Pre-WorkoutRedCon1

RedCon1 Total War Review: Effective Pre-Workout with Proper Dosages

By May 7, 2019 May 16th, 2019 No Comments

RedCon1 Total War

8.7

Profile

8.5/10

Effectiveness

8.5/10

Taste

8.0/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

9.5/10

Pros

  • Dosages
  • Effective
  • Value

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 10%!

Overview of RedCon1 Total War

RedCon1 is one of the fastest growing brands in the sports nutrition world. This is in large part due to great prices, solid formulas and the cool "lifestyle" brand appeal. Their pre-workout, Total War, has a lot to do with their success.

Total War is a properly dosed, standard pre-workout supplement that will provide pump, energy and endurance. It doesn't over promise and under deliver. When you get Total War you know you will get something that will help you power through your workouts without the crash at a great value. If you're looking for a safe pre-workout at a good price, Total War from RedCon1 is your answer.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed RedCon1 Total War on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pre-workout will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Tiger's Blood.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.6/10)

Total War Label

When looking at the label for this product it is easily broken down and understandable. With 10 ingredients that are easy to understand and no blends. Eight out of 10 ingredients are dosed correctly with the two ingredients, Juniper Berry and Cocophenols, not having a clinical dose available.

L-Citrulline Malate 2:1 is dosed at 6g which provides the body with enhancing the blood flow and training capacity. This dosing provies 4g Citrulline and 2g Malic Acid. Beta Alanine is dosed at 3.2g, the accepted dosage of Beta-Alanine. Beta-Alanine provides muscular endurance. Agmatine Sulfate is dosed at 1g and helps regulate nitric oxide. Taurine comes in at 1g as well and increases strength output by regulating electrolytes.

There are two forms of caffeine in Total War. Caffeine Anhydrous is dosed at 250mg, and Di-Caffeine Malate is dosed at 100mg, which provides approximately 75mg Caffeine. The approximate total caffeine in Total War is 325mg. The combination of Caffeine Anhydrous and Di-Caffeine Malate will provide a prolonged source of energy. AMPlblast (Juniperus Berry) is dosed at 150mg which with this ingredient there have been no clinical studies done to determine the clinical dosing. It is said to increase the ability and effectiveness of caffeine intake in the body. It also helps inflammation and the GI system.

Cocophenols (theobroma cacao & camelia sinesis) is dosed at 50mg. This is said to have a “feel good” effect and is commonly found as Theobromine inside of chocolate. It is also a vasodilator. Naringin 98% or Grapefruit seed extract is dosed at 25mg. This had many beneficial effects but is commonly found as a flavonoid. Grape Seed Extract has antioxidant and anti-inflammatory benefits. Lastly Bioperine or Black Pepper Extract at 10mg. This is used to help increase ingredient absorption.

Overall, a solid label on safe, effective ingredients. It is nice to see Juniper Berry used to help increase the impact of the 325mg caffeine. We would like to see some added cognitive enhancing ingredients in this product as focus is extremely important during a workout. Overall, Total War is a standard formula, with effective dosages.


Effectiveness

(8.5/10)

This product is simple and does as promised. I took this product at its recommended serving size of one scoop pre-workout, and I always felt its effectiveness. Having the two types of caffeine as ingredients made sure I never felt that post workout crash that some products have. My workouts were always intense and I felt “locked in” like the label promised.

The pre-workout provided a decent pump, solid energy and endurance. The one part missing was more of a focus component. Focus is the #1 thing for me in a workout. The addition of Tyrosine, Choline, etc would have been beneficial to Total War and the effectiveness.


Taste

Tiger’s Blood: (8.0/10)

The flavor that we used was Tigers Blood. This flavor was great tasting but over time I did get tired of the bitterness that it had. Flavor to me isn’t that big of a deal as long as the product does what its supposed to but for the people that request a great tasting product this just did not do it for me. Luckily Total War comes in many different flavor choices which gives the consumer multiple options.


Mixability

(9.0/10)

The recommended serving is one scoop in 4-6oz of water. This product does mix easily but does leave a small amount of residue on the sides of the shaker. Even with this residue you do not get a grainy feel in your mouth. If a concern is the concentration you can increase the amount of water.

See the video above for a full mixability test.


Value

(9.5/10)

Coming in at a price point of $39.99 for 30 servings it is within the competitive pricing of $1.33/serving. With coupon code INFORMANT you also save 10% ($4) making this more of a value. It is definitely worth the price and consideration because of clinically dosed ingredients. You get what you pay for and you do not get those “blend profiles”

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

$39.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

$39.99

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

RedCon1

$39.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

RedCon1

$39.99

RedCon1 Total War

8.7

Profile

8.5/10

Effectiveness

8.5/10

Taste

8.0/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

9.5/10

Pros

  • Dosages
  • Effective
  • Value
RedCon1 Now Offering B.A.R. Variety Pack
RedCon1 Tango Review: One of the Best Post-Workout Values Available

Leave a Reply