MuscleSportPre-Workout

MuscleSport Rhino Black Pre-Workout Review: A Big Scoop of Effctiveness

By March 13, 2019 May 16th, 2019 No Comments

MuscleSport Rhino Black Pre-Workout

8.6

Profile

8.5/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

8.5/10

Value

8.0/10

Pros

  • High Caffeine
  • Taste
  • Mixability

Cons

  • Some Ingredients Underdosed

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 20%!

Overview of MuscleSport Rhino Black Pre-Workout

MuscleSport recently launched in Vitamin Shoppes which will bring more attention to the brand and distribution, which is a good thing. MuscleSport makes really solid stuff.

MuscleSport's Rhino Black Pre-Workout is one of the more effective pre-workout supplements we've used. A hefty scoop of 23g contains clinical dosages of key ingredients to give off a really good energy and pump with added focus. If you want an effective gym session, MuscleSport Rhino Black Pre-Workout should be an option.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed MuscleSport Rhino Black Pre-Workout on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pre-workout will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Jungle Juice.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.5/10)

Rhino Black Pre-Workout Label

Rhino Black Series pre-workout from MuscleSport is something in its own. MuscleSport banks on the fact that they do not use proprietary blends or any blend in their pre-workout. Everything is listed clearly on the label so you know what you’re getting. They pride themselves on giving you scientific effective doses with each ingredient.

The thing I like about this product is that it gives you the serving sizes of each ingredient in a 1/2 serving and the full serving. MuscleSport considers the 1/2 serving the “Beginners” scoop and the full serving or scoop as the “Advanced”. So let us look at each ingredient. Now when taking the Beginners serving size you are getting half of the recommended effective dose of each ingredient. Every ingredient we will discuss will be at a full serving dose.

First up is Citrulline Malate 2:1 dosed at 6g which is recommended at a dose of 6-8g so this product hits within that range. Citrulline Malate 2:1 is used to enhance blood flow and training volume capacity. Next up is TrimethylGycine (Betaine Anhydrous) at a dose of 1.5g which is within the recommended effective dose of 1.5-2.5g. It is used for strength and power output as well as muscular endurance. Agmapure (Agmatine Sulfate) comes in at 1g which is the ideal dosing. It is used to increase NO production throughout your body. Taurine follows at a dose of 750mg which is under the recommended daily dose of 1g. Taurine is used for strength output and helps regulate electrolytes. Nitrosigine (Arginine Inositol Silicate) at a dose of 750mg which is on the lower end of the recommended range (750-1,500mg). It is used to increase blood flow by stimulating NO and dilating your blood vessels. L-Ornithine is up next at a dose of 750mg per serving. This is under the recommended dose of 1g. It is used to increase strength and power. Beta Vulgaris is coming in at 200mg per serving. This is under the recommended dose of 500mg. It is used to help improve physical performance secondary to NO.

3-Aminopropanic Acid aka Beta-Alanine is dosed at 3.2g per serving. This is perfectly within the recommended daily dose of 2-4.8g. It helps with muscle endurance and increases workout volume. Highly Branched Cyclic Dextrin is next up at 2g which falls well under the recommended dose of 15-20g. It is consider the ultimate carb and is ideal in an intraworkout. Creatine Magnapower (Creatine Magnesium Chelate) is dosed at 2g which also falls well below the recommended dose of 20-30g per day. It is another type of Creatine and helps aid in muscle recovery and muscle gain.

L-Tyrosine is up next at a dose of 750mg. The daily recommended dose for this ingredient is 1-2g so it does fall short. It is used to help increase focus during workouts. Tri-Caffiene Matrix is up next at 400mg. This is a hefty dose of caffeine and should be used wisely. Choline Complex is up next at 300mg per scoop. This also falls under the recommended dose of 500-1000mg and is used to help increase mental energy, focus and concentration. The last ingredient is Hordenine. This is dosed at 75mg per serving. There hasn’t been too many scientific studies done on this ingredient to find an effective dose but it is said to be around 50mg. It is used to help with energy and focus as well as protecting the skin.

With so many ingredients listed in this product it is easy to get lost and confused. There are a few that are underdosed in this pre-workout but there are other ingredients that are used for the same thing. I like the fact that there are no magical blends and MuscleSport is right to the point having each ingredient listed. There could be some adjustments in dosing but I am happy to give this product a solid thumbs up. Now obviously if taking half of a scoop at the “Beginner” level you will only be getting half of each dose listed.


Effectiveness

(9.0/10)

With all the ingredients this product has it is easy to assume that you will have an amazing pump, focus and energy. Well you wouldn’t be wrong. I truly enjoyed taking this product for my early morning workouts due to the massive amounts of caffeine it has. I started with the full serving and noticed a lot of focus and intensity during my workouts even though some of the focus ingredients are underdosed. I think having multiple ingredients that due the same thing helped balance out the underdosed ones. I obviously would like to see an increase in the lower dosed ingredients. This is one of my favorite pre-workouts so far and I am happy to give it a solid rating. When it came time for HIIT or circuit training I would use half of a serving in order to keep the caffeine content down.


Taste

Jungle Juice: (9/10)

The flavor that I used is called Jungle Juice. It has more of a grape/berry flavor and I can honestly say it was something that I never got tired of drinking. It was super sweet but just adding more water helped dilute that sweetness down. Now if you are into sweet drinks then follow the recommended 16oz water suggestion. MuscleSport has a variety of flavors for this product ranging from White Dragon to Black Cherry Lemonade. I was happy with the Jungle Juice and it’s something that I would try again.


Mixability

(8.5/10)

One scoop is 23g which seems like a hefty size when added to the recommended 16oz of water. There is some small floating particles which settle at the bottom. With such a large scoop size, the amount of particles is very minor.


Value

(8.0/10)

Rhino Black Series can be found for $59.99 online as well as $46.99 in stores. If using full scoops you will reach a 20 serving max but if using half of a scoop you will get 40 servings out of one tub. This equates to just over $2/ serving at a full dose or $1/serving at half of a scoop. We like to see around $2/serving with our pre-workout products. So depending on your choice of serving size will equate to a different cost. With coupon code INFORMANT you can save 20% online at MuscleSport’s website.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

40-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

MuscleSport

$59.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

MuscleSport

$59.99

40-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

MuscleSport

MuscleSport

$59.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

MuscleSport

MuscleSport Rhino Black Pre-Workout

8.6

Profile

8.5/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

8.5/10

Value

8.0/10

Pros

  • High Caffeine
  • Taste
  • Mixability

Cons

  • Some Ingredients Underdosed
RYSE Supplements Pre-Workout Review: Effective Focus Inducing Pre-Workout
Build Fast Formula FullBlitz Review: Massive Pumps, Great Focus and Solid Energy

Leave a Reply