Skip to main content
Protein PowderUSN

USN BlueLab 100% Whey Review: A Solid Whey Blend

USN 100% Whey

8.8

Profile

8.6/10

Effectiveness

8.8/10

Taste

8.5/10

Mixability

8.7/10

Value

9.5/10

Pros

  • Enzymes For Digestion
  • Taste
  • Solid Value

Cons

  • Extra Sugar

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 20%

Overview of USN Bluelab 100% Whey

USN is a brand that not a lot of you are probably not aware of...yet. They are huge in South Africa, but are starting to gain traction in the states (America) due to great products featuring solid formulas.

USN BlueLab 100% Whey is a whey protein blend that consists of 3 different kinds of Whey Protein. These 3 are Isolate, Hydrolysate, and Concentrate. USN has some interesting flavors, and the one we had was Wheytella, which is an obvious Nutella inspired flavor. USN BlueLab 100% Whey can be found for a very fair price, and if you like the product, may be staple worthy.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed USN Bluelab 100% Whey Protein on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at quality of protein used, amount and other ingredients involved in the making of this protein powder.

We then look at effectiveness. A high quality protein will be effective. This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out Wheytella.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. We use the Official Shaker Cup of Fitness Informant, the Ice Shaker.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of proteins available on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.6/10)

usn whey

USN 100% Whey is a blend of 3 different forms of Whey Protein. It starts of with Whey Protein Isolate, followed by Whey Protein Hydrolysate, then. finishes off with Whey Protein Concentrate. WPI and WPH are typically used by people who are sensitive to lactose or people who are simply sensitive to WPC. Some benefits include low cholesterol, sugar, and fat. However since there is WPC in here, you kind of negate that benefit. 

Still, that does not make the product bad. We have to give credit to USN for using WPI and WPH as their first forms of protein in here, as they are more expensive and other whey protein blends tack them on in minuscule doses.

The sugar and fat in USN 100% Whey are higher than we’d like to see, however 5 grams of carbs shouldn’t hurt anyone. 

Overall, the blend is solid and we suggest just thinking of it as a regular Whey Protein supplement. The amount of proteins on par with other proteins on the market.


Effectiveness

(8.8/10)

Effectiveness of a protein really is an extension of the product profile. The blend of 3 separate protein powders don’t really make this product better than a simple whey protein concentrate. One thing that USN did well is add some digestive enzymes, making this easy on the stomach, something out user noted. Other than that, the only problem with this protein is the higher carb content, which will be up to you to determine if it is too high. While 5 grams of carbs isn’t a lot, compared to the rest of the market, it is slightly higher. Still not bad either way.


Taste

Wheytella: (8.5/10)

The Wheytella is certainly interesting. Other brands have tried to do a Nutella knock off flavor, and none have been too successful at it. Wheytella isn’t perfect, but it is probably the best Nutella inspired flavor on the market right now. 

The salted caramel flavor is mostly caramel, with a hint of salt that is very hard to notice on the back end. A situation unique to salted caramel is the late salty hit on the way down. For some it might feel thick in the throat or, worse, like reflux. If this happens, a thin drink may be needed as a chaser.


Mixability

(8.7/10)

The mixability is fine, at least for the Wheytella version. Our user noted some issues with his version of Salted Caramel, however nothing bad. With the blend of three proteins, it isn’t the thinnest protein out there, however it is thinner than we thought it would be. 

We used the Official Shaker Cup of Fitness Informant, The Ice Shaker.

Check out the video above for a full mixability test.


Value

(9.5/10)

You can get USN 100% Whey for $26.49 directly from the USN website. This is already a solid deal for a whey protein powder, especially an Isolate based protein. IF you use coupon code INFORMANT, you get an extra %20 off, which brings the price down to a steal. Well worth grabbing, and if you like the protein, it is staple worthy.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

4LB

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

USN logo

$26.49

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

USN logo

USN

$26.49

4LBS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

USN logo

USN

$56.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

USN logo

USN

$56.99

USN 100% Whey

8.8

Profile

8.6/10

Effectiveness

8.8/10

Taste

8.5/10

Mixability

8.7/10

Value

9.5/10

Pros

  • Enzymes For Digestion
  • Taste
  • Solid Value

Cons

  • Extra Sugar
Cutler Nutrition Total Iso Review: A Sweet Yet Lean Protein
Muscle Feast Grass Fed 100 %Whey Review: A Solid Protein At A Great Price

Leave a Reply