results. We were using the full 23g scoop serving. Between unwaivering energy and massive pumps we for sure enjoyed our time with the product.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed MuscleSport Rhino Black V2 on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pre-workout will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Mango Mania.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.2/10)

musclesport rhino black v2

First we have the Nitric Oxide Recycling Complex giving us 6g of L-Citrulline Malate 2:1. Citrulline Malate is used for assisting blood flow and helping create bigger pumps. This is exactly where it should be dosed.

Next we have Taurine dosed at 1g. This is an acceptable dose here. Taurine assists the user for strength output and helps regulate electrolytes effectively. 

Next we have 750mg of L-Ornithine HCI. This dosage is under the recommended dose of 1g. L-Ornithine is widely used for strength output and power.

Next we have Beta Vulgaris Root Extract dosed at 200mg. Beta Vulgaris serves as secondary helper to improve physical performance similar to Nitric Oxide. This is however underdosed by 300mg here.

Now we move onto 50mg of S7. S7 is a blend of seven ingredients (green coffee bean extract, green tea extract, colorless turmeric extract, tart cherry, blueberry, broccoli and kale) and it touted as a pump enhancer. One study showed that S7 increased nitric oxide levels by 230%. At 50mg we are right where we need to be on this one.

For the Cellular Energy Complex we start off with 3-Aminopropanoic Acid (Beta-Alanine). This ingredient is widely used for it’s ability to assist with overall endurance and helps with total workout volume. At 3.2g we are good to go on this.

Next we have BetaPower (Betaine) dosed at 2.5g. This is a solid dose we’re getting here of Betaine. Betaine is primarily used as a strength and power output ingredient. 

Next is GlycerSize dosed at 2g. With it being standardized to 65% you’re actually getting 1.3g of Glycerol,  we would have liked to see this a little higher but this is still completely acceptable. GlycerSize is known for keeping your muscles hydrated which then assists with even longer, fuller pumps.

Next we have 2g of Creatine MagnaPower. By combining creatine and chelated magnesium (Creatine MagnaPower), the creatine can be absorbed better and utilized for anabolic processes for efficiently. In order to reap the rewards of this ingredient, like better overall strength output, you’d need at least a daily dose of 1.5g so we’re good here.

Now onto the Mental Stimulation and Focus Complex  starting us off with L-Tyrosine dosed at 750mg. L-Tryosine is known to produce noradrenaline and dopamine which improves cognitive function. Most data shows that the best dosage would be anwhere from 500mg – 2g. We prefer to start at 1g but we’re still at ease with the 750mg dose.

Next we’re getting the Di-Caffeine Matrix (Caffeine Anhydrous, Infinergy and Dicaffeine Malate) dosed at 400mg. This is perfectly acceptable in our book. Trust us on this, you will be fully energized after getting this dosage. With a combination of both caffeine anhydrous and Dicaffeine Malate you’ll be getting that first rush of energy that you would expect but then you’ll be getting a more longer lasting focus and energy long after your workout.

Next we have Choline Complex (CDP Choline, Choline Bitartrate) dosed at 300mg. Perhaps it’s not as effective as Alpha GPC but Choline is still a widely used ingredient for nootropic purposes. Most clinical data shows that effective doses are3 anything from 500mg-1g per day but we recommend starting at the low end of that. We would like to see ingredient dosed a tad bit higher. 

Lastly we have Theobromine dosed at 75mg. Theobromine is similar to caffeine except it works as a vasodilator. Theobromine also has been shown to assist with lowering blood pressure, which would be a good thing if you’re ingesting high dosages of stimulants. Recommended dosages are anywhere between 20mg-700mg so we’re ok with the 75mg dose here.


Effectiveness

(9.0/10)

Rhino BLACK V2 was good to us across the board. We understand that regrettably there were several ingredients that were slightly underdosed but even then this pre delivered on it’s promises. We had solid pumps (when we consumed enough water), solid focus, and an ever so lingering jolt of sustained energy. When it comes down to a pre-workouts function and purpose, Rhino BLACK V2 rose to the challenge and delivered for us, hands down.

While not the craziest experience we’ve had in a preworkout, it still delivered where it counts, and did not disappoint. The energy wasn’t off the rails or anything, but still there and noticeable, certainly a better feeling than just Caffeine on its own. Also, while stacking this with a pump product is a good idea, it does deliver a solid pump on its own. We also have to say that performance was on par with many other preworkouts these days.


Taste

Mango Mania: (9.5/10)

This mango flavor was AMAZING. To be honest, we don’t see many mango flavored formulas out there but MuscleSport absolutely nailed this. It’s not too sweet but also not too tart. It’s just right where it needs to be, tasting natural and refreshing. Sipping on this for 3 weeks was an absolute pleasure so kudos to MuscleSport.


Mixability

(8.5/10)

A full 23g scoop was mixed in 10oz of water using our FI Shaker Cup. There were some residual particles in the liquid but barely any foaming occured. Overall it mixes pretty well. If you were doing a half scoop i’m sure the results would be even better. See mixing video for details.


Value

(7.8/10)

Rhino BLACK V2 currently runs for $59.99 on Musclesport’s website. Now I know some of you might be saying HOLD UP but you can relax. Want the good news? If you use code INFORMANT you’ll be saving 20% which brings the price down to $48.00. That’s approx $2.40 per serving which is completely acceptable in our book, slightly higher but still good. For what you are getting with Rhino BLACK V2, the product is well worth the price. 

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

25-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

$59.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

$59.99

20-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Musclesport

$59.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

MuscleSport Rhino Black V2

8.5

Profile

8.2/10

Effectiveness

8.5/10

Taste

9.5/10

Mixability

8.5/10

Value

7.8/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Pumps
  • Energy
  • Taste

Cons

  • Some Ingredients Low
Apollon Nutrition Hooligan V5 Review: A Loaded Formula With a Load of Caffeine
Muscletech Shatter Elite Review: Time To Shatter Your Workouts

Leave a Reply