Skip to main content
Cutler NutritionProtein Powder

Cutler Nutrition Total Iso Review: A Sweet Yet Lean Protein

Cutler Nutrition Total Iso

9

Profile

8.8/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

8.7/10

Mixability

9.5/10

Value

8.8/10

Pros

  • Macro Friendly
  • Easy Digestibility
  • Solid Value

Cons

  • Flavor may be sweet for some

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 11%

Overview of Cutler Nutrition Total Iso

Cutlet Nutrition is a band from one of the best bodybuilders of all time, named Jay Cutler. Unfortunately, brands associated with well-known bodybuilders have a history of being subpar, however some recent ones have changed that stereotype, and Cutler Nutrition is one of them.http://Total Iso is a Whey Protein Isolate powder, meaning it is a more filtered form of whey when compared to concentrate. This means that cholesterol, fat, and sugar are a lot less of an issue, however you do strip some other benefits from Whey Protein, such as the immunoglobulins. Isolate protein is usually easier on the stomach, so if you have issues with whey, Isolate makes sense. The only thing we had to mark it down slightly is the added Corn Syrup SOlids, which aren’t bad by themselves, but there are plenty of proteins out there that don’t use it and taste just as good. Total Iso is very macro friendly. One scoop gives you: 1 gram of Fat 2 grams of Carbohydrate 24 grams of Protein This is on par with many Whey Protein Isolates, and we have no complaints here.

Total Iso is a Whey Protein Isolate that comes in some great flavors such as Fruity Cereal, Chocolate Cereal, and Cinnamon  Cereal. With it being a Whey Isolate, the mixability is great, and it is impressive how well it is flavored with the low amount of sugar and fat. The value makes it worth trying at least once as well. 

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Cutler Nutrition Total Iso on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at quality of protein used, amount and other ingredients involved in the making of this protein powder.

We then look at effectiveness. A high quality protein will be effective. This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out Chocolate.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. We use the Official Shaker Cup of Fitness Informant, the Ice Shaker.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of proteins available on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.8/10)

cutler total iso

Total Iso is a Whey Protein Isolate powder, meaning it is a more filtered form of whey when compared to concentrate. This means that cholesterol, fat, and sugar are a lot less of an issue, however you do strip some other benefits from Whey Protein, such as the immunoglobulins. Isolate protein is usually easier on the stomach, so if you have issues with whey, Isolate makes sense. The only thing we had to mark it down slightly is the added Corn Syrup SOlids, which aren’t bad by themselves, but there are plenty of proteins out there that don’t use it and taste just as good. 

Total Iso is very macro friendly. One scoop gives you:

1 gram of Fat

2 grams of Carbohydrate

24 grams of Protein

This is on par with many Whey Protein Isolates, and we have few complaints here.


Effectiveness

(8.8/10)

The effectiveness of a protein powder is really hard to judge. At the end of the day, a protein powder is a convenient way to get protein in. Sometimes drinking a scoop of protein powder is easier than eating a chicken breast.

One way to judge a protein is by how it digests. With Total Iso being a Whey Protein Isolate, there is little chance you will have stomach issues, and that is exactly what we experienced with this protein. There was no gas, no bloating, no stomach distress to speak of. 

Due to it being macro friendly, it was very easy to fit into our daily diets. With low carbs/fats, it leaves plenty of room for some extra food throughout the day. While not much when compared to some Whey Protein Concentrates out there, it can make a small difference.


Taste

Chocolate: (8.7/10)

So we had three people try this protein out, and we’re talking about the chocolate flavor here. Danielle, Gerhard, and Ryan all got to taste this protein. We all agreed that it was on the sweeter side, much sweeter than the norm. Danielle found it very enjoyable, Gerhard found it enjoyable depending on his mood, while Ryan found it a bit too sweet, yet still drinkable.


Mixability

(9.0/10)

Whey Protein Isolate products are usually easy to0 mix, and Total Iso is no exception. It is slightly thicker than one would think, but with that said there was no clumping to complain about. 

We used the Official Shaker Cup of Fitness Informant, The Ice Shaker.

Check out the video above for a full mixability test.


Value

(9.0/10)

You can get Total Iso for just under $40 if you use coupon code INFORMANT. While not the cheapest protein on the market, the price per serving is still competitive. Worth buying and trying at least once.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

2LB

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Cutler Nutrition

$44.99

Save 11% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Cutler Nutrition

$44.99

2LBS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Cutler Nutrition

Cutler Nutrition

$44.99

Save 11% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Cutler Nutrition

USN

$56.99

Cutler Nutrition Total Iso

9

Profile

8.8/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

8.7/10

Mixability

9.5/10

Value

8.8/10

Pros

  • Macro Friendly
  • Easy Digestibility
  • Solid Value

Cons

  • Flavor may be sweet for some
Inno Supps Advanced Iso Protein Review: Interesting Flavor, Done With Stevia
USN BlueLab 100% Whey Review: A Solid Whey Blend

Leave a Reply