Pre-WorkoutPurus Labs

Purus Labs Stimpact Review

By November 10, 2018 January 17th, 2019 No Comments

Purus Labs Stimpact

6.8

Profile

6.0/10

Effectiveness

6.5/10

Taste

7.0/10

Mixability

8.0/10

Value

6.5/10

Pros

  • Mixability
  • Stims

Cons

  • Lacking Pump/Endurance
  • Underdosed on Dynamine/Teacrine

Overview of Purus Labs Stimpact

Purus Labs has been a great brand to work with over the years. They make some phenomenal products that work well. To be clear, they also have made some that we haven’t rated high – but that’s our NO B.S. approach that is appreciated by you, and by Purus Labs. We were stoked to test out their new Stimpact pre-workout.

Stimpact tells you exactly what it is in the name. Easy. This is going to be a high caffeine pre-workout powder with some additive focus ingredients to give you energy and focus, but it lacks on pump, strength and endurance. If you’re looking for a caffeine high (stim high) with focus and drive, this will be for you. If you want something that is well-rounded, continue to look elsewhere.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Purus Labs Stimpact on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Fresh Squeezed Lemonade.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 12oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.

Ingredients Profile

(6/10)

Stimpact is an interesting profile, as it appears to be a prop blend, but it is NOT a prep blend. It is also interesting because you’d like to take 1.5-2 scoops to get a better dosage of key ingredients, but the high amount of caffeine makes that difficult.

Let’s start by saying Stimpact is stim based, mostly caffeine. It is what it is. They are not touting pump or endurance. Stim implies energy and potential focus.

We start with 2g of Beta Alanine. Beta Alanine, the ingredient that makes you itch but also contributes to prolonged endurance. The clinical dosage of this key ingredient is 3.2g. At 2g we are underdosed. Then we get 2g of Choline Bitartrate. This is a massive dose of Choline Bitartrate that I am not mad about. Typical dosages range from 250-500mg, sometimes up to 1g. The most I have seen in a pre-workout is 1.5g in Nutrex’s Outlift Concentrate. Solid dosage here.

Next we get the caffeine. We get a massive dosage of Caffeine Anhydrous at 330mg. This is a large dose. On top of that, they give you another 200mg of VitaShure Caffeine (yielding 60% = 120mg). What I love about VitaShure, commercially known as PharmaShure, is it is time-masking and sustained releasing. Meaning that, unlike Caffeine A, it doesn’t hit you all at once. It lasts over an extended period of time to avoid that crash.

Theobromine is used at 200mg. This is a great dosage of Theobromine. Theobromine, found in chocolate, helps widen your blood vessels to help with a pump. The thought here is without the pump ingredients, that it would work with caffeine to help impact mood. However, studies are inconclusive of this.

The next two ingredients are TeaCrine and Dynamine. These are expensive ingredients from Compound Solutions that pair well together and with caffeine. TeaCrine is dosed at 60mg and Dynamine at 25mg. These are nice to have on the label. TeaCrine is dosed OK per Compound’s suggestion of 50mg TeaCrine with 150mg Caffeine. However, I would like to see it higher with over 300mg of Caffeine. Dynamine is just too low. This should be dosed at 100mg or more with the amount of caffeine.

Lastly, we get 5mg (1% = 50 mcg) of Huperzine A. I have seen this as high as 300 mcg so this dosage is fine, but could be higher…then again, we are getting 2g of Choline Bitartrate, so do we really need more? I will always say yes.

Overall, the profile is what it is: high caffeine with added stims, some dosed nicely while others could use more, and cognitive ingredients that collectively work well to provide energy and focus. You are missing strength, endurance and the pump. For what this product is, it isn’t half bad.

Stimpact Label

Effectiveness

(6.5/10)

As you might guess, we could give this a 10 out of 10 on energy alone, but outside of energy, we only got some focus (the caffeine helps with this too). This is good and all if you stack with NOXygen or some other pump powder, but alone it left me looking for more. Sure, caffeine is nice, but when this is essentially just that you are missing out on important parts like pump.

There is no pump with this product because it is non-existent. The caffeine rush helps with focus, but not-so-much with strength/power. Sure, you have drive with your focus, but compared to other products dosed with Taurine or PeakO2, you can definitely tell the difference.

Overall, this was great in energy and decent on focus, but lacking elsewhere – which was to be expected given this formula and name.

Taste

Fresh Squeezed Lemonade: (7/10)

If you like tart/sour, you will like this. This was almost too tart for our liking, but we realize that some people like this. Think about fresh squeezed lemonade, this does fall in-line with that and you can expect it to taste that way – even the tartness/sourness.

Mixability

(8/10)

With the serving size just under 10g, you’d want this to mix just fine – and it does. We would take this in 6oz of water – I like to chug my pre-workout. There was some residue floating on top and some that went to the bottom, but it wasn’t overwhelming by any means.

Value

(6.5/10)

Given this uses a lot of caffeine and a little of the more expensive ingredients (TeaCrine and Dynamine) I would expect this to be a $29.99 pre-workout for the 30-servings. However, this is priced slightly higher – mid $30s. Given that it is basically a jacked up caffeine driver I would want more – at least a clinical dosage of Beta-Alanine or event 6g of Citrulline to go with this product.

FITNESS INFORMANT’S EXCLUSIVE “PURUS LABS STIMPACT” DEALS

 Save 5% on your entire order with coupon code INFORMANT

  PRICE COMPARISON:

Purus Labs NOXygen Liquicaps Review
Blackstone Labs Dust X Review

Leave a Reply