Pre-WorkoutRYSE Supplements

RYSE Supplements Pre-Workout Review: Effective Focus Inducing Pre-Workout

By April 10, 2019 September 27th, 2019 No Comments

RYSE Supplements Pre-Workout

8.7

Profile

8.8/10

Effectiveness

8.8/10

Taste

8.7/10

Mixability

8.5/10

Value

8.7/10

Pros

  • High Caffeine
  • Taste
  • Mixability

Cons

  • Some Ingredients Underdosed

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 10%!

Overview of RYSE Supplements Pre-Workout

RYSE Supplements is a cool company with sexy packaging, but they also have "sexy" interiors to their packaging meaning the products inside are good. They are gaining momentum in the industry and rightfully so given their marketing and their product strategy.

RYSE Supplement Pre-Workout is a straight-forward pre-workout that will provide good energy and great focus. You also get adequate pumps and endurance. If you're looking for a pre-workout that isn't a crazy high stimulant product, but works very well, RYSE Supplements Pre-Workout wold be a great choice. 

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed RYSE Supplements Pre-Workout on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pre-workout will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Candy Watermelon.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.8/10)

RYSE Supps PWO Label

Every company has a pre-workout. In fact, there are so many pre-workouts on the market, many of them look a lot alike. RYSE Supplements Pre-Workout was a pre-workout designed to be affordable but effective. They also usedCoginizin which is something you don’t see every company use.

We start with 6g of L-Citrulline Malate. The one thing RYSE doesn’t disclose is the ratio, are we getting 1:1 or 2:1. Either ratio would yield the minimum 3g Citrulline we’d want. Citrulline Malate is interesting as real bonded Citrulline Malate is rarely found, if ever. This means that Citrulline Malate is Citrulline with Malic Acid but not bonded how you’d want it. This does help improve blood flow for pumps. The formula also uses 1g of L-Arginine. We can do without this ingredient. Citrulline is the precursor to Arginine in the body and absorbs much better than Arginine. Arginine has a very poor absorption rate; you would need almost 6g to be effective.

CarnoSyn Beta-Alanine is used at 2g. We would like to see this dosed at 3-3.5g, ideally, but we know some people don’t like the feeling from Beta-Alanine. Beta-Alanine does improve muscular endurance. Betaine Anhydrous is dosed at 1.5g which helps with strength and power output.

Focus is one of the better aspects of this formula. We get a full 1.5g of L-Tyrosine. This is a cognitive enhancing ingredient that is dosed above the minimum of 1g. Another version of Tyrosine, N-Acetyl L-Tyrosine, is dosed at 750mg. On top of that, we get 200mg of Coginizin. This is an ingredient rarely seen in pre-workouts (yet) and it is fantastic. Coginizin has been shown to treat cognitive impairment. Studies were done on 250mg and 500mg. This is just shy of that, but even the 250mg group showed significant improvements. Huperzine A is also used at 50mcg. We would like to see this at 100mcg, but given all the other cognitive ingredients we are good with 50mcg. 

Caffeine is dosed at 275mg, which I believe is a sweet spot. Because RYSE Supplements uses a lot of cognitive enhancing ingredients, a lower caffeine amount is great.

Overall, this is a great formula. We would like to see Arginine removed and Beta-Alanine increased, but overall solid. It is using proven ingredients at solid dosages. This is not a stim bomb, but a safe, effective pre-workout that will provide the energy and focus you are looking for in a pre.

 


Effectiveness

(8.8/10)

I have been big on moving away from high stim pre-workouts due to their ability to raise blood pressure and restrict blood flow. I am big on focus and euphoric energy. RYSE Supplements is a really good pre-workout for that. The focus, to me, is the best feature of this product. That is also the one thing in pre-workouts that I like the most (since pumps can be supplemented with a pre). The energy is not scratch your face off or tripping out (if you’re a stim junkie then you won’t love this), but this is what a pre-workout should do for energy. Focus and energy were just right for me.

Pump was good. The reason pump will work well in RYSE is because the only stim is caffeine. This means you are not having other stims constrict blood flow allowing Citrulline to do it’s job. You can still supplement with a pump activator as well.

Endurance is OK. They could increase Beta-Alanine or add PeakO2 but then costs will also go up. Power and strength is the same bought. We get 1.5g Betaine, which is fine, but we are not getting others like Taurine.

At the end of the day, a pre-workout that is most effective for me provides great focus, steady energy (without a crash) and a decent pump. This does that, and I am very happy with it. 


Taste

Candy Watermelon: (9/10)

The flavor that I used is called Jungle Juice. It has more of a grape/berry flavor and I can honestly say it was something that I never got tired of drinking. It was super sweet but just adding more water helped dilute that sweetness down. Now if you are into sweet drinks then follow the recommended 16oz water suggestion. MuscleSport has a variety of flavors for this product ranging from White Dragon to Black Cherry Lemonade. I was happy with the Jungle Juice and it’s something that I would try again.


Mixability

(8.5/10)

One scoop is 23g which seems like a hefty size when added to the recommended 16oz of water. There is some small floating particles which settle at the bottom. With such a large scoop size, the amount of particles is very minor.


Value

(8.7/10)

For the most part, all watermelons taste the same to me. However, RYSE Candy Watermelon is a little different. There is more of a “candy” flavor to it which makes it more enjoyable, in my opinion. It is a good tasting pre-workout that is refreshing. At the end of the day, I do chug this, but it is something you could take your time and sip on if you wish to do so. 

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

20-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

RYSE logo

$49.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

RYSE logo

$49.99

Suppz Logo

$39.99

Amazon Logo

See Price at Store

20-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

RYSE logo

RYSE Supplements

$49.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

RYSE logo

Suppz Logo

Suppz

$39.99


Amazon Logo

Amazon

See Price at Store

RYSE Supplements Pre-Workout

8.7

Profile

8.8/10

Effectiveness

8.8/10

Taste

8.7/10

Mixability

8.5/10

Value

8.7/10

Pros

  • High Caffeine
  • Taste
  • Mixability

Cons

  • Some Ingredients Underdosed
BlackMarketLabs Cuts Review: Goal Specific Pre-Workout
RYSE Supplements BCAA+EAA Review: Just Shy of a Full Spectrum Amino Profile

Leave a Reply