Skip to main content
MuscleTechProtein Powder

MuscleTech NitroTech 100% Iso Whey Review: A Clean, High Quality Protein

By February 17, 2019No Comments

MuscleTech NitroTech 100% Iso Whey

9

Profile

10.0/10

Effectiveness

10.0/10

Taste

6.0/10

Mixability

10.0/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Clean Label
  • Protein Quality
  • ProHydrolase
  • Effective
  • Mixability

Cons

  • Taste

Overview of MuscleTech NitroTech 100% Iso Protein

MuscleTech is getting back to their roots with a focus on bringing quality products to market. We've worked with several of these new innovations from the brand, and we are very impressed.

MuschleTech NitroTech 100% Iso Whey may be one of the cleanest proteins on the market today. While most isolate proteins are 90% quality, MuscleTech NitroTech 100% Iso Whey is 97%. With such a clean label comes a sacrifice in taste, but quality and consistency are more important to us than not. This is a great protein at an affordable price. 

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed MuscleTech NitroTech 100% Iso Whey protein powder on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at quality of protein used, amount and other ingredients involved in the making of this protein powder.

We then look at effectiveness. A high quality protein will be effective. This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out Vanilla.

Mixability refers to how well the protein powder mixes in 12oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of proteins available on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(10/10)Iso Whey Label

You’ll be hard-pressed to find a cleaner label, with the additive of ProHydrolase, on the market today than MuscleTech NitroTech 100% Iso Whey protein. While most isolate proteins are 90% WPI, MuscleTech uses 97% BioPro isolate protein. This is one of the highest quality protein sources you can find in an isolate today. 

In addition to the 97% WPI, NitroTech 100% Iso Pro also includes 250mg of ProHydrolase. ProHydrolase is 50% Protease and 50% Bromelain, which has been shown to speed up the breakdowns of proteins into their simpler form of amino acids, and increase amino acid uptake by 20% more versus isolate protein alone.

What does this all mean? You are getting a super high quality protein powder, that breaks down more efficiently into its usable form of amino acids AND you’re getting more of it absorbed into your system.

The other macros are:

Fat: 0g
Carbs: <1g

Overall, this is a great, clean profile, that you won’t find much better on the market today.


Effectiveness

(10/10)

Effectiveness on a protein powder is really an extension of profile. This being a 97% whey protein isolate with ProHydrolase, you are getting fast absorption of your protein. You won’t get that feeling of bloating or fullness as there’s no lactose in this product AND it absorbs faster. You also should not get any discomfort from this.

Overall, this is a really effective protein powder without the discomfort of bloating or digestive issues.


Taste

Vanilla: (6/10)

This is the one area where the protein falls short. This is because it is such a clean label, they are not using creamers or other flavoring agents to “dirty” it up, thus the taste does suffer. This isn’t a great tasting vanilla in our opinion, but then again I didn’t expect it to be. You have trade offs between a super clean label and taste. Just know that going in. 

This could be better tasting, but then again, if you do that, the label won’t be as clean. Pick your poison. 


Mixability

(10/10)

Mixability on NitroTech 100% Iso Whey was fantastic. You can tell from the get go it is going to be good when you look at the dry powder. The powder is so fine that it looks like it would just dissolve in water rather quickly…and it does. There isn’t any clumping or leftovers in the shaker cup.

Check out our mixability test in the video review.


Value

(9/10)

MuscleSport NitroTech 100% Iso Whey retails for $70 for 5lbs. This actually is not bad considering the quality of source you are getting. The hesitation will be spending $70 on something that doesn’t taste great. I am more about the quality of the protein powder, so a $70 price tag is more than fair for 5lbs of a clean, 97% WPI powder. 

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

5-LBS

PRICE COMPARISON:

Amazon Logo

See Price at Store

5-LBS

PRICE COMPARISON:

Amazon Logo

Amazon

See Price at Store

MuscleTech NitroTech 100% Iso Whey

9

Profile

10.0/10

Effectiveness

10.0/10

Taste

6.0/10

Mixability

10.0/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Clean Label
  • Protein Quality
  • ProHydrolase
  • Effective
  • Mixability

Cons

  • Taste
RYSE Supplements Loaded Protein Review: Super Tasty Protein with Solid Profile
MAN Sports Iso-Protein Review: A Tasty and Clean Protein for You and Me

Leave a Reply