Skip to main content
Morphogen NutritionProtein Powder

Morphogen Nutrition Protegen Review: A Great Protein At A Great Price

Morphogen Nutrition Protegen

9.1

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

9.3/10

Pros

  • Flavor Options
  • Great Price
  • Easy To Digest
  • Taste
  • Mixability

Cons

  • Slightly Higher Carbs Than Some Other WPIs

SAVE NOW: Use code INFORMANT to save 10%

Overview of Morphogen Nutrition Protegen

Protegen is a great protein option. With plenty of flavors to choose from, and at an affordable price, this is certainly a protein you can stock up on or make a staple without getting bored of the flavor. The powder is very fine, almost like sand, which is typical for WPIs. 

While not necessarily better than your standard whey protein isolate, the flavoring and value simply put it above many other brands. The flavor options are great, the mixability is great, and the product overall is just great, We will certainly be using this more in the future.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Morphogen Nutrition Protegen protein powder on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at quality of protein used, amount and other ingredients involved in the making of this protein powder.

We then look at effectiveness. A high quality protein will be effective. This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out Maple Cream Donut.

Mixability refers to how well the protein powder mixes in 12oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of proteins available on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.0/10)

protegen

Protegen is a whey protein isolate, meaning it has been processed more than your standard whey protein concentrate. This helps filter out cholesterol, lactose, and fat, making it an overall leaner protein, while also making it digest faster. You do lose some of the healthy components of WPC that way, however it is usually easier on the stomach and won’t cause any stomach distress. 

Protegen is actually slightly higher than many of the WPIs that we have reviewed when it comes to macros. Coming in at 1 gram of fat, 3 gram carbs (2.5 of them sugar), and 20 grams of protein. While the carbs are slightly higher than average, at the end of the day, 3 carbs should not make a huge difference in your daily macros, and this is still a lean protein in our eyes.


Effectiveness

(9.0/10)

It’s really hard to rate the effectiveness of a protein powder. It is really just a convenient source of protein. You won’t magically build muscle from it, but it is a lot easier to hit your daily protein macros with the help of protein powder vs eating a bunch of chicken breasts and lean steaks.

With that said, there are some aspects you can judge a protein by. One being by how well it digests. We noticed no stomach distress or bloating from Protegen, which is most likely due to it being a WPI. No issues here, and it is effective because it is convenient and is easy to fit in your diet.


Taste

Maple Cream Donut: (10/10)

We had the Maple Cream Donut flavor and we have to say that we were impressed. Not necessarily due to how great it tasted, as we have to admit that if we were to use it again we would go for another flavor, but we were impressed by how accurate it is. There is really no other flavor like it on the market, and it is quite accurate to a Maple Cream Donut. 

Other brands that have done donut flavors, and most of them are just maple donut flavored, this one actually has a cream aspect to it.


Mixability

(9.0/10)

Protegen mixes very well, which is not surprising considering it is an isolate. It does foam up, which is no surprise, however any foam dissipates in a small matter of time.

Check out our mixability test in the video review.


Value

(9.3/10)

This is what really makes Protegen a solid protein, the value is simply more than fair. Every product on the Morphogen website is $48, and with coupon code INFORMANT you save 10%, so roughly $43. You get 46 servings per tub, so we have a WPI at around $0.93 per serving, which is very affordable and certainly shouldn’t hurt your wallet.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

3-LB

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

morphogen

$48.00

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

morphogen

$48.00

3-LB

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

morphogen

MuscleTech

$48.00

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

Enter your text here...

Morphogen Nutrition Protegen

9.1

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

9.3/10

Pros

  • Flavor Options
  • Great Price
  • Easy To Digest
  • Taste
  • Mixability

Cons

  • Slightly Higher Carbs Than Some Other WPIs
Morphogen Nutrition Morphobar Coming Soon
MuscleTech Iso Whey Clear Review: A Clean, Clear & Interesting Flavored Protein

Leave a Reply