Pre-WorkoutThe Genius Brand

The Genius Brand Genius Pre Review: A Quality Non-Stim Pre-Workout

By February 3, 2019 No Comments

The Genius Brand Genius Pre

8.3

Profile

8.5/10

Effectiveness

7.8/10

Taste

8.0/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

8.0/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Branded Ingredients
  • Mixability

Overview of The Genius Brand Genius Pre

The Genius Brand Genius Pre is overall a very solid pre workout. Almost all of its ingredients are clinically dosed, with only a couple falling short. With this product you will receive four branded ingredients that really add to the value and quality. The Sour Apple flavor is not bad, but could be improved.

All in all, Genius Pre is a great supplement for someone looking to maximize their gains and endurance during their workouts, while eliminating the exhausting crash that sometimes follows a high-stim product. It all comes down to your personal preference, but you can’t go wrong here.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed The Genius Brand Genius Pre on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pre-workout will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Sour Apple.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.5/10)

Genius Pre Label

Whenever you first look at The Genius Brand label, the most eye-catching piece of the front label is that they use All-Natural Ingredients. This includes: No fillers, no dyes, no artificial flavors, and no artificial sweeteners. This is a very unique niche that The Genius Brand is seeking to fill in the industry, and a very difficult one at that. Many gym-goers shy away from many supplements because of the “chemicals” found in them. It is also not very common to see a stim-free, all-natural pre-workout deliver similar results to its partially synthetic derived competitors. Along with all of this, The Genius Brand offers full label disclosure with no proprietary blends, along with 4 patented ingredients. Now let’s dive right into this product.

We will begin with the pump ingredients in this product. The Genius Brand starts us off with 6g of L-Citrulline Malate. This ingredient is a pump agent, allowing for enhanced blood flow and increasing your muscular endurance. The Genius Brand uses a 2:1 ratio form of citrulline, which falls right into our approved dosages here at Fitness Informant. L-Arginine is dosed at 1g, which is a solid dose. Citrulline is converted to Arginine by the body which increases NO production. It has been shown that Citrulline is better at increasing Arginine levels than ingesting Arginine itself. This is assumed to be because of the absorbency capability of Citrulline. The final pump ingredient we get is Theobromine. This is dosed at 30mg, which is much lower than its recommended dose. This ingredient is typically dosed at 100mg and is used as a vasodilator to increase blood flow.

Next, let’s move onto the strength and endurance ingredients. We get a dose of 2g Beta alanine which is responsible for the “itchy” feeling you sometimes get. However, this ingredient provides us with some great benefits including muscular endurance. We would want to see this around 3-3.5g. Betaine Anhydrous is dosed at 2g as well, satisfying its clinical recommendation. This ingredient has been shown to increase strength and power output. The next ingredient is Alpha GPC, which is typically used to increase muscular power output, but also has a notable effect on mental sharpness and focus. Alpha GPC is typically dosed between 300mg-600mg and this one comes in on the lower end at 300mg. HICA is used at a dose of 500mg, while the only study on humans is dosed at 1500mg. HICA is similar to Lecuine, but not enough evidence exists to verify the impact of this. The final ingredient in the strength and endurance category is ElevATP. This increases ATP production, which is the energy currency used by your muscles. Therefore, this ingredient increases the energy capacity of your muscles for use during your workout. The clinical dose of ElevATP is 150mg, which is exactly what we are getting here.

The focus products of a stim-free pre-workout are a very vital piece to making the formulation “complete”. L-Tyrosine is dosed at the correct dose to be in line with clinical studies at 1g. Tyrosine is an ingredient that is shown to increase focus. The next ingredient is Rhodiola Rosea, which is responsible for reducing fatigue. This product is above the recommended dose at 100mg. Huperzine A is found here at 100mcg. That is right in line with the studies that show Huperzine’s ability to enhance your cognitive ability.

Last but not least, we have AstraGin®. This product is commonly dosed at 50mg, which we do not get with this product. We only get 25mg which is not in line with the clinical studies. This ingredient is known to increase the bodies uptake of aminos, glucose, vitamins and minerals.

Overall, this profile is really solid for a non-stimulant based pre-workout. We would be OK without the use of HICA and we’d like to see Beta-Alanine increased.


Effectiveness

(7.8/10)

The approach taken when evaluating the effectiveness of a stim-free product is a bit different than the grip and rip high-stim products many of us are used to. Does this product provide noticeable benefits in your training? Yes. It definitely provides a performance boost, without the crash accompanied with most stimulant products.

This product provides a decent focus component. It Is not overwhelming, but definitely noticeable. I would rate the focus aspect at 7.5 out of 10. A couple of days I took this product I could feel myself really get in the zone, however on other days it was not as evident. Nonetheless, it still facilitates a great workout as it increases your focus and provides a sort of clean, natural energy feel.

The pump brought on by this product was nothing to write home about. I would rate the pump as a 7.8. I feel that this is by no means a negative of this preworkout since they don’t really advertise it as a pump product. The product is advertised as a nootropic performance enhancer. One improvement to the pump formula could to be to dose theobromine around 100mg.

The strength and endurance aspect of this pre is very solid. I would rate this as a 9 out of 10. I felt a very noticeable increase in endurance. There are several ingredients in this product that are dosed correctly that contribute to this. Impressive!

Overall, this pre will definitely serve as an advantage to anyone who wants a nice clean focus boost, along with a noticeable increase in muscular endurance and pump. If you are someone who likes the idea of an all-natural preworkout, this one is for you!


Taste

Sour Apple: (8/10)

I have tried many green apple products and this one is probably the most tolerable. It is not exactly refreshing, but it is not bad either. It tastes exactly like green apple and the sour aspect is not overpowering at all.

Taste is not overly important in the formulation of a good preworkout. As long as It is not intolerable, then we should be fine. You are getting an easily drinkable flavor here with the Sour Apple.

 


Mixability

(9/10)

Genius Pre mixes quite well. As you shake it, you will get lots of foamy bubble layer on the of the liquid. We aren’t going to knock off any points for that because if you give it a few seconds, the foam settles and disappears. The powder dissolves well throughout the water after about 10 seconds of shaking. As you will see in the YouTube video, there are very minimal amounts of undissolved powder that is barely noticeable by sight. When you drink it, it feels very smooth and uniformly dissolved.

You won’t get any clumping or any residue on the sides of your shaker cup. The only complaint we have is that it is slightly thick. This is only a minimal complaint, allowing for this product to check out well in the mixability category!


Value

(8/10)

We like to see our non-stimulant products retail for around $2 dollars or less per serving. We do get that here with Genius Pre. You get 20 servings of all-natural ingredients for 38$.

Some might say this product is a little on the expensive side, and they wouldn’t be wrong. But, The Genius Brand has included some very high-quality ingredients, including Alpha GPC and ElevATP, that definitely make this product worth the money in our eyes.

It all comes down to your overall goals. If you want an all-natural stimulant-free boost to your workout, this product might be for you.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

20-SERVINGS

PRICE COMPARISON:

Amazon Logo

See Price at Store

20-SERVINGS

PRICE COMPARISON:

Amazon Logo

Amazon

See Price at Store

The Genius Brand Genius Pre

8.3

Profile

8.5/10

Effectiveness

7.8/10

Taste

8.0/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

8.0/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Branded Ingredients
  • Mixability
The Genius Brand Digestion Optimizer: Gut Health Is Key
The Genius Brand Genius Mushroom Review: Improving Your Wellness from Natural Sources

Leave a Reply