Core NutritionalsPre-Workout

Core Nutritionals Peak X Review: A Non-Stimulant Powerhouse

Core Nutritionals Peak X

8.6

Profile

8.6/10

Effectiveness

8.3/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

8.7/10

Value

8.5/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Taste
  • 4 of 5 Branded Ingredients

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 5%!

Overview of Core Nutritionals Peak X

Core Nutritionals is a brand that has consistently made high quality supplements. The brand itself may not come off "sexy" like some others in the space, but they put their time and energy into their formulas to ensure they are putting the consumer first.

Core Nutritionals Peak X is one of the best non-stimulant pre-workouts available on the market today. It uses key branded ingredients at optimal dosages to provide energy, pump and focus without the stimulants. It is important to come off stimulants to give your body a break. Peak X is a pre-workout you should consider if you want to go stim-free.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Core Nutritionals Peak X on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pre-workout will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Australian Gummy Snakes.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.6/10)

Core Nutritionals Peak X label

It is nice to see a non-stimulant pre-workout that is dosed correctly using branded ingredients with science behind them. That’s what Core Nutritionals Peak X does. We start with 3.2g Beta-Alanine. Beta-Alanine is the ingredient that gives you the “tingles” but it also helps increase muscular endurance. The 3.2g is the standard dosage. Core couples the Beta-Alanine with 2g of PeakO2. PeakO2 is a mushroom blend with great science behind it. PeakO2 has been shown to increase oxygen uptake which leads to better endurance and peak strength. The last ingredient used that has been shown to elevate strength, power and performance is ElevATP. ElevATP helps your body produce more ATP for better performance. We get a 300mg dosage, which the recommended dosage was 150mg. We get double the recommended dosage.

Regarding pump, we get two popular ingredients used, both branded. We get 1,500mg Nitrosigine. This is the clinical dosage of Nitrosigine. Nitrosigine promotes nitric oxide production. The other ingredient, Vaso6, is a green tea ingredient said to improve nitric oxide as well. Vaso6 is dosed at 300mg which is the standard dosage of Vaso6.

Overall we get four branded ingredients out of a total of five ingredients. The ingredients selected aid in endurance, power, strength and pump. Part of that endurance is energy without caffeine. The ingredients used are proven and backed by many studies. The one thing missing that we wish we had was cognitive ingredients. They are non-existent in this non-stimulant pre-workout. If we had 600mg Alpha-GPC this baby would be set. At the end of the day this is still a great non-stimulant pre-workout.


Effectiveness

(8.3/10)

For a non-stimulant pre-workout, this baby is effective. Obviously you are not going to get the energy rush you would get from stimulants, but you get a different feel of energy. The “energy” you get is more calm but steady throughout the workout. This all from a us who are used to a stimulant based pre-workout.

The endurance/power aspect of this pre-workout is fantastic. We are big fans of PeakO2 and ElevATP, which is aiding with these two features. Our workouts were long and steady. Muscle fatigue did not set in until late in sets and the workout. We were really happy with this area of the pre-workout.

The area that is non-existent is the focus aspect. We would add in Choline to aid with this pre-workout. So if you are looking for something that is going to improve cognitive function, you don’t get that with Peak X.

Overall, for a non-stimulant pre-workout, this is great. We just wish we had a cognitive aspect 


Taste

Australian Gummy Snakes: (9.0/10)

Australian Gummy Snakes is a flavorful pre-workout. It is a bit tropical, but you do get that sour gummy flavor to it, but not as much sour as you’d think. It is really good tasting. This is one thing that Core Nutritionals has really excelled in, their flavoring. 


Mixability

(8.7/10)

Each servings (two scoops) is 10.5g. This is on the lower end of pre-workouts that is truly effective. This does mix very well as you will see from the video. You can see slight particles floating, and some do sink to the bottom of the Cyclone Cup. This is nothing to deter us from buying. 

See the video above for a full mixability test.


Value

(8.5/10)

We know as a consumer many of you look for a pre-workout that is priced around $2/serving. Peak X is technically a 40/20 servings, but for optimal doses it is 20-servings. This retails for $45 which would be just over $3. For a non-stimulant pre-workout, many of you may be turned off, but you shouldn’t be. Four out of five ingredients are branded. All ingredients are dosed correctly. This is not a cheap formula, at all. Given the effectiveness of this non-stim pre, I would say $45 is fair. With coupon code INFORMANT you save 5% which is going to knock off a couple dollars too making this more valuable.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

40-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Suppz Logo

$44.99

Save 5% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Suppz Logo

$44.99

40-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Suppz Logo

Suppz

$44.99

Save 5% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Suppz Logo

Suppz

$44.99

Core Nutritionals Peak X

8.6

Profile

8.6/10

Effectiveness

8.3/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

8.7/10

Value

8.5/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Taste
  • 4 of 5 Branded Ingredients
Episode 33: Doug Miller
Core Nutritionals BOLIC Featuring PeakO2 & Laxogenin Now Available

Leave a Reply