Core NutritionalsPre-Workout

Core Nutritionals Fury X Review: All The Pump & Energy You Need

By September 9, 2019 No Comments

Core Nutritionals Fury X

8.5

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.2/10

Taste

7.8/10

Mixability

8.0/10

Value

8.5/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Full Transparency

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 5%!

Overview of Core Nutritionals Fury X

Core Nutritionals is a large company that doesn't make a lot of noise with their marketing. They let their formulas do the talking for them. Core makes some of the best products on the market today. A brand you can truly trust. 

Complete with a full pump complex, Caffeine, Dynamine and TeaCrine, Fury X is going to be one of the better pre-workouts o the market in terms of pump and energy. Fury X doesn't need to get fancy, they nail down the simple details to create an effective, great pre-workout.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Core Nutritionals Fury X on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pre-workout will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Star Candy.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.0/10)

Core Fury X Label

Often times, consumers have their hearts stolen by long chemical names and exhaustive ingredients lists from the label of some preworkout they plucked off the shelf at their local supplement store. They have a complete misconception in believing that some large chemical concoction is exactly what they need to fuel their workout. Ever heard the phrase, “keep it simple?” Well that is exactly what Core Nutritionals did here with Fury X. They built a powerhouse of a preworkout, solely focused around ingredients that have been clinically proven as beneficial components to any preworkout profile. This profile is effective, with a compact ingredient list. We like it when companies formulate this way, with every single ingredient having a clear and meaningful purpose.

Core Nutritionals has it broken down on the label for the dosages of both ½ serving (1 scoop) and a full serving (2 scoops). For the purpose of this review we will be using the numbers from a full serving of Fury X.

We start with 6,000mg of L-Citrulline, which majorly contributes to blood flow and also has some muscular endurance benefits. We are getting a clinical dosage here with a full serving. Creatine Monohydrate is included in this formula at 5,000mg, which is the recommended daily intake. This ingredient will keep you at saturation if you have already been supplementing with Creatine for some time. However, if this is your first experience with a supplement containing Creatine, it could take several weeks to become fully saturated using this product only. The noticeable benefit we are getting here is a slight decrease in fatigue with an increase in work volume capacity.

HydroMax is included next in this formula at 4,000mg. This is a great ingredient for increasing blood flow and muscular hydration during intense training. You must consume an ample amount of water to get its full benefit. We like seeing HydroMax dosed above 2,000mg so we are good here.

Next is NO3-T, aka Betaine Nitrate. We are getting 3,000mg here, which is a substantial dosage. It is important to note that Betaine Nitrate yields approximately 64% Betaine and 36% nitrates. By those percentages, we are getting 1,920mg Betaine and 1080mg nitrates. Nitrates do a great job of increasing nitric oxide in the body which increases blood flow significantly.

We now move into the stimulant and focus portion of the label. We begin with L-Tyrosine at a hefty dose of 2,000mg. We typically see this ingredient dosed around 1g in order to receive the cognitive benefits it is perceived to provide. Next, we have Choline DL-Bitartrate at 1000mg. We typically see this ingredient dosed between 500-2,000mg so we are good here. This ingredient has been proven to provide little success in improving mental cognition. Alpha-GPC (which is another source of Choline) would be a better choice here.

Next up is everyone’s favorite chemical and possibly the most popular stimulant of all-time, Caffeine Anhydrous. Everyone knows what it does and what it is used for. We are getting a dose of 350mg with a full serving which is will be way too powerful for many users. This high of a dose could bring on several side effects such as anxiety, shaking and rapid heartbeat.

Dynamine is found at 250mg. We get the tasteless 40% yielding form here, meaning we are getting 100mg of active ingredient. This is the recommended dose. Dynamine is an ingredient that has been said to enhance your energy mood and focus and is best utilized when paired alongside Caffeine and Teacrine. You guessed it, we are getting the trifecta here with the addition of Teacrine at 125mg (yielding 40%). This is a good dose of Teacrine as we expect to get at least 50mg. Teacrine acts similarly to Caffeine and Dynamine in its ability to enhance mental energy/focus, and the three exhibit an extremely synergistic effect with one another.

The formula is very basic, but extremely purposeful and efficient. This product is advertised as a “comprehensive energy and pump amplifier,” and this profile stands firmly behind that statement. We are happy with the chosen ingredients, along with the dosages we are getting here. Core Nutritionals found a solid balance of branded ingredients alongside impressive dosages.


Effectiveness

(9.2/10)

This pre-workout is very solid when it comes to the energy and focus aspects. It is a very high stim pre, and with 350mg of Caffeine we should expect an energy crash post workout. However, the Teacrine and Dynamine not only harness some of that buzzing energy you get from the high dose of Caffeine, but also helps ward off that stimulant crash.

Caffeine, Teacrine and Dynamine all work together to create a powerful mental stimulant, but it is a very focused feeling energy. You will literally feel the focus factor as the energy kicks in. If you have never tried a pre-workout with clinical dosages of these three ingredients, you likely have never experienced this feeling. It leads to a crazy efficient workout nonetheless.

For a higher stim pre-workout, the pump factor is very good. We have a strong pump profile with the incorporation of hefty dosages of ingredients like HydroMax and NO3-T. The blood flow I got with Fury X was pretty good considering the vaso-constriction factor the stimulants will contribute.

The strength, endurance and power components are primarily fueled by the energy factor. The energy and mental focus made me feel like I was in the best position to get the most amount of reps/weight possible.

Overall, the formula made for an incredible experience while testing this product. Many of the workouts were early in the morning (before 6am), and the energy and mental focus were incredibly useful. This would be a great early morning pre, especially for the larger body part days such as legs or back because it will really get you moving at such an early hour while still allowing you to go to work or school without worrying about any sort of stimulant crash. 


Taste

Star Candy: (7.8/10)

We were expecting more from this product in terms of taste. While it isn’t a bad taste, it was just a little more sour than we expected. The initial taste is actually pretty decent, but it leaves a slight aftertaste that is not so great.

Honestly, we don’t care too much about taste, especially when they have a profile like this one. It would be interesting to try their other flavors.


Mixability

(8.0/10)

Fury X mixed decently, but there just seemed to be a little chalkiness that I could not get to dissolve in the water. The scoops are rather large, and with 2 scoops being a full serving this is to be expected.

We decided to stick with an 8oz on this one because even though there isn’t any grittiness, the mixture definitely doesn’t feel uniform throughout.

Check out the mixability video above for a further look.


Value

(8.5/10)

The price tag on this pre-workout is 45$ for 20 servings, which is 2 scoops ($2.25 per serving). You have to remember that you are getting 4 branded ingredients here ,and several of the ingredients are dosed higher than we typically see them in other products on the market. If you cut back to using 1 scoop or even 1.5 scoops (now $1.13-$1.69 per serving), you will still be getting a clinical dose of almost all of the ingredients plus saving yourself some money. As we said up in the Ingredient section, 350mg of Caffeine will be too much for many people. So, if this is you consider cutting back to 1 scoop of Fury X.

When considering this product, you must remember: this is not a cheap formula. Everything is dosed correctly. Given the effectiveness of this pre, you have to decide if the 45$ is worth it to you and your own personal goals. You can use the coupon code INFORMANT which will save 5% knocking a few dollars off of the retail price.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

20-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Suppz Logo

$44.99

Save 5% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Suppz Logo

$44.99

20-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Suppz Logo

Suppz

$44.99

Save 5% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Suppz Logo

Suppz

$44.99

Core Nutritionals Fury X

8.5

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.2/10

Taste

7.8/10

Mixability

8.0/10

Value

8.5/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Full Transparency
Alpha Lion Superhuman Supreme Review: A Special Release Powerhouse

Leave a Reply