Cutler NutritionPre-Workout

Cutler Nutrition Prevail Review: A Massive Leap In The Right Direction

By May 15, 2019 May 21st, 2019 No Comments

Cutler Nutrition Prevail

8.4

Profile

8.7/10

Effectiveness

8.6/10

Taste

7.0/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

8.6/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Mixability
  • Value

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 11%

Overview of Cutler Nutrition Prevail

Cutler Nutrition's Prevail is a solid pre-workout product that is worth running at least once. While the flavor isn’t perfect, it gets it right where it really counts. The pumps are there, the energy is clean, and the focus is GOOD. It’s nice to see that Cutler Nutrition really stepped their game up, and that they are now coming out with well-dosed and transparent formulas that aren’t going to crack you out. While the profile is 100% perfect, it is still a solid option for those who don’t like crack powder, but want a nice boost in pumps, energy, and focus.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Cutler Nutrition Prevail on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pre-workout will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Rainbow Freeze.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.7/10)

Cutler Nutrition Prevail Label

Prevail is Jay Cutler’s new pre-workout product, and we have to give props, as it is a HUGE step in the right direction after his stint with BPI. The old Cutler products were not impressive to say the least, but just one look at his new line, and you’ll certainly change your mind about his products. For this review, we are going to be basing our review on 2 scoops, as this is a 1-2 scoops product, and the dosages are much better at 2 scoops

The first ingredient listed is L-Citrulline at 4 grams. This is a good dose, and although other products may have it higher, 4g is plenty. It’s good for pumps, as to converts to L-Arginine once in your body. Studies show it can actually increase your performance in the gym as well. Next up we have Taurine at 2 grams. This is a solid dose as well, and it may increase blood flow and help with performance as well.

Next up we have N-Acetyl-L-Tyrosine at 750mg. We prefer regular L-Tyrosine, as it has been shown to work better in the body. Either way, it’s at a good dose in here, and it may increase mental cognition. Now we come to Alpha GPC. This is a good form of Choline, and it has research to back it up. It’s at 750mg, which is higher than the usual 600mg we see. Props to Cutler Nutrition on this one!

As for energy, the next to ingredients are great. We have both Caffeine Anhydrous at 250mg, followed by DiCaffeine Malate at 150mg. 250mg of Caffeine Anhydrous should be enough for most people to get a solid boost off of. We say this a lot, but Caffeine is a personal ingredient, everyone has a different tolerance. The DiCaffeine Malate is a slower acting Caffeine, and it can help prevents crashing, as well as keep your energy levels up during your workout. It is 75% Caffeine, which brings this to around 112mg of caffeine. So in total, you’re getting 362.5mg of Caffeine in here, with some of that being released overtime. No one should be able to say “I didn’t get energy out of this”, as this is actually a pretty high dose of Caffeine, without it being ridiculous.

Next up comes Neurofactor™ at 100mg. Be sure to check out our write-up on Neurofactor™ here, as it has some interesting research behind it, as it has been shown to increase brain health. It is clinically dosed in Prevail. Following that we have Theobromine at 60mg. Theobromine is structurally similar to Caffeine, and it may increase energy, as it is a mild stimulant.

Lastly, we have Cocoa Seed Extract at 20mg, as well as Huperzine A (1%) at 500mcg. Cocoa Seed Extract has a list of health benefits, one being bloodflow. As for Huperzine A, it prevents Acetylcholine from being broken down in the brain. Here we get quite a low dose of it if we’re reading the label correctly, which is fine, as the combination of Alpha GPC and Huperzine A may cause headaches/brain fog in some, although at lower doses they may have some synergistic effects.


Effectiveness

(8.6/10)

Prevail is certainly a pre-workout that gets the Big 3 of pre-workouts almost completely right. The BIG 3 I’m referring to are “Energy, Pumps, Focus”. The pumps we got off of this are solid, although not mind-blowing like some other products we have tried, there is a noticeable increase. It could stand to have something else added to it for pumps, or even some Glycerol Monostearate powder. Either way, not much to complain about in the pump department.

As for energy, it’s GOOD. It isn’t crack powder, it’s more of a long lasting smoother energy that won’t make you feel uneasy. The energy is consistent as well. No noticeable peak in energy with a dropoff. The lack of a crash is nice as well. The fact that you’re not getting all 360mg+ of caffeine at once, and instead are getting some to kickstart your workout and then have more trickle in as you go is a good way to not need ingredients like Theacrine or L-Theanine.

The increase in focus is noticeable as well. With such a high dose of Alpha GPC, you could take one scoop of this and get a noticeable increase in mind-muscle connection. So to end this, Prevail delivers where it counts. While no category is #1, it still delivers where it counts, and it is one of the more well-rounded pre-workouts on the market.


Taste

Rainbow Freeze: (7.0/10)

With all of the great ingredients in here, the taste is where it kind of falls short. The flavor I got to try was the Rainbow Freeze flavor, so think of Rocket Pops. The best way to describe it would be like cough medicine with some extra sweetener. While I personally like the chemical taste of cough medicine, I could totally see some people being turned off by this. So I had to mark it down a little.

This is only one flavor we got to try, and it’ll be interesting to see how the other stack up. If flavor isn’t an issue for you, this is fine. This is really bad, and it just tastes like a chemical version of what it’s supposed to taste like.


Mixability

(9.0/10)

It mixes great and there are big complaints here. There is no foaming issue, no dyes, not clumps. While there is a little sediment, we can’t complain at all as it is unnoticeable going down, and if you do see any, a simple swish of your cup takes care of it easily.

See the video above for a full mixability test.


Value

(8.6/10)

You can get this for $35 directly from the Cutler Nutrition. With our coupon code (INFORMANT) it will knock off 11% making this a great value for the product that it is. It is a great product at a great price. Let’s GOOOOO!

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

40-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Cutler Nutrition

$34.99

Save 11% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Cutler Nutrition

$34.99

40-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Cutler Nutrition

Cutler Nutrition

$34.99

Save 11% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Cutler Nutrition

Cutler Nutrition Prevail

8.4

Profile

8.7/10

Effectiveness

8.6/10

Taste

7.0/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

8.6/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Mixability
  • Value
BlackMarketLabs Tone Review: Targets Fat, Lacks Performance
GHOST Legend Review: Licensing Pays Off Big Time on Flavor

Leave a Reply