Skip to main content
MuscleTechPre-Workout

MuscleTech BURN iQ Review: A Modern, Effective Thermogenic Without Caffeine

By December 23, 2022January 6th, 2023No Comments

MuscleTech BURN iQ

8.4

Profile

8.4/10

Effectiveness

8.4/10

Taste

8.5/10

Mixability

8.5/10

Value

8.0/10

Pros

  • efinity Paraxanthine
  • No Crash

Cons

  • Price

Use code INFORMANT to save 20%

Overview of MuscleTech BURN iQ

MuscleTech has been around in the sports nutrition space for decades, known today as a "legacy brand." However, the brand is not behaving like a legacy brand as they've refocused and are putting more emphasis back on innovation - the key that built MuscleTech into the giant it is today.

BURN iQ from MuscleTech is the brands new thermogenic pre-workout powder featuring Paraxanthine, a metabolite of caffeine that gives users the benefits of caffeine without the negative side effects (jitters). In addition users get other key ingredients used for thermogenesis and focus. BURN iQ is a unique pre-workout powder that we very much enjoyed.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

DON’T MISS ANY NEWS OR DEALS AGAIN!

Join our email list to be the first to know about new product launches, brand news, deals and giveaways!

DON’T MISS ANY NEWS OR DEALS AGAIN!

Join our email list to be the first to know about new product launches, brand news, deals and giveaways!

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed MuscleTech BURN iQ on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pre-workout will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Mango Chili Lime.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. See video above for the full test.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.4/10)

MuscleSport BURN iQ SFPUnlike most fat burning pre-workouts, MuscleTech’s BURN iQ is not packed with stimulants. In fact, it doesn’t even contain caffeine.

The formula can be broken down into a 50 or a 25-serving unit. For the purpose of practical dosages, we look at it from a standpoint of 25 servings.

MuscleTech’s BURN iQ starts with 3g L-Carnitine-L-Tartrate. Carnitine is used in many non-stim fat burners, and even energy drinks, for its ability to transport fatty acids to be burned off for fuel aka energy.

L-Tyrosine is dosed at 1.5g. This is a non-essential amino acid that can help improve focus and cognition. This is a solid dosage of Tyrosine as well. 

Taurine, an ingredient that can aid in endurance and output, and plays a role in electrolyte regulation, is dosed at 1g. This is the standard dosage we see with this ingredient.

Green Coffee Extract, standardized to 45% Chlorogenic Acid is dosed at 400mg. This is similar to caffeine but less potent. It can aid in focus. Although the correlation isn’t super strong, there are studies that have linked Chlorogenic Acid to the metabolism of blood glucose. 

The key ingredient in this formula is 300mg efinity (Paraxanthine). Paraxanthine is one of three metabolites of caffeine. The other two are theobromine and theophylline. Paraxanthine accounts for about 80% of the make-up of caffeine, and it is the primary metabolite engaging the central nervous system. It is also said that Paraxanthine does not have any of the negative “side effects” of caffeine such as the jitters. Another benefit of enfinity is it bypasses the metabolic inconsistencies of caffeine from user to user.

Coleus extract, standardized to 10% forskolin is dosed at 200mg. Studies show that Coleus forskohlii with a 10% forskolin yield should be taken twice per day at 250mg. Forskolin has been shown to increase cAMP which can increase fat loss.

Grains of Paradise is dosed at 40mg. This ingredient has been called the “spicy” ingredient but it can increase body temperatures.

aXivite, a branded version of capsaicin, is dosed at 30mg. It is standardized to 1% phenylcapsaicin. Studies have shown, when compared to a placebo, that Phenylcapsaicin can reduce body fat and improve gut health.

Black Pepper Extract is used to increase absorption.

Lastly, Hyperzine A is dosed at 10mcg. This is a lower dosage of Huperzine A but may improve focus.

Overall, the formula uses ingredients that may raise body temperature, improve focus and could be linked to potential fat loss in combination with a healthy diet. The use of Paraxanthine is unique to MuscleTech and has a lot of potential.


Effectiveness

(8.4/10)

A lot of thermogenic pre-workout powders will focus on the feel you get – is your body temperature raising? Do you feel the stims? With MuscleTech BURN iQ you don’t get a ton of feel, more so focus from the use of Paraxanthine, Green Coffee Extract, Huperzine A and Tyrosine.

Grains of Paradise can aid in temperature along with aXivite. However, I did not get a ton of increase in body temperature. I used BURN iQ for both cardio only and strength training. Ingredients like GBB do a better job for me personally at raising my core and body temperature. 

The best part of this pre-workout comes in the form of how it makes you feel. You don’t feel jittery or get a crash. You feel good throughout your workout or cardio session. This is what I like most about it. However if I need to grade it more on the category – it is called BURN iQ – I think it comes up short on the “burn” aspect but still overall a good pre-workout supplement.


Taste

Mango Chili Lime: (8.5/10)

Describing this flavor in one word I would say unique. You get a lot of chili and a lot of mango, with a hint of lime. The chili/spice comes from the Grains of Paradise and Capsaicin used in the product. We can understand if some users do not like this, but to MuscleTech’s credit they embraced it and made it part of their flavor profile.

I actually like it. It has great (I mean GREAT) mango flavor to it and the hint of lime is just right. The spice/chili is fun as well. Flavor profile is spot on.


Mixability

(8.5/10)

This would be a good idea to watch the video review above. Mixability isn’t terrible, but you will see plenty of particles settle at the bottom of the glass or can be seen floating in the glass. The one thing to note is it is still very easy to drink. There’s no clumping with this powder which is a good thing. If you have issues with these small particles then this won’t be for you, but for the general population, this is just fine.


Value

(8.0/10)

This is where many of you are going to struggle to comprehend. The cost of BURN iQ is $59.99 for a 50/25 serving container. Being real, you’ll want the 2-scoop serving to get the most from this making this a 25-serving pre-workout for $60. Luckily for all of us, we have code INFORMANT which will knock off 20% ($12) making this a much more valuable thermogenic product. 

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

50/25-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

MuscleTech

MuscleTech

$59.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

MuscleTech

50/20-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

MuscleTech

$59.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

MuscleTech

$59.99

MuscleTech BURN iQ

8.4

Profile

8.4/10

Effectiveness

8.4/10

Taste

8.5/10

Mixability

8.5/10

Value

8.0/10

Pros

  • efinity Paraxanthine
  • No Crash

Cons

  • Price
Booty and The Beast Episode 15: Blessing Awodibu
FIt Butters

Leave a Reply