Skip to main content
Morphogen NutritionPre-Workout

Morphogen Nutrition Volugen Review: Morph Your Pumps

Morphogen Nutrition Volugen

8.9

Profile

9.4/10

Effectiveness

9.3/10

Taste

8.5/10

Mixability

8.8/10

Value

8.7/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Pumps
  • Endurance
  • Performance

Cons

  • Taste Isn't Perfect

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 10%

Overview of Morphogen Nutrition Volugen

Morphogen is a non-stim pre-workout supplement meant to aid with pumps, endurance, performance, and focus. It is actually one of the more loaded formulas on the market, and is easily one of the top notch products in its category. With trademarked ingredients such as PeakO2, Nitrosigine, and Vaso6, there is no way you will not feel this one. 

While the taste isn’t absolutely perfect, which is expected due to some of the ingredients in Volugen, the effectiveness easily makes you forget. It simply delivers on pumps and performance. With a fair price point, Volugen is certainly a product that lifters need to experience at least once.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Morphogen Nutrition Volugen on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the stim-free pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective stim-free pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pre-workout will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Strawberry Burst.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. We use the Official Shaker Cup of Fitness Informant, the Ice Shaker.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of stim-free pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.4/10)

volugen

Volugen is a loaded product, just had to get that out there right off of the bat. This is an ongoing theme among the Morphogen Brand, so that’s no surprise.

The first ingredient in Volugen is L-Citrulline. Citrulline converts to Arginine, which is a precursor to nitric oxide, which of course can aid with pumps and performance. At 8 grams, you are getting more than what most need, which isn’t a bad thing. Following Citrulline comes GlycerSize™. Glycerol Monostearate is a common ingredient in pre-workouts, as it can help with cellular hydration. Volugen uses GlycerSize, which is standardized to 65% Glycerol. You’re getting three grams in here, which is slightly above the average 1-2 grams you see in many other formulas.

Betaine Anhydrous is next on this label at 2.5 grams, which is a good dose. Betaine has several benefits, however it is usually thrown into pre-workouts as it has been shown to increase power output. Next up is PeakO2™, which is a patented ingredient from Compound Solutions. It may aid with performance by increasing your VO2 Max, and at 2 grams, is dosed well. Mushrooms in general have a lot of benefits, so we suggest grabbing PeakO2 as a standalone for your off days as well.

The next ingredient in here is one of our favorites, called Nitrosigine®. Nitrosigine is from Nutrtion21, and it is a bonded form of arginine-silicate. To keep it simple, it can help with pumps and has some good data to back it up. At 1.5 grams, it is at the clinical dose. Following Nitrosigine, we have Acetyl-L-Carnitine at 1 gram. ALCAR is a common ingredient in nootropics and fat burners. Unlike regular Carnitine, it can cross the blood-brain barrier, and has been shown to be beneficial for focus. At 1 gram, it is dosed well in Volugen.

The next two ingredients are rather interesting. Rhodiola Rosea is a known adaptogen, and unfortunately isn’t used in pre-workouts often enough. It may increase focus under stressful conditions, and at 680mg, is dosed well in Volugen. Next up we have VasoDrive-AP™. This is something known as lactotripeptides, which are derived from casein. To keep it simple, they aid with pumps by inhibiting enzymes that increase blood pressure. You get 508mg in Volugen, which is the actual clinical dose. The reason we bring this up, is because you will find many brands stick to 254mg, which may give off some benefits as well, but we have to give credit to a company using the actual studied dose. 

Speaking of cool pump ingredients, the next one is Vaso6™. Vaso6 is another ingredient from Compound Solutions which is derived from Green Tea Extract. While it is more than just a simple Green Tea ingredient, to keep this simple it acts as a vasorelaxant and aids with nitric oxide production. At 300mg, it is dosed well in Volugen. The next ingredient is Norvaline at 250mg. Norvaline inhibits an enzyme called Arginase, which breaks down Arginine. At 250mg, it is dosed well.

The formula rounds out with Vitamin C and some electrolytes. Electrolytes and proper hydration are vital for muscle contractions and getting a good pump, so it is a welcome addition. Overall, the profile is simply impressive and contains ingredients that are all well dosed. While some would consider it overkill, and it may be, it is still one of the more “fun” profiles we’ve seen, and with such a loaded profile, you simply have to try it


Effectiveness

(9.3/10)

Well what can we really say… Volugen simply delivers, and how can it not. With such a loaded formula, you know that you are going to have a good time. Of course Volugen simply delivers on what it is intended to do. Every workout delivered the same results, which were of course some real intense pumps that make you back off some of your sets because the pump is simply too much, however makes you excited for your next set as the pumps simply hurt so good.

The most impressive aspect to Volugen is the consistency. Every workout seemed to deliver the same effectiveness, even with varying amounts of carbohydrates preworkout. It was really nice to see that arm vein pop up every day regardless of what we were training that day. 

With pumps being good, there were more noticeable benefits from Volugen, one simply being performance. Even in a caloric deficit, our user was able to not only get great pumps, but also a noticeable increase in endurance/performance as well. With the additions of Betaine Anhydrous and PeakO2, along with the increased blood flow, this is really no surprise.


Taste

Strawberry Burst: (8.5/10)

Our user had the Strawberry Burst flavor, which is supposed to resemble a pink starburst. This is one area where the product was somewhat off the mark, as there is somewhat of a strawberry flavor to it, however don’t expect a candy like flavor to it. While it is not horrible by any means, it is the only aspect of Volugen that isn’t on the mark, and we have to admit there are better tasting products on the market. However it is still a nice subtle strawberry type of flavor.

Of course, with such a loaded profile and with ingredients that are hard to mask (such as PeakO2), we can overlook this due to the profile being on point. 


Mixability

(8.8/10)

Overall, the mixability on Volugen is quite good. With the GlycerSize™ and PeakO2, it does have a bit of a different texture to it. Very slight on the graininess thats not bothersome, and has that Glycerol like mouthfeel. With that said, it isn’t bad and certainly goes down easily.

We used the Official Shaker Cup of Fitness Informant, The Ice Shaker.

Check out the video above for a full mixability test.


Value

(8.5/10)

So this is rather interesting. Every product on the Morphogen website is the exact same price at $48. You get 20 servings in Morphogen, which brings this to $2.40. There are coupon codes available that bring it down some as well, check below to see if we have one. So while at first glance this is on the higher side for some, you have to consider that this is a loaded product, and when you compare it to similar premium pre-workouts, it is actually priced competitively. If you really need energy in your pre-workout you can always stack a caffeine source to it and you’d have a complete pre-workout product as well. 

If a great pump and experience for your workout is worth the money to you, then Volugen is certainly worth trying out for yourself.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

20 Servings:

morphogen

$48.00

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

Price Comparison

morphogen

$48.00

PRICE COMPARISON:

morphogen

$48.00

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

Price Comparison

morphogen

Morphogen Nutrition Volugen

8.9

Profile

9.4/10

Effectiveness

9.3/10

Taste

8.5/10

Mixability

8.8/10

Value

8.7/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Pumps
  • Endurance
  • Performance

Cons

  • Taste Isn't Perfect
Primeval Labs Mega Pre Black Review: Updated Formula, Killer Formula, Great Value
Performax Labs HyperMax Extreme Pink Starblast Flavor Review: Impressive Profile With An Impressive Flavor

Leave a Reply