Pre-WorkoutPrimeval Labs

Primeval Labs Mega Pre Black Review: Updated Formula, Killer Formula, Great Value

Primeval Labs Mega Pre Black

8.8

Profile

8.7/10

Effectiveness

8.7/10

Taste

8.3/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

9.2/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Value
  • Dynamine

Cons

  • Some Bitterness

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 33%

Overview of Primeval Labs Mega Pre Black

Mega Pre Black is one of the better formulated products on the market, and performs very well. With solid doses of Citrulline and Pine Bark, it certainly does help deliver pumps, and the combination of Dynamine, TeaCrine, and Caffeine make for a solid energy experience.

The flavor, while good does have a slight bitterness to it due to some of the ingredients, however it is still very drinkable. The effectiveness makes up for that, and Mega Pre Black is certainly a pre-workout that hits the notes we look for. With that said, it is also very stackable with many pump products out there. Certainly one of the better more affordable options on the market for sure.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Primeval Labs Mega Pre Black on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pre-workout will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Rainbow Candy.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.7/10)

 

primeval mega preThis is a review for the updated formula, have to get that out of the way. We loved the old one, but this one is certainly an improvement. The profile starts off with 6 grams of L-Citrulline. Citrulline converts to Arginine in the body, which is a precursor to Nitric Oxide. This can help with pumps and is very common in preworkouts. It is dosed well at 6 grams. Next we have Beta-Alanine, which is another common ingredient in preworkouts. This can buffer lactic acid and can aid with endurance. At 3.2 grams, it is dosed well in Mega Pre Black.

Betaine Anhydrous is the next ingredient, and can help with power output. At 3 grams, it is dosed well in Mega Pre Black. The next ingredient is Choline Bitartrate. This converts to Acetylcholine in the brain, which is a neurotransmitter. The only issue with Choline Bitartrate is that it does not cross the blood-brain barrier very well, and while we’d prefer Alpha GPC or CDP Choline, at least it is at a 2g dose, which is high when compared to the market. 

Of course, no pre-workout would be complete without Caffeine in this category. You get 325mg of Caffeine Anhydrous in 2 scoops. 

Compound Solutions makes an appearance in Mega Pre Black in the form of Dynamine™. Dynamine is an ingredient which can help with energy and really puts you intune with your body, especially while you lift. At 260mg (40% standardization), you’re getting about 100mg of actual Dynamine™ in here, which is a solid dose. Next up we have Pine Bark Extract, which provides antioxidants that may help with heart health and are commonly found in pump products. At 200mg, it is dosed well. 

TeaCrine® is next on this list, and is similar to Dynamine, however takes a while to kick in. It can help with long-lasting energy and help prevent a crash. At 150mg (40% standardization), you get a 60mg dose in here, which is solid. Next up is ElevATP®, which increases ATP production in the body. ATP is the energy currency of your cell, and ElevATP is at the clinical 150mg dose. 

The last two ingredients are DiCaffeine Malate as Infinergy™, and Huperzine A. Infinergy is a timed-release Caffeine, which helps prevent crashes and can prolong energy. Finally we have Huperzine A, which prevents choline from being broken down in the brain. At 100mcg is it dosed well. You don’t need much Huperzine if you have a choline source along with it. 

The profile uses proven ingredients, and everything in Mega Pre Black is dosed well. We have very few complaints here.


Effectiveness

(8.7/10)

Mega Pre Black simply delivers. With such a nice balanced formula, it helps with energy, pumps, and performance. The energy you get from Mega Pre Black is a step above smooth, and very noticeable. Not overpowering, but certainly a solid boost in energy. The Dynamine and TeaCrine combo certainly help, as the Dynamine really puts you in tune with your body, and the TeaCrine prevents you from crashing and also helps with energy. 

The pumps are certainly noticeable as well. Of course, if you really want a major pump you may have to stack something with this, but the 6 grams of Citrulline you certainly get a noticeable pump. Better workouts and drive were certainly also noticeable with Mega Pre Black as well. 

This is one of the more effective pre-workouts in recent memory, and we really enjoyed our experience.


Taste

Rainbow Candy: (8.3/10)

So we got to try out the Rainbow Candy flavor, and it’s actually quite enjoyable. It’s not overly sweet, and refreshing at the same time. With that said, there is a bit of bitterness towards the end, as the Dynamine and TeaCrine are notorious for this. Some may not notice it, but those with sensitive palates may notice it. Still drinkable either way.


Mixability

(9.0/10)

So we got to try out the Rainbow Candy flavor, and it’s actually quite enjoyable. It’s not overly sweet, and refreshing at the same time. With that said, there is a bit of bitterness towards the end, as the Dynamine and TeaCrine are notorious for this. Some may not notice it, but those with sensitive palates may notice it. Still drinkable either way.


Value

(9.3/10)

You can get Mega Pre Black for $45 directly from their website, which gives you 40 or 20 servings. While that seems expensive, we have to say that with coupon code INFORMANT you get 33% off. Also, Primeval Labs constantly has some sales going on, such as BOGOs and the like. Since these tend to be constant, we cannot ignore it at all. Certainly a solid pre for the money. 

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

20/40-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Primeval Labs

$44.99

Save 33% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Primeval Labs

$44.99

20/40-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Primeval Labs

Primeval Labs

$44.99

Save 33% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Primeval Labs

Primeval Labs Mega Pre Black

8.8

Profile

8.7/10

Effectiveness

8.7/10

Taste

8.3/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

9.2/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Value
  • Dynamine

Cons

  • Some Bitterness
Muscletech Shatter Elite Review: Time To Shatter Your Workouts
Morphogen Nutrition Volugen Review: Morph Your Pumps

Leave a Reply