Skip to main content
Kaged Muscle SupplementsPre-Workout

Kaged Pre-Kaged Elite Review: Just A Loaded Pre-Workout

Kaged Pre-Kaged Elite

8.5

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

8.3/10

Mixability

7.0/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Mega Dosing
  • Nitrates
  • Effectiveness

Cons

  • Mixability

Overview of Kaged Pre-Kaged Elite

Kaged, formerly known as, Kaged Muscle, has re-branded and reformulated some products in their line-up to become more of a modernized brand in sports nutrition. Kaged is putting a re-emphasis on quality formulations while embracing transparency showing some behind-the-scenes content giving the consumer a better look into the brand.

Pre-Kaged Elite is an upgrade from the OG Pre-Kaged formula. The formula hits hard on pump, focus and energy, with some emphasis on endurance as well. Kaged did a nice job of improving this formula where we can authentically recommend it to any user. It has clean energy, great focus and solid pumps.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Kaged Pre-Kaged Elite pre-workout on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pre-workout will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Fruit Punch.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. ​See video above for the full test.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of fat burning pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.0/10)

Kaged Pre-Kaged Elite SFPKaged did a very nice job updating this formula. One of the biggest things I did not enjoy about the OG Pre-Kaged was the BCAA in the pre-workout. They removed those and upped key dosages of key ingredients.

The formula starts with a massive 10g serving of Citrulline. We don’t need 10g Citrulline. You can get the benefit of Citrulline at 3-5g. There isn’t a ton of evidence to suggest that you will have incrementally larger and fuller pumps at 10g as you would 5g so unnecessary but many brands are adding more and more into their pre-workout. Citrulline converts to Arginine in the body which will then increase Nitric Oxide. 

Beta-Alanine was increased to the full 3.2g dosage in this. This is what causes the paresthesia feeling many people experience, but beyond that, and more importantly, it can buffer lactic acid and help improve performance through increased muscular endurance.

Two forms of Creatine are used in the formula. Users get 3g Creatine Monohydrate and 2g Creatine Nitrate. Creatine has many benefits, but it can help with strength and power output. The nitrates from Creatine Nitrate will improve blood flow and increase pumps. Collectively users get just below the recommended 5g per day of creatine (which this is a pre-workout so not shocked you don’t get the full 5g).

Betaine Anhydrous, which contributes to power output, pumps and muscle recovery is dosed at the appropriate 2.5g.

Carnipure, which can help with energy production, is used at 1,500mg. We like the use of Carnitine in a pre-workout. We want to see it at a minimum of 1,500mg but prefer a full 3g if we can get it.

Taurine, which aids in electrolyte regulation, is dosed at what has become a standard at 2g. This also contributes to strength and endurance output too. In addition to Taurine, Coconut Water Powder is dosed at 500mg to aid in hydration. 

elevATP is dosed at 150mg. elevATP helps your body produce more ATP. Exogenous ATP breaks down in the gut. ATP is key for energy. The dosage you want on this is 150mg.

Tyrosine is used at a great dosage of 2,500mg. This helps improve focus and clarity and can aid in mood elevation. We typically see this at 1g.

Caffeine is used at 388mg from multiple sources (AmaTea and PurCaf). This is a higher dosage of caffeine versus the old version, but works quite well.

The last two ingredients aid in focus and clarity. Users get 300mg Alpha-GPC, one of our favorite choline molecules, and 100mcg of Huperzine-A. These collectively together will improve your foucs.

This formula could benefit from an ingredient uptake product like BioPerine or AstraGin, but other than that it is very solid. The thing about Kaged products are they are formulated to be safe and effective as they are for tested athlete. 


Effectiveness

(9.0/10)

As mentioned above, this is an upgrade from where the brand historically was out for their pre-workout. If you’re a tested athlete (even if you’re not) this is an effective pre-workout.

Energy

If you cannot feel 388mg of caffeine, our suggestion is just stop already. The energy comes from multiple sources, plus the use of Carnipure aids in the overal energy experience for you. The one big thing is that even though this is a higher amount of caffeine, you do not experience crash. The combo of PurCaf and AmaTea works well.

Focus

Alpha-GPC along with Huperzine A and the massive Tyrosine dosage is impressive for overall focus on Pre-Kaged Elite. You are “in the zone” if you will and can really concentrate on that min-muscle connection. With these focus ingredients, combined with caffeine, it works well.

Pumps

You cannot not get a good pump with 10g Citrulline and Creatine Nitrates. This is a great pump that it is not necessary to add one on if you don’t want/need too. The ingredients work very well together to improve blood flow. You will notice pumps big time in the mirror.

Strength & Endurance

elevATP, Beta-Alanine and Betaine all work very well with one another to improve overall effort and output. I like the use of elevATP with Creatine as well as they work to create ATP within your system which will drastically improve output.

Takeaway

This is a great pre-workout that works. No gray area ingredients. No bullshit.


Taste

Fruit Punch: (8.0/10)

Once you had one fruit punch, you’ve had them all. Seriously. That isn’t a bad thing, at all. I am just not the biggest fan of Fruit Punch, but it is a safe bet by brands to do it.


Mixability

(7.0/10)

This is the area where this one struggles. It has semi-poor mixability. Now, take into account it is a massive serving size of 36g, but even still it had too much residue at the bottom of the glass (see video). We did use 16oz of water and it was still an issue. I would still buy this, in a heartbeat, but this is not a fully soluble pre-workout.


Value

(9.0/10)

If you’re a tested athlete, this is a 10/10. For most of us, this is a 9.0/10 and rightfully so. This is a great formula at a great price. You are getting massive dosages on key ingredients and at the end of the day, you’re getting a pre-workout that WORKS. If we get a coupon code we will publish it here to save you some dollars.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

20 SERVINGS

PRICE COMPARISON:

Kaged

$54.99

20 SERVINGS

PRICE COMPARISON:

Kaged

Kaged

$54.99

Kaged Pre-Kaged Elite

8.5

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

8.3/10

Mixability

7.0/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Mega Dosing
  • Nitrates
  • Effectiveness

Cons

  • Mixability
Kaged Launching Clean Burn Powder with Apple Cider Vinegar
RYSE Supplements Godzilla Pre-Workout Review: Just A Loaded Pre-Workout

Leave a Reply