Skip to main content
Apollos HegemonyFat Burners

Apollos Hegemony AlphaMind V2 Review: A Big Blend of Disappointment

By February 3, 2019No Comments

Apollos Hegemony AlphaMind V2

6.2

Profile

4.9/10

Effectiveness

4.4/10

Taste

6.5/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Pros

  • Mixability

Cons

  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Prop Blend

Overview of Apollos Hegemony AlphaMind V2

Believe it or not, this is not the worst fat burner I’ve ever used. However, I can’t find any reason way I’d ever recommend this to someone else. The flavor is forgettable, the effectiveness even more so, and there are much better options for your money.

With so many companies going to full disclosure, I can’t see why they wouldn’t here. Almost frustrating to see companies having no shame in underdosing their products.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Apollos Hegemony AlphaMind V2 on four categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the fat burner supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective fat burner will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that fat  burner will be in terms of appetite suppression and fat loss.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Green Apple.

Finally, we look at Mixabiliy. Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

RYSE

We would normally discuss value, but this product is not available in the US yet.


Ingredients Profile

(4.9/10)

AlphaMind V2 Label

Let’s try to break this down, Alphamind V2 consists of 2 different blends. Unfortunately, they are both proprietary. The first blend is 551 mg per serving and consists of 5 different ingredients. They call this the Alpha Energy Blend.

The first ingredient listed is L-Carnitine. Now with 551 mg total, there is no possible way this is properly dosed. L-Carnitine needs no introduction, and while there is debate on its effectiveness, we can all agree that it is underdosed in here.

Next up we have caffeine anhydrous. I have to give credit to Apollos for disclosing the amount of caffeine. One scoop will give you 150 mg of caffeine, which should give everybody an energy boost. If you’re a stim-junkie you won’t notice much from this, but 150 mg should be able to at least wake you up. As always, caffeine is a personal ingredient, and 150 mg is going to effect everybody differently.

Olive Leaf Extract is up next in this blend. While there are health benefits associated with olive leaf extract, such as heart health and blood sugar, it doesn’t have much backing to it for fat loss. Also, we have no way of telling if there is enough in here to say if it “may” be beneficial.

So now we come to an ingredient that is actually pretty well known and that liked by many for fat loss. Rauwolfia is a source of alpha-yohimbine, and although I like the ingredient, I have to say that I don’t like it in here. Alpha-yohimbine has some potential for some gnarly side effects. While those side effects will depend your tolerance, we don’t know how much is in here. With an ingredient with that potential, at least let us know how much is in here.

Well at least they let us know how much vitamin B-12 is in here, which comes in at 100 mcg. Good that they use methylcobalamin as opposed to cyanocobalamin. Doesn’t really need to be in a fat burner though.

That ends the energy blend portion, next up comes the Mind-Blow and Adaptogen Blend. Again, it’s 1372 mg proprietary blend, and the first ingredient is choline bitartrate. So even if the blend consisted of only choline bitartrate, it would still be subpar. If it were Alpha GPC, I would be kinder.

Next up comes inositol, which may be beneficial for blood sugar health, but most of the studies supporting inositol is for women with PCOS. No idea on how much is in here, so I don’t see much of a benefit with this ingredient in Alphamind V2.

L-Tyrosine is good, and it’s nice to see it in here. There are several benefits with l-tyrosine, but once again, we have no idea how much Alphamind V2 contains, and it’s pretty safe to say it is underdosed with such a small amount in this blend.

To keep this simple, the next 3 ingredients are ginkgo biloba, bacopa, and gotu kola. Ginkgo is a pretty well known ingredient, and there are studies suggesting it is effective. I personally seem to get headaches when I take ginkgo, however since I didn’t get ay from Alphamind V2, I’m going to go out on a limb and say there is simply not enough. Bacopa is another great ingredient with multiple studies showing it can be an effective nootropic. I don’t get headaches from bacopa, however I do get headaches when I see companies throw it in a proprietary blend preventing me from knowing if I know if it is properly dosed. Gotu Kola is actually pretty underrated, and it’s a shame we don’t see it very often. Works fairly similar to bacopa actually. Well, once again I have to mention that we have no idea how much is in here, and studies suggest we use gotu kola at upwards of 2 grams a day, so there is no way it is dosed correctly in here.

Lastly, we have HICA, a metabolite of leucine. There isn’t much research on this ingredient, and honestly, it would more than likely be underdosed in here.


Effectiveness

(4.4/10)

Since this is a fat burner, I am going to break this down into categories. Then categories are energy, appetite suppression, and thermogenesis.

Energy: 5.7/10

With only 150 mg of caffeine, you can expect this to hit you as hard as 1.5 cups of coffee. For me, this was quite mild. It did give me an initial energy boost, especially the first few days, but nothing that was really crazy or enjoyable. Of course that feeling was gone by the end of the week. I didn’t get

Appetite Suppression: 4.5/10

As with energy, the first couple of days there was some mild appetite suppression. It wasn’t great, but somewhat noticeable. After a few days it was gone, and I got no benefit in this aspect. I’m giving it a few points, as it didn’t work for the first few days.

Thermogenesis: 3/10

I got very little thermogenesis out of this. There were a couple of times I thought I noticed something, but it’s hard to notice anything here in San Diego.

One thing I must note, is that I did not get any of the usual side effects from yohimbine. No anxiety, no crazy sweats, none of that. Either confirming to me that it is pixie-dusted in here, or that I had developed some sort of tolerance. Issue with the second conclusion is that I had not taken much yohimbine before using this, and other yohimbine containing products I’ve taken recently give me those expected side effects.


Taste

Green Apple: (6.5/10)

The flavor I received was the Green Apple flavor. The taste wasn’t bad, but I wouldn’t call it enjoyable. It was sweet with a bit of a chemical like taste. I like how it wasn’t overly sour, but it certainly tasted very artificial. Not something I’d sip on next to the pool, but I wasn’t dreading drinking it. Like with most flavored supplements, you eventually get bored of the flavor.


Mixability

(9/10)

It mixes quite well, so there is at least one good aspect to this product. There is slight foam after vigorous mixing, which is expected, and there is a slight amount of particles floating around, but nothing that you will notice while drinking, and unless you suck at shaking your shaker cup, you won’t get any clumps at all.

Apollos Hegemony AlphaMind V2

6.2

Profile

4.9/10

Effectiveness

4.4/10

Taste

6.5/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Pros

  • Mixability

Cons

  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Prop Blend
Performax Labs OxyMax Review: A Great Stimulant Based Fat Burner
Apollos Hegemony Brain Fuel V2 Review: A Nootropic With Promise, But Needs More Studies

Leave a Reply