HAK NutritionPre-Workout

HAK Nutrition PRE HAK Review

By November 4, 2017 January 16th, 2019 No Comments

HAK Nutrition PRE HAK

6.9

Profile

10.0/10

Effectiveness

8.0/10

Taste

3.0/10

Mixability

7.0/10

Value

6.5/10

Pros

  • Clincally Dosed
  • Great Ingredient Selectiion

Cons

  • Poor Taste
  • Overvalued

Overview of HAK Nutrition PRE HAK

HAK Nutrition broke onto the supplement scene in 2015 with two staple supplements: a pre-workout and a post-workout. HAK Nutrition prides itself on fully disclosed, high quality ingredients and a solid manufacturing process to ensure you are buying quality. HAK Nutrition operates without any celebrity endorsements building their name on quality alone. HAK Nutrition also donates $1 for every sale to local YMCAs.

PRE HAK from HAK Nutrition is a solid pre-workout that contains proper doses of high quality ingredients you need in a PWO. PRE HAK targets five different, important areas of your workout: energy, strength, fatigue, focus and pump. With over 21 active ingredients PRE HAK is a solid choice for a PWO among the lifting community.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed HAK Nutrition PRE HAK on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Raspberry Lemonade.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 12oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of best pre-workout products on the market.

Ingredients Profile

(10/10)

PRE HAK has a fully disclosed label that is broken down into five categories: energy, strength, fatigue, focus and pump. PRE HAK contains 275mg of caffeine anhydrous along with 25mg of TeaCrine for a total of 300mg of an energy kick which has become the norm in the PWO market.

Their strength component contains properly dosed betaine anhydrous (2.5g), hydrochloric creatine (2g) and taurine (2g). These doses are among the better side of the PWO market. You also get 6g of BCAA (2:1:1 ratio) which is uncommon in the pre-workout market. This is an added benefit to fight fatigue. Of course it contains beta-alanine (2g).

The focus component of PRE HAK is very typical of a PWO in that it contains N-Acetyl-L-Tyrosine (1.5g) which has been shown to improve mental focus and clarity.

Jump to the pump component and you get 6g of L-Citrulline DL-Malate (2:1 – we typically see 1:1 but this is good). This is on the higher side of the L-Citrulline dosages which we are not going to complain about…we all love a good pump. You also get cocoa bean extract which has shown to increase blood flow allowing for a more fuller pump.

​Overall you get 21 active ingredients per scoop. All the ingredients work nicely together to create a nice PWO product.

PRE HAK Label

Effectiveness

(8/10)

Effectiveness on a pre-workout really comes down to what you want to derive from the PWO. For us we like a nice steady energy, not something that hits you at once and then fades.

We love the cognitive components of PWO when they work. Of course we always enjoy a nice pump. PRE HAK provides all three. I know I just said we like a euphoric energy component of a PWO but I still don’t mind a nice rush at the beginning. With PRE HAK you don’t get that, but you do get a sustained energy throughout.

The focus is awesome on this product. You’re in the gym and you’re on a mission. Although you don’t see a lot of PWO have a fatigue component PRE HAK includes it and you can tell. I found myself wanting to keep going even after my normal lift, not because of the 275mg of caffeine but because of the 6g of BCAA included in this PWO.

If you’re looking for an energy rush this isn’t it, but if you like a steady euphoric energy along with awesome focus you’ve found a nice pre-workout.

Taste

Raspberry Lemonade: (3/10)

This is one of the more underwhelming parts of this pre-workout. If you’ve ready any of our prior reviews on PWOs you know we don’t care too much about taste because PWOs are meant to be taken quickly 15-30 minutes prior to your lift but we know some people like to sip on their pre-workout as they make the drive to the gym.

With that being said I wasn’t a fan of the raspberry lemonade flavor of PRE HAK. With this being a fairly new product and HAK Nutrition getting reviews from users I would anticipate them tweaking the flavor in the future but for now it wasn’t the best tasting PWO I have had.

Mixability

(7/10)

PRE HAK, at 25.3g per scoop, mixes very well in a blender bottle. You do get some residue if you don’t mix it well enough, meaning shake it several times. With the amount of different ingredients in this scoop it’s rather impressive how well it does mix.

Value

(6.5/10)

Although PRE HAK contains awesome dosages of great ingredients the price tag on this is still a little more steep than most PWOs. At their website this retails for about $45 for 25 servings. With that being said you are paying for quality. I think for someone who just wants an energy kick and doesn’t care about the fatigue support then this wouldn’t be for you.

If you are looking for an all-inclusive pre-workout this is a nice option if you are willing to pay for it. I would anticipate as HAK Nutrition grows and can work on their costs this price would come down but there is a price tag on using name brand ingredients.

  PRICE COMPARISON:

Amazon Logo

Check Price

HAK Nutrition POST HAK Review
Kaged Muscle Pre-Kaged Review: A Full Spectrum Pre-Workout

Leave a Reply