Protein PowderUSN

USN ZeroCarb IsoPro Review: The Ultimate Macro-Friendly Protein

By March 22, 2020 May 6th, 2020 No Comments

USN USN ZeroCarb IsoPro

9.1

Profile

9.7/10

Effectiveness

9.7/10

Taste

8.0/10

Mixability

8.0/10

Value

10.0/10

Pros

  • Zero Carbs
  • Zero Fats
  • Killer Value

Cons

  • Mixability

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 20%

Overview of USN ZeroCarb IsoPro 100% Whey Protein Isolate

USN is a brand that not a lot of you are probably not aware of...yet. They are huge in South Africa, but are starting to gain traction in the states (America) due to great products featuring solid formulas.

USN ZeroCarb IsoPro 100% Whey Protein Isolate is a great choice for those who absolutely do not want any extra carbs or fats in their diet. USN offers it in six flavors too, making it much different than other "zero carb" proteins on the market today. With protein taking up 90% of the serving size (the other 3g / 10% is flavoring) this is a really solid, clean protein.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed USN ZeroCarb IsoPro 100% Whey Protein Isolate on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at quality of protein used, amount and other ingredients involved in the making of this protein powder.

We then look at effectiveness. A high quality protein will be effective. This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out Apple Pie.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. We use the Official Shaker Cup of Fitness Informant, the Ice Shaker.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of proteins available on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.7/10)

USN ZeroCarb IsoPro label

USN ZeroCarb IsoPro 100% Whey Protein Isolate is one of the cleanest labels you will find in the protein game. Protein comes from 100% whey protein isolate, which is one of the highest quality proteins available on the market today. Being a whey protein isolate (WPI) that means the protein quality is at least 90% (whey protein concentrate is, at the highest 80% with the lowest being 34%). We get 27g protein per serving out of a serving size of 30g. This does not indicate protein quality, but the amount of protein in each serving (ratio). Each serving size is 30g, which means the remaining 3g comes in the form of thickening agents and flavors…which is not bad.

The other macros are 0g fat and 0g carbs. Sodium, another key many of us look at, is low at 105mg.

Overall, this is going to be one of the best protein profiles on the market today. The only protein that is considered “higher” quality is a Whey Protein Hydrolysate, but it is minimal at best.


Effectiveness

(9.7/10)

Effectiveness of a protein really is an extension of the product profile. What we know is we are getting a high quality protein source without the other “junk” found in some proteins. An isolate digests quicker than a concentrate. It also typically has the lactose removed, so if you have issues with lactose you should be fine with USN’s ZeroCarb IsoPro 100% Whey Protein Isolate. This allows for better digestibility by most users. The protein will be digested quickly, broken down into amino acids and used by your muscles in a fast manner, without the fats and carbs. We are fans.


Taste

Apple Pie: (8.0/10)

This is an area that we were actually let down. We are huge fans of Apple Pie. Going into this our excitement level was high. However, the taste is just off slightly. You do get the apple flavor along with some cinnamon, but there is an after taste that we cannot put our finger on. It is almost a cream-like after taste that wasn’t the most pleasant. It doesn’t make it undrinkable by any means, but we would like to try the other flavors to see if we get the same thing. This could be due to the fact there are no fats or carbs. You can tell it is an apple pie flavored protein,  but we wanted more from it.


Mixability

(8.0/10)

This was another area that shocked us a bit. First off, most isolates are going to mix very thin. USN ZerCarb IsoPro is actually thicker than we expected. In fact, it is so thick it is creamy. This is a cool feature to add to mouth feel and the experience, but it also caused it to clump slightly, something we don’t see often with an isolate. As you can see in the video above, there are small clumps that come out into the glass using our shaker. This must be due to some of the thickening agents in this protein.

We used the Official Shaker Cup of Fitness Informant, The Ice Shaker.

Check out the video above for a full mixability test.


Value

(10.0/10)

The value for USN ZeroCarb IsoPro is through the roof. You can get a 1.65lb tub for $30 or a 4lb tub for $57. This would typically run closer to $70 for a 4lb tub. Being a zero carb and zero fat isolate typically justifies a higher price tag. Use coupon code INFORMANT and save 20%. This would bring a 4lb tub down to just over $45, which is just above $1 per serving. This is an unreal deal.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

4LB

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

USN logo

$56.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

USN logo

USN

$56.99

4LBS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

USN logo

USN

$56.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

USN logo

USN

$56.99

USN USN ZeroCarb IsoPro

9.1

Profile

9.7/10

Effectiveness

9.7/10

Taste

8.0/10

Mixability

8.0/10

Value

10.0/10

Pros

  • Zero Carbs
  • Zero Fats
  • Killer Value

Cons

  • Mixability
Muscle Feast Recover Review: A Convenient Post-Workout Protein
Gaspari Nutrition Proven Whey Review: A High-Quality Protein At A Low Cost

Leave a Reply