Skip to main content
Alpha PrimePre-Workout

AP Regimen Legacy Series Pre-Workout Review: A Welcomed Upgrade

AP Regimen Legacy Series Pre-Workout

8.6

Profile

8.6/10

Effectiveness

8.7/10

Taste

7.7/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Patent Ingredients
  • Pumps
  • Clean Energy

Cons

  • Flavor

Use code INFORMANT to save 20%

Overview of AP Regimen Legacy Series Pre-Workout

AP Regimen f/k/a AP Sports Regimen has been advancing their performance supplements since a new leadership team came into the company back in 2021. Since the new leadership came in they have launched the AP Brownie Bites and well-dosed performance products such as a pre-workout and fat burning product. AP Regimen is one of the more respected brands now in sports nutrition.

Their new AP Legacy Series Pre-Workout was a massive upgrade from the old stick pack pre-workout the brand had offered. AP Legacy Series Pre-Workout features an advanced pump formulation with solid energy, endurance and focus. If you are in the market for a pre-workout that will give you some juicy pumps, AP Legacy Series Pre-Workout should be one to consider.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Kaged Pre-Kaged Elite pre-workout on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pre-workout will be.

RYSE

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Berry Gusher and Blue Crystal.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. ​See video above for the full test.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.6/10)

AP Regimen Legacy Series Pre-Workout LabelPre-workouts these days often concentrate their formulas on a few key categories. Maybe it is a fat-burning pre-workout, or maybe it is a low stim, but high cognition pre-workout. AP Regimen Legacy Series Pre-Workout gives users key ingredients to induce some epics pumps, and energy and endurance.

The formula starts out with 3.2g Beta-Alanine. This helps buffer lactic acid. What this means is it allows you to prolong your workout through improved muscular endurance. Next users get 2.5g Betaine Anhydrous. This ingredient is dosed very well and can contribute to power output, blood flow and recovery.

The hero ingredient in this is Betaine Nitrates as NO3-T. This is dosed at 2g. These are exogenous nitrates which will improve blood flow and induce a great pump.

D-Ribose is used at 1,500mg. D-Ribose is a simple carbohydrate that may improve energy levels by contributing to your glycogen stores. This can also aid in the pump.

Peak ATP is dosed at 450mg. Peak ATP is exogenous ATP that is identical to the ATP your body produces. ATP is what drives your body’s energy production. The clinical dosage is 400mg.

Caffeine Anhydrous shows up at 300mg. This is the fast acting caffeine that stimulates your CNS (central nervous system). This can improve reaction time, alertness, focus and more.

CDP-Choline is a choline molecule that improves focus and memory. It is dosed at 250mg. CDP-Choline has a higher bioavailability than Choline Bitartrate. This means less is required. We do like to see 500mg of CDP-Choline in formulas.

Theobromine, similar to caffeine and can be found in chocolate, is dosed at 200mg. This can help increase energy levels, improve fat loss and more.

Dynamine is dosed at 63mg, which yields 25mg of active Dynamine. We would like to see this at 50mg, minimum, to work well with the caffeine. This is similar to caffeine. The combination of Caffeine Anhydrous and Dynamine will lead to solid-state energy with a reduction in the crash.

Astragin from Nuliv Science is dosed at 25mg to aid with absorption.

Overall this is a good formula that will work well if you’re seeking energy and pump. Not that it is needed, but you don’t find Citrulline in this pre-workout (although their Pump has 4g) and some other cognitive ingredients like Tyrosine, it still hits on all aspects of a pre-workout formula. 


Effectiveness

(8.7/10)

There are three things we are big fans of here at FI when it comes to a pre-workout. Does it provide good energy? Is my focus improved? How big are my pumps? Answering those three questions with AP Regimen Legacy Series Pre-Workout is easy. Yes, yes and more yes.

Energy is solid at 300mg caffeine. If you cannot feel 300mg caffeine you may want to consider taking a break. The combination of caffeine and Dynamine is one we like, although a dosage of 50mg active Dynamine in total would have been a better combo, this still helps taper off from the “downer” that caffeine can provide when you take large amounts.

Pump is the best part of this pre-workout because we love exogenous nitrates. At 2g, this is a sufficient amount that should improve blood flow on pretty much the entirety of the population. There’s not much else to contribute to the pump as AP focused on one pathway, but it still works.

Focus is improved with the combination of caffeine, Dynamine, Theobromine, and CDP-Choline. I would have like to have slightly more in this department, but you still get in the zone and get it done.

Endurance is good. Beta-Alanine and Peak ATP are a solid combination to fight off fatigue. Getting through an hour workout should be no problem.

Overal this is the best pre-workout AP has put out. I like the formula and it works very well. When combined with the Pump it is extremely good.


Taste

Blue Crystal: (7.0/10)
Berry Gusher: (8.4/10)

We got to try Blue Crystal and Berry Gusher. We preferred Berry Crusher over Blue Crystal and it wasn’t close. We are just not fans of a blueberry flavoring system in Blue Crystal. If you do like that blueberry flavoring then you will enjoy it. It was true to taste, just not something we crave or enjoy very much.

Berry Gusher was good. You get a solid mix of flavors with the tartness and sweetness you’d expect.

They also have a Sour Gummy flavor.


Mixability

(9.0/10)

AP Regimen Legacy Series Pre-Workout is a nice serve serving at 14g. When mixed in 8oz of water it does extremely well. The only particles you have left are some smaller ones that sink to the bottom of the shaker/glass. You can view our mixing video on our review video above. This is one of the better mixing pre-workouts we’ve see.


Value

(9.0/10)

You will find that most pre-workouts are now at a 20-serving size. AP Regimen Legacy Series is the same at 20-servings. It is a 14g serving size which is respectable. It also feature branded ingredients in NO3-T, Peak ATP, Dynamine and Astragin. There is a cost associated with that. With code INFORMANT you save 20% which will drop this to $40 which is $2/serving. This is more than fair for a pre-workout that delivers.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

20-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

AP

$49.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

AP

$49.99

20-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

AP

AP Regimen

$49.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

AP

AP Regimen Legacy Series Pre-Workout

8.6

Profile

8.6/10

Effectiveness

8.7/10

Taste

7.7/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Patent Ingredients
  • Pumps
  • Clean Energy

Cons

  • Flavor
AP Regimen Legacy Series Pump Review: Fenugreek + Nitrates for Pump
AP Regimen Launches Birthday Cake & Blueberry Cobbler Prime Bites

Leave a Reply