Skip to main content
Morphogen NutritionPre-Workout

Morphogen Nutrition Alphagen Review: Loaded Profile, Loaded Workouts

Morphogen Nutrition Alphagen

8.7

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.2/10

Taste

8.0/10

Mixability

8.5/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Energy
  • Value

Cons

  • Some Might Not Like Theanine

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 10%

Overview of Morphogen Nutrition Alphagen

Morphogen Nutrition Alphagen is a preworkout supplement that simply delivers powerful energy, without being overpowering. The profile is simply loaded, and it hits all areas well that we look for in a pre-workout. Energy, focus, and pumps are all solid, and while it hits hard in all of those aspects, none of them are too much either, but still very impressive .

The flavor we had was quite good, albeit there was a hint of bitterness in the background, which we assume is due to the Dynamine and TeaCrine. The mixability is solid as well, and for what you are getting, the price is fair. If you want a loaded pre-workout in your line-up, Alphagen is certainly one to go with. 

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Morphogen Nutrition Alphagen on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pre-workout will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Peach Rings.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.3/10)

alphagen

The first ingredient in Alphagen is Citrulline Malate at 8 grams at a 2:1 ratio. Citrulline converts to Arginine, which is a precursor to Nitric Oxide. At 8 grams, you are getting a solid dose. The next ingredient is Creatine Monohydrate. Creatine is a well known performance booster, and should actually be taken every day. So you definitely want to have a tub of creatine monohydrate on the side to take every day. You are at least getting a clinical dose of 5 grams in Alphagen. 

The next two ingredients are Beta-Alanine and Tyrosine. Beta-Alanine is a common ingredient in pre-workouts, and like creatine should be taken every day. You get 3.2 grams, which is a clinical dose. As for Tyrosine, it is a precursor to a dopamine, norepinephrine, and more. It is common in nootropics, and is great for focus under stressful situations. At 3 grams, you are getting a strong dose.

Next up we have DMAE, which inhibits Choline metabolism, thus increasing focus. At 750mg, you are getting more than the average dose. The next ingredient is Mucuna, which provides L-Dopa. L-Dopa is a precursor to Dopamine, which is the “feel good” hormone. Solid dose in Alphagen. Alpha GPC is up next in Alphagen, which is a source of Choline. Alpha GPC is a solid source of Choline, especially when compared to Choline Bitartrate. At 600mg, the dose is great in Alphagen.

The next two ingredients are popular ones from Compound Solutions. TeaCrine and Dynamine are both very similar ingredients. Both are great for energy, however they hit you somewhat differently. TeaCrine hits you somewhat slower and is typically used to prevent crashes and make the energy from Caffeine feel like it’s lasting longer. Dynamine gives you the same feeling however unlike TeaCrine, which hits you after 30-45 minutes, Dynamine hits you much quicker, within 15 minutes, and really puts you in tune with your body when you workout. You get 100mg of each in Alphagen, which are great doses for both. One issue with both combined, is that some people may experience a sedative like effect. Others will get great energy.

Next up we have everybody’s favorite energy booster, Caffeine. Caffeine obviously helps with energy, and at 200mg, you aren’t getting a huge dose in here. Just enough to provide energy for most people, without going over the top. What will certainly get you going however, is the 200mg of PEAs. PEAs are great for euphoria and energy, and you are getting a strong dose of it in Alphagen.

Theobromine is next and it is actually similar to Caffeine, just not as strong. It is a xanthine, just like Caffeine, and at 200mg, you are getting a solid dose. The next ingredient is a hit or miss one, which is Theanine, at a rather high dose of 200mg. This is meant to calm one down and prevents jitters or anxiety brought on by stimulants. Some love it, some don’t.

Next up we have Synephrine, which is a mild beta-agonist. It can help with energy, especially when combined with Caffeine. At 50mg, it is dosed well in Alphagen. Next is AstraGin, which can help with absorption. There is also BioPerine, which is meant to also help with absorption.

Finally, we have Huperzine, which is an Acetylcholinesterase inhibitor. This simply prevents choline from being broken down in the brain. At 200mcg, it is somewhat high for some, but not bad.


Effectiveness

(9.2/10)

Now just by looking at the profile of Alphagen, you know you are in for a fun workout every time you use it. The main things we look for in a pre-workout are energy, focus, pumps, and performance. We can say, Alphagen worked well for all of those.

With 8 grams of Citrulline Malate at a 2:1 ratio, you’re going to get a noticeable pump from it, and that is certainly something we did notice. Of course, you can always stack it with a pump product to make it stronger, however that isn’t necessary. 

As for the energy, it is certainly there, and very noticeable. With the addition of PEAs, it certainly gives off a euphoric feeling, and the Dynamine/TeaCrine combo also throws in a little extra “clean” energy to the mix. The Theanine certainly prevents any uneasy feeling. You seem to be in complete control of your energy, and it is something that must be experienced. It’s not overpowering, but somehow still very strong and noticeable. 

The focus with Alphagen is great as well. With the high dose of DMAE, Tyrosine, and a clinical dose of Alpha GPC, there is no way you don’t get some sort of boost in your mind-muscle connection. Dynamine really puts you in-tune with your body as well, so you are certainly going to notice if you are working the wrong muscle on certain exercises.  Really top notch in this category.

Alphagen simply delivers great workouts for any workout. Of course, you don’t always need something this loaded or powerful to get a good workout in, but for days where you want that experience, Alphagen certainly delivers.


Taste

Peach Rings: (8.0/10)

We had the Peach Rings flavor to try here and it is actually quite good. The only drawback is that due to the TeaCrine and Dynamine, there is a hint of bitterness in the background. If that were gone this would be a 9/10, however with that slight bit, we had to bring this rating down a notch. Still not bad either way.


Mixability

(8.5/10)

Alphagen mixes very well and we have little to complain about. Yes you should probably use more water, but even at smaller amounts of water we did not notice any clumping. The only issue we had were some particles getting stuck on the sides of our shaker cups, so you may want to swish around the water as you drink.


Value

(9.0/10)

You can get a tub of Alphagen directly from the Morphogen Nutrition website for $48 for 20 servings. If you use coupon code INFORMANT you save an additional 10%. So you’re looking at just above $2 for a loaded pre-workout that will deliver on focus, energy, pumps, and performance. This is a fair deal to us, and you certainly are getting what you pay for. This is priced competitively for the type of pre-workout that it is.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

20-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

morphogen

$48.00

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

morphogen

$48.00

20-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

morphogen

Morphogen Nutrition

$48.00

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

morphogen

Morphogen Nutrition Alphagen

8.7

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.2/10

Taste

8.0/10

Mixability

8.5/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Energy
  • Value

Cons

  • Some Might Not Like Theanine
5% Nutrition 5150 Review: High Energy, Great Tasting Pre-Workout
Tiered Nutrition Demand Review: Here Because Of Your Demand For Well-Dosed Pre-Workouts

Leave a Reply