Protein PowderRYSE Supplements

RYSE Supplements Loaded Protein Review: Super Tasty Protein with Solid Profile

RYSE Supplements Loaded Protein

8.5

Profile

8.3/10

Effectiveness

8.3/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

8.8/10

Value

8.2/10

Pros

  • Taste
  • Mixability
  • Prebiotic Fiber

Cons

  • Unknown WPC Quality

Overview of RYSE Supplements Loaded Protein

RYSE Supplements is a newer brand to the scene that made noise early by signing Connor McGregor and Joey Swole to their team. Combined with stellar branding, RYSE has been able to rise rather quickly up the ranks of the sports nutrition industry.

Our first experience with the brand was their extremely tasty Loaded Protein product. The protein is a solid protein for the price with two sources of protein featuring whey protein isolate and whey protein concentrate. Combine that with MCT oils and prebiotic fibers, you get a good profile. The kicker for this protein is the taste. This was the best tasting cinnamon flavored protein we've tried to date. Looking for a new brand of protein, highly recommended from FI.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed RYSE Supplements Loaded Protein powder on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at quality of protein used, amount and other ingredients involved in the making of this protein powder.

We then look at effectiveness. A high quality protein will be effective. This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out Cinnamon Toast.

Mixability refers to how well the protein powder mixes in 12oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of proteins available on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.3/10)RYSE Supplements Loaded Protein Review

RYSE Supplements Loaded Protein is “loaded” because it features two forms of protein, MCT oil and prebiotic fiber in this protein. We see a lot of dual blended protein powders on the market. RYSE Supplements Loaded Protein is another version of that.

The two protein sources used in Loaded Protein are Whey Protein Isolate and Whey Protein Concentrate. WPI is the first source used, then WPC. What this means is that WPI is the primary source of protein used in the 24g serving. Unfortunately we do not know the quality of WPC used (WPC can be 34%-80%), however, as we will mention later in the effectiveness section, we did not feel bloated or digestive issues so I would think it’s a good quality. Each 33.6g serving contains 24g protein. This means that each scoop contains 71.4% protein. The rest would be things like MCT oil, flavoring, etc. We would like to see this number higher, as the higher the number the cleaner the protein is.

You also get 2g fats and 3g carbs (2g net carbs after removing dietary fiber). This is a decent profile for macros considering it combines two sources of whey protein.

The addition of MCT oil helps with flavor, for sure, but it also is a healthy version of fat, so seeing fat at 2g isn’t concerning to us. The prebiotic fiber is a nice touch too.

In order to differentiate yourself in the protein powder game today you need to be different, the addition of MCT and prebiotic fibers help separate this protein from other WPI/WPC proteins on the market.


Effectiveness

(8.3/10)

When talking protein powder effectiveness comes down to an extension of the profile. The higher quality the protein source and amount of protein per scoop, the more effective this will be. This is a WPI/WPC blend, and not knowing the WPC quality makes you wonder, but I personally did not experience any bloat or digestion issues. This tells me that the WPC is most likely a higher quality WPC. 

Even after drinking down two scoops of Loaded Protein I did not feel weighed down or off. In my opinion this is a solid, effective protein.


Taste

Cinnamon Toast: (9/10)

I am not the biggest fan of cinnamon flavored powders, but I can enjoy them when done right. This is the best cinnamon flavored protein powder I have ever had. It is not too “cinnamon forward,” it is just right. It literally tastes like the milk from the bowl of cereal after you eat your Cinnamon Toast Crunch. I have had other Cinnamon Crunch type cereal flavors, this one is the one, to date, that stands out as my favorite. RYSE Supplement nailed the profile on this. It was a nice change of pace and tasted great.


Mixability

(8.8/10)

Mixability on Loaded Protein was solid. It is going to mix a bit thicker than your typical Whey Protein Isolate because it has Whey Protein Concentrate, but it does not lead to crazy clumps. You can get a little clump here or there, but so minute that it is hardly noticeable. I was impressed with the mixability on this, especially for an ~34g serving size.

View the video above for a view of our mixability test. 


Value

(8.2/10)

RYSE Supplements Loaded Protein retails for $40 for a 2lb container. This is typically what you will pay for a pure whey protein isolate. Since this is a mix of WPI and WPC it could be on the higher end of the price range. They do make up some ground for the flavoring system. At the end of the day, this is a good value. If it was a pure isolate it would be a slam dunk. I also would like to see protein be a larger % of the actual serving size which would help justify the price tag as well.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

2-LBS

PRICE COMPARISON:

RYSE logo

$39.99

2-LBS

PRICE COMPARISON:

RYSE logo

RYSE Supplements Loaded Protein

8.5

Profile

8.3/10

Effectiveness

8.3/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

8.8/10

Value

8.2/10

Pros

  • Taste
  • Mixability
  • Prebiotic Fiber

Cons

  • Unknown WPC Quality
MuscleTech NitroTech 100% Iso Whey Review: A Clean, High Quality Protein

Leave a Reply