Pre-WorkoutPurge Sports

Purge Sports Pre V2 Review: A Well-Dosed Pre-Workout Supplement Providing Pumps, Energy and Focus

By March 7, 2019 May 20th, 2019 No Comments

Purge Sports Pre V2

8.4

Profile

8.0/10

Effectiveness

8.5/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

8.5/10

Value

8.0/10

Pros

  • High Caffeine
  • Taste
  • Mixability

Cons

  • Some Ingredients Underdosed

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 20%!

Overview of Purge Sports Pre V2

Purge Sports is a "cool" brand in sports nutrition, but they are also putting out some really good products. The business itself is setup to support your local supplement shop, so don't be alarmed by their online prices. You can get some of their great products in stores for a very affordable price.

Purge Sports Pre V2 is a solid pre-workout featuring a pump, energy/endurance and focus complex. It is a fully transparent label with solid ingredients used at effective doses. The flavoring system is on-point too. With Pre V2 from Purge Sports you will be sure to get a kick of energy, a boost of endurance, solid pumps and great focus.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Purge Sports Pre V2 on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pre-workout will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Pineapple Express.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.0/10)

PRE V2 Label

I enjoy when companies divide their labels into different categories, which makes it easier for the consumer to understand what each ingredient does. PRE V2 contains 3 separate categories that will guide the structure of our discussion on this product’s ingredient profile. Let’s get right to it.

Let’s start with the Pump & Nutrient Absorption Complex. We begin with 6 grams of Citrulline Malate, which is the typical dose we see in pre-workouts. This ingredient works to increase blood flow and muscular endurance. Next, we have a 2g dose of Arginine AKG. We like to see this ingredient dosed no lower than 1g, so we are good here. Arginine works in the body to increase blood flow and NO production leading to better pumps. Research does show, however, that exogenous Arginine has poor absorption. Hydromax is dosed at 1500mg, which is used to increase hydration and nutrient flow to the muscle. This is a decent dosage. We like to see it up to 3g if possible. Taurine is found at the typical dosage of 1g, which is known to increase strength output and regulate electrolytes. Agmatine Sulfate is dosed at 750mg, however we typically like to see this ingredient at 1g or higher. It is used to increase NO production and can “trick” your pain receptors so you can get that last rep without quitting. Ornithine HCL is found at only 500mg, which is an under dosed ingredient. It has been found to increase strength and power at doses between 2-6g. Lastly Purge Sports included AstraGin, a powerful patented ingredient that increases the absorption of certain nutrients including aminos, vitamins and minerals. This is the correct dosage of AstraGin.

Next up is the Energy & Endurance Complex. The first ingredient is Beta-Alanine which gives you that itchy and tingly feeling. Beta-Alanine is properly dosed at 3.2g and has been proven to increase muscular endurance. Next, we have Betaine Anhydrous dosed at 1.5g. This is an acceptable dose which is in line with the clinical standards of between 1.5-2.5g. This ingredient works to increase strength and power output, as well as muscular endurance. This product contains a hefty dose of Caffeine Anhydrous at 325mg. This is coupled with Infinergy (Di-caffeine Malate) at 50mg. Infinergy is a form of caffeine that is supposed to help combat the post workout crash that comes with many high-stim products. Collectively you will get just shy of 375mg of Caffeine since DiCaffeine Malate yields slightly less than 50mg.

The last category is the Neuro Focus Complex. The first ingredient is L-Tyrosine, which is an ingredient that adds to the focus aspect of this pre-workout. We like to see this ingredient dosed at 1g, however we are only getting 750mg here. The next ingredient is Eria Jarensis at 200mg. This ingredient is a great addition and is properly dosed according to the 125mg-250mg standard. Eria Jarnesis, when paired with caffeine, can help improve cognitive ability. The last ingredient on the label is Hordenine found at 75mg. This is a good dose to receive its stimulant/fat burning/energy and focus benefits.

Overall, this is a nice profile from Purge Sports which hits on pump, energy and focus. With that, we also get endurance and strength. 


Effectiveness

(8.5/10)

With a total of 375mg of caffeine, this product gives you the energy you need to have a great workout. However, for some people this will be too high of a dose, but for stim-junkies its great! On top of that, we have one of the most powerful focus ingredients on the market, Eria Jarensis. The energy ingredients, on top of the focus enhancers in this product are a great combination. What I am trying to say is we felt a very productive increase in energy that ultimately led to great workouts.

The pump by this product was not as impressive as the production of energy. This in part could be due to the fact that the product contains such a high dosage of stimulants. We know that stimulants can constrict your vessels, therefore making a high dosage of stimulants counterproductive in obtaining a good pump.

If you are looking for an effective pick me up pre-workout that will allow you to clang and bang even when you don’t feel like it, this product is definitely worth a shot.


Taste

Pineapple Express: (9/10)

I typically am not a big pineapple guy. However, Purge did a smooth job with this flavor. It is a little sweet, which is something to note. It is definitely not perfect, but I can say it was enjoyable.

I only got to try Pineapple Express, but they have other flavors like Candy Riot and Blue Rage that I look forward to trying in the future.


Mixability

(8.5/10)

One serving is a 20-gram scoop. It did mix decently well, but it also calls for 16-20oz of water. I enjoy drinking my pre-workout quickly on the way to the gym, however it is more difficult to chug 20oz of fluid, than say 6-8oz. This is not necessarily a bad thing, just something to make note of.

Due to the fact that the PreV2 requires such a large amount of water, the taste of the product is  slightly more important, in my opinion. However, Purge did a great job with the taste in this product so it isn’t so much of an issue!

View our mixability video in the video review above.


Value

(8.0/10)

Purge Sports prices their products online to support brick and mortar stores (local supplement shops). This will retail for $59.99 online – which at a 25-serving container seems like a lot, and it is, but it was done intentionally to encourage you to go support your local small businesses. With coupon code INFORMANT you will get $12 off dropping the price to $48 which isn’t half-bad. You can get this as low as $35.99 at your local supplement shop which would be a great price for Purge Sports Pre V2.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

25-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Purge Sports

$59.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Purge Sports

$59.99

25-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Purge Sports

Purge Sports

$59.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Purge Sports

Purge Sports Pre V2

8.4

Profile

8.0/10

Effectiveness

8.5/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

8.5/10

Value

8.0/10

Pros

  • High Caffeine
  • Taste
  • Mixability

Cons

  • Some Ingredients Underdosed
Build Fast Formula FullBlitz Review: Massive Pumps, Great Focus and Solid Energy
Olympus Labs I Am Supreme Review: High Stim, High Energy Workout

Leave a Reply