Skip to main content
NutraBioProtein PowderWeight Gainer

NutraBio Extreme Mass Review: A Better, Cleaner Mass Gainer

NutraBio Extreme Mass

9

Profile

8.9/10

Effectiveness

9.2/10

Taste

8.7/10

Mixability

8.7/10

Value

9.5/10

Pros

  • Effectiveness
  • Protein Sources
  • Taste
  • Value

Use coupon code INFORMANT and save 10% off!

Overview of NutraBio Extreme Mass

NutraBio has taken a category that was once filled with absolute trash and made it respectable. This doesn't come as a surprise if you know the NutraBio brand like we do. They are reputable, consistent and they do things the right way.

NutraBio Extreme Mass is our favorite weight gainer on the market today. Simple as that. They do not toss in cheap protein sources that will make you have gut rot. They use WPC80, combined with Maltodextrin, Micellar Casein and MCT Coconut Powder. With Extreme Mass you are getting adequate proteins, carbs and fats to help you gain that much needed weight you are seeking. 

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed NutraBio Extreme Mass powder on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at quality of protein used, types of carbs and fats and other ingredients involved in the making of this weight gainer.

We then look at effectiveness. A high quality weight gainer will be effective. This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out Strawberry Pastry.

Mixability refers to how well the protein powder mixes in 12oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical official Fitness Informant Cyclone Cup.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of weight gainers available on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.9/10)NutraBio Extreme Mass Label

Let’s be real, there’s not a perfect weight gainer on the market today. If it was it would be made of chicken breast, Jasmine rice and sweet potato. If you’re going to buy a gainer in a powder form, you need to make sure you are getting a quality protein source and a decent carb source. Most weight gainers today don’t give you either.

NutraBio Extreme Mass is what we would call a “clean” gainer without a ton of fat but sufficient carbs and protein. The protein comes from two sources. We get 53g of protein per full serving from whey protein concentrate 80% (37g) and micellar casein (16g). This ensures you get the fast digesting and absorbing protein in WPC80 and the slower digestion of casein to help feed you over time.

The carbs primarily come from Maltodextrin. Maltodextrin is similar to Dextrose, but Dextrose is one type of sugar and Maltodextrin is multiple types meaning it takes a little longer to absorb. There are higher quality carb sources out there, but if you take this post-workout as designed, this is sufficient to restore glycogen stores in your muscle and fat cells. There is 5.4g used of Fibersol2, a digestion resistant maltodextrin akla fiber as well.

Fats are primarily coming from MCT Coconut Powder. A healthy version of fat.

The total macros are:

Calories: 650
Fats: 6g
Carbs: 99g
Protein: 53g

For those of you bulking (hence the name) this is a solid macro profile to replenish glycogen stores for energy and protein for muscle recovery. 


Effectiveness

(9.2/10)

The point of a weight gainer is to gain weight, right? Extreme Mass was great in that it was easy to drink and easy on the stomach. Because it uses a quality protein, you don’t feel bloated after consumption. There are a lot of carbs, but I didn’t experience a huge surge in energy from the carbs or a subsequent crash. This was a nice easy way to get an additional 650 calories to my day. It did aid in my quest to 225 pounds. I would consume this directly after a workout, 4-scoops, to help with the much needed calories. 

I would say that this is an effective weight gainer with sufficient carb source and great protein quality.


Taste

Strawberry Pastry: (8.7/10)

I will be honest. The first time I had this I was not the biggest fan, but this stuff grew on me to the point where I loved it. Here’s why I don’t think I liked it at first, I wasn’t used to something with all the carbs, the texture of casein and then the strawberry flavor. However, like I just mentioned, it grew on me, and I really enjoyed it.

I would say this does taste to description. If you think of a strawberry pastry, this is exactly that. Really happy with it and it didn’t get old at all.


Mixability

(8.7/10)

Given that 4-scoops of this is 173.08g you would expect it to mix poorly, but honestly it doesn’t. Yes, it is thick, but that is part of the experience and what makes it good. It does get thick, almost like a milkshake, but it is very enjoyable. You don’t get clumping, which was a pleasant surprise for us. See the video above for a demonstration.


Value

(9.5/10)

Weight gainers are typically expensive per serving. NutraBio Extreme Mass is ~16 servings when you are doing 4-scoops. Extreme Mass retails for $48, which is $3 a serving. If you think about that in terms of calories, you are spending $3 for a 650 calorie “meal.” That is completely worth it. It also uses great protein quality and not the cheapest carb source on the planet. With coupon code INFORMANT you also get 10% off making this even more valuable. 

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

6 LBS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

NutraBio logo

$47.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

NutraBio logo

$47.99

6 LBS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

NutraBio logo

NutraBio

$47.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

NutraBio logo

NutraBio

$47.99

NutraBio Extreme Mass

9

Profile

8.9/10

Effectiveness

9.2/10

Taste

8.7/10

Mixability

8.7/10

Value

9.5/10

Pros

  • Effectiveness
  • Protein Sources
  • Taste
  • Value
RedCon1 MRE Review: A Meal Replacement with Multiple Sources of Protein
NutraBio Reload Review: All-In-One Recovery Supplement

Leave a Reply